We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galena Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Galena Visit”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

On a recent trip to Galena my husband and I stayed at the Irish Cottage Botique Hotel east of town. It is located in a quiet area. The rooms are nicely done, though getting a bit dated.The bed was comfortable and linens are great, The pool and spa area is very clean, and since we were there in mid-week not busy at all. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was o.k. though a bit pricey for the sandwiches we ordered. Service was great, waitress very pleasant and knowledgeable regarding beers on the menu. The breakfast basket was the usual "continental" items. Great coffee available in the lobby. Overall a very nice place. I would stay there again, but definitely negotiate the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away form the highway if traffic noise bothers your sleep. It was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 43kem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    198
    60
    16
    10
See reviews for
129
495
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Ya gotta love those Irish. We went to the Irish Inn and the first person we meant at the front desk was Jenna. She was a beauty ,that has a French accent, looks Indian, was of Mexican desent and worked at an Irish Inn. How global is that? When we told her we wanted soooo much to see the Irish dancers, she warn us the place could be pretty packed, but she would try to help us. She wasn't kidding the place was packed, but beautiful Jeana had reserved us a table front and center in the goregous dinning room. We loved the wonderful Irish dancers. It is so nice to see young people do such positive things and they were so talented. I've never seen feet move that fast, and then it dawn on me. Those feet had to have been sprinkled with fairy dust and that's how they glided so gracifully across the floor. We were tickled to contribute to the arts and help these young ladies follow their dreams.
The food was excellent. We had a Rueben and hamburger with a pretizel bun. Really different and delicious. The omlet and French toast was a delight. Never had French toast in the way they prepare it. It was amazing!
Our room was large, comfortable, clean and very quite. Before we left we danced in the fairy ring and hoped to mystically be transported to ancient celtic times. It was only 8 degrees so guess everything was frozen. We love this place ,and staff. Don't miss it. It's an adventure and wonderful experience for anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 416, that was very quite, beautiful, spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ann251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Three words: Brian Buru Suite (spa package). It was heaven. The room, spa, entertainment, and staff were phenomenal. I would love to keep this little gem to myself, but alas, it was too wonderful a trip. =)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We found the Irish Cottage to be very nice. It was very clean and the service was superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Frank O'Dowds was also a nice place to go unwind after a long day of shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor which faces the back of the building. The back of the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyFromTheMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel. For both visits, we had a warm welcome and comfortable room along with a fine breakfast and entertainment on the weekend. The location is close to Galena attractions and other sites further afield. The hotel does have a pool and whirlpool which we had to ourselves when we happened to have used them. There is also a lounge area on the main floor with great chairs and a library of classic irish literature. If I return to Galena, this hotel would be my first choice for where to stay.

Room Tip: The view of the valley landscape on the back side is nice and probably better than looking at a park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler53051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
2.8 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
838 reviews
4.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
4.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
6.6 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
9.9 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Property: Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Address: 9853 W US Highway 20, Galena, IL 61036-9186
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,784 - ₹ 12,664
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing