We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Galena B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Annie Wiggins Guest House
Ranked #21 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Galena B&B!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Over the years we have stayed at a variety of home rentals, B&B's, and hotels during visits to Galena. This was the first stay at Annie Wiggins and I must say, one of the best in the area and walking distance to Main Street.

Wendy and her staff are excellent and do whatever it takes to make your stay pleasant.

The room we stayed at was one of the smaller ones on the third floor, but excellent for our needs for a short stay in the summer. If we were going to stay longer or went during winter months we would have opted for one of the larger rooms with a fireplace....but it is great to have a choice!

And lastly, I am not sure if it was because I had a certain food allergy or they are great cooks, but the breakfasts were outstanding and I could eat everything (I let them know ahead of time when I booked)! Even my wife, who is a picky eater, ate everything! I would go again just for the food!

The only negative you need to be aware is that this B&B is right next to train tracks. The first night we heard nothing, the second night it rumbled by, blowing it's whistle at 3am - ugh!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinciJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I'm so glad we booked our Getaway early because these beautiful rooms were all booked when we arrived last weekend. We stayed in Hattie's Room. We loved our view of the courtyard and all the "nooks and cranies" were charming to say the least. It was beautiful and the fireplace kept us "toasty" at night. The room was fantastic, quaint, and comfortable. The location is perfect for all we needed. It is close to the wonderful downtown stores and site-seeing. The next morning was started with a wonderful breakfast with coffee, tea, juice and all this served in a charming dining room (there were 2) .
I'm looking forward to our next experience soon.
Thank you for your Hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlett, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I planned a romantic getaway - our first time to Galena.

We stayed at the Annie Wiggins guest home - in the Hattie room. It was lovely and all that we wanted. It was charming and old - yet updated, and we felt right at home!

We were met by Wendy (the owner and did not know it) and she escorted us to our room and told us what to expect and where things were. And to call if we needed anything. We called an hour later and she was right there!

The Soaking tub was amazing - and the room ws so cozy. We loved it.

The home is adorable also - and we learned the history at the breakfast that she provided. After serving us all , she joined us at the table and shared stories of the home as well as just talking to us. We sat at the table and talked for over an hour laughing away.

We came in the winter - and although the weather was better than expected - we can't wait until the spring-summer or fall so we can see the flowers, the fountain, and sit on the porch with a glass of wine.

It really is a charming Inn - if you are looking for the Ritz Carlton - you may be disappointed - but if you would like to have a quiet - peaceful - romantic stay, where the owner treats you like a guest in her home, this is the place. We can''t wait to come back! It was a wonderful stay that we really needed.

As far as the one comment on the train - barely heard it at 5:30 am and if we did - it was a nice sound to imagine what it was like back in the day to hear the train.

Thank you Wendy -

Keith & Roseann

Room Tip: Get a room with an outside entrance and porch - if you want to enjoy the out side and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knudsonstudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in the Sarah room. It was romantic and private. It has a large bathtub, which was not noted on the website, but I thought was extra value for the money. The owners are friendly without being in your face. Breakfast was delicious. My only criticism was the train! Ofcourse, there is nothing to be done due to location, but I was awakened at 2am to blaring horns and a long procession of freight cars passing nearby. It was difficult to get back to sleep!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghostpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bheiken, Owner at Annie Wiggins Guest House, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
The train goes along the Galena River next to downtown, so all properties within a short walking distance are within the influence of the train.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Annie Wiggins for a lovely Fall weekend. We were greeted by Sue the innkeeper and given a short tour and then shown to our room. The room was comfortable and clean. The soaking tub was very nice. There is complimentary iced tea and lemonade at all times, as well as brandy if desired. We loved the view of Galena from the front porch. It is only a moderate walk to the downtown area. My husband and I have stayed at a handful of B&Bs in Galena. This one wasn't my favorite, but I wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockinrobyn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
1.8 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
822 reviews
0.2 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
1.0 km away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
127 reviews
0.9 km away
305 North Inn
305 North Inn
#31 of 33 in Galena
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annie Wiggins Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annie Wiggins Guest House

Property: Annie Wiggins Guest House
Address: 1004 Park Ave., Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,154 - ₹ 15,222
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Annie Wiggins Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing