We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic bed and breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avery on Prospect Hill Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Wonderful accommodations and food. Quiet and clean with outstanding desserts and breakfasts. So enjoy coming here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Avery on Prospect Hill Guest House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Craig and Leslie were wonderful hosts. We stayed at Avery for 3 nights as my husband and I were involved with a wedding at Galena cellars. The desert at night was a nice touch as we came "home" late evenings from wedding preperations. The Lynn Marie room was spacious and very nicely decorated. The bed soft with a lovely quilt. We had a private bath that was also spacious. The house was very clean and included many historic items of interest. My husband and I loved the porch in the evening. The location was very close to down town and had we had time we could have easily walked back and forth. Breakfast was delicious. The conversation easy even though we were with strangers thanks to Leslie and Craigs humor and stories. Leslie made sure I had a light breakfast before my matron of honor duties started on Saturday and arranged for me to have an iron to press my dress. I cant wait till our next stay. We will be back without hesitation!!

Room Tip: Thursdays are the cheapest nights.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redkat_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed at the AVERY for Country Fair Weekend. We LOVE this weekend because of the Fair & all the hustle/bustle that is brought to Main Street. We were able to get a room due to a cancellation. EVERYTHING in town was fully booked & this was last minute for us. Our "usual" B&B in Galena has closed down, which we are pretty sad about. :-( The AVERY house is very quaint. It is an OLD house which I thought had a bit of an odd smell in the living room sitting area but I just learned to adjust to it. The innkeepers were VERY VERY friendly!!! The breakfast was wonderful! Very tasty & all the other people staying there were friendly as well. My husband & I were the youngest couple there (I'm 39 & he's 44). The chocolate cake dessert in the evening was TO DIE FOR!!!!! I took 2 pieces. Shame on me!! The BEST BEST part of this stay was that we could just walk to the fair. It was THAT close!!! I didn't have to worry about trying to find parking. That was a definate PLUS!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlieTangoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband and I plus his brother and wife have been coming to Galena for about 4 years, we have stayed at Avery house three out of the four years. We are planning on returning again this year. We live in the same town in Indiana, but we enjoy coming to Galena and Avery House for some rest, relaxation and being able to enjoy each other's company. We enjoy the historical aspect of Galena, also shopping in a quaint town. We find something new to do each visit. That is in part to our inn keepers Craig and Leslie. We can't say enough about their hospitality. We feel like we are a part of their family. They are always there for any of our needs. We have always stayed in the Rebecca Lynn room. Craig and Leslie have taken so much time and love in making their Bed & Breakfast a home. We can't wait for breakfast in the morning, it is a full course meal, something new each day. We enjoy the company of the other guests, but most of all the stories that Craig and Leslie share about their families and what has happened in Galena the past year. They give us ideas on places to see etc. Then after a full day of shopping and sightseeing, and supper at great variety of restaurants, we can't wait to get back to the evening dessert. Jim & Bonnie

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank His2ryBuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Just wanted to add our kudo's to our hosts and the Avery House. This was the best experience we have ever had at a B & B. Our friends who joined us there had never been to a B & B before...Craig and Leslie have set the bar pretty darned high for them! Thanks a bunch guys...if you read this. We would never hesitate to recommend you and your lovely home and great cooking! Kathi and Allan

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HuskerKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.5 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
865 reviews
0.4 km away
Alice's Snyder House
Alice's Snyder House
#9 of 33 in Galena
101 reviews
0.3 km away
Annie Wiggins Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
180 reviews
0.7 km away
Felt Manor Guest House
Felt Manor Guest House
#13 of 33 in Galena
132 reviews
0.8 km away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avery on Prospect Hill Guest House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avery on Prospect Hill Guest House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 606 South Prospect Street, Galena, IL 61036
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range: ₹ 5,774 - ₹ 8,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic Avery Guest House Bed and Breakfast, built in 1848, provides a tranquil, warm setting for your overnight or weekend stay. You can sit and relax on the large front porch without a care in the world. Our spacious inn is decorated in period decor, with a queen size bed and private bath in each guest room. You'll enjoy the comfortable block stroll to Main Street shopping, wonderful restaurants and interesting sites. A hearty breakfast, access to Candy's Candy Bar and coffee/tea are served daily. Come enjoy yourself at the Avery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing