We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing B&B experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing B&B experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our first time at a B&B. Carmine and Cheryl were GREAT! Probably the best home cooked breakfast I have ate hands down. The house/ rooms are very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our experience here so much we rented the entire house out in October to bring our entire family! I am looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akrajnovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    48
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
529
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

My husband and I travel a lot for business and pleasure and have stayed at many fine B&B's. Unfortunately we had to cancel our trip and gave more than 24hr notice. Our card was still charged $154, so needless to say, the price of the rooms are way overpriced. We were looking forward to visiting this B&B someday, but I think we'll have to pass given their "hospitality".

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MyMelody312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2015
Melody,
We are sorry you had to cancel your reservation with us. We were looking forward to hosting your stay. As our cancellation policy states; A small bed and breakfast inn such as ours is greatly affected by cancellations and we ask for your understanding and consideration of our policy. We require 10 days notice of cancellation prior to the day of arrival. If you must cancel within 10 days and your reservation is not re-booked, you will be charged for the full reservation. We did our best to re-book your room on such short notice but were unsuccessful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend at Cloran. Great room (Anne's Room) with great bed, fireplace and whirlpool. Super friendly hosts and perfect breakfast. Also really appreciated them having reservations held at all the restaurants. Made for a wonderful weekend and great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strangelands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband, our My husband, our dog, and I stayed at the Cloran Mansion's Antonio's Cottage over the Christmas weekend and had the best, most-relaxing stay! The cottage was very accommodating with a sink, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, satellite TV, DVD player, free DVD rentals and snacks, two-person whirlpool bath, separate shower, fireplace, comfy couch, comfy bed, and dining table. It was well-decorated for the holiday. We enjoyed the quiet privacy afforded by the location, which was just outside the main house. The cottage was warm (heated floors!) and cozy and home. Carmine and Cheryl were extremely hospitable and the daily breakfast was scrumptious. We are planning to return when the weather is warmer. You've got to visit for yourself!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmoovMoovas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We wanted a relaxing week before the holidays, and the fact that we didn't have to kennel our small dog made this the best possible choice. Antonio's Cottage is fantastic! Your own little piece of paradise, and spotlessly clean and odor-free to boot. Even with my sensitive nose, you'd never know they allowed pets in here. I found that a pleasant surprise. The giant bathtub, 3-way fireplace, heated floors and brand new flat-screen TV with their 600 movie library made it so we never wanted to leave. But Galena has lots to offer - good shopping, great restaurants, outdoor activities and we found it easy to get around and not crowded this time of year. We'd highly recommend a visit here and we hope to come back. Cheryl & Carmine were stupendous hosts, you can tell they are really up on their game and love what they do. Thanks again for a great stay!

Room Tip: Sara's Suite allows kids, as does Antonio's Cottage, and the Cottage is also dog-friendly an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madtowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.3 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
0.7 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.8 km away
Jail Hill Inn
Jail Hill Inn
#1 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.6 km away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1237 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-1309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,418 - ₹ 14,586
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloran Mansion is a luxurious Galena, Illinois bed and breakfast inn and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing