We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 250
US$ 189
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 125
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stoney Creek Inn(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$ 103
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 110
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grant Hills Motel(Galena)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Worldmark Galena(Galena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (856)
Filter reviews
856 results
Traveller rating
548
214
65
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
548
214
65
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsconesirish dancersbreakfast basketvalley viewlive entertainmentglendalough suiteweekend breakfastbrian boruleather chairshot breakfastshepherds piehiking trailenglish muffinsmy husband and iyogurtjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 856 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Ya gotta love those Irish. We went to the Irish Inn and the first person we meant at the front desk was Jenna. She was a beauty ,that has a French accent, looks Indian, was of Mexican desent and worked at an Irish Inn. How global is that? When we told her we wanted soooo much to see the Irish dancers, she warn us the place could be pretty packed, but she would try to help us. She wasn't kidding the place was packed, but beautiful Jeana had reserved us a table front and center in the goregous dinning room. We loved the wonderful Irish dancers. It is so nice to see young people do such positive things and they were so talented. I've never seen feet move that fast, and then it dawn on me. Those feet had to have been sprinkled with fairy dust and that's how they glided so gracifully across the floor. We were tickled to contribute to the arts and help these young ladies follow their dreams.
The food was excellent. We had a Rueben and hamburger with a pretizel bun. Really different and delicious. The omlet and French toast was a delight. Never had French toast in the way they prepare it. It was amazing!
Our room was large, comfortable, clean and very quite. Before we left we danced in the fairy ring and hoped to mystically be transported to ancient celtic times. It was only 8 degrees so guess everything was frozen. We love this place ,and staff. Don't miss it. It's an adventure and wonderful experience for anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 416, that was very quite, beautiful, spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ann251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Three words: Brian Buru Suite (spa package). It was heaven. The room, spa, entertainment, and staff were phenomenal. I would love to keep this little gem to myself, but alas, it was too wonderful a trip. =)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lilly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We found the Irish Cottage to be very nice. It was very clean and the service was superb. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Frank O'Dowds was also a nice place to go unwind after a long day of shopping.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor which faces the back of the building. The back of the building overlooks some beautiful scenery.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyFromTheMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel. For both visits, we had a warm welcome and comfortable room along with a fine breakfast and entertainment on the weekend. The location is close to Galena attractions and other sites further afield. The hotel does have a pool and whirlpool which we had to ourselves when we happened to have used them. There is also a lounge area on the main floor with great chairs and a library of classic irish literature. If I return to Galena, this hotel would be my first choice for where to stay.

Room Tip: The view of the valley landscape on the back side is nice and probably better than looking at a parking lot.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler53051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel over the NYE break. The best things about the hotel are staff (extremely friendly and helpful), the location (just outside of town and a great view overlooking the valley... but it is right on Rte 20 so you may hear some semitruck traffic as well) and the bar (best tasting Guinness I have had in a long time and good bar food..little on the pricey side). I have stayed here before and will stay here again but the two things I disliked about the stay was the "hot breakfast" on Sunday... not hot, not very good and small portions... the continental breakfast on the other hand was just fine. The second thing was for a non smoking room... it stunk of smoke. Maybe it was due to New Year's Eve and people below us were lighting it up a little more but it was pretty brutal. The second night it seemed to lessen up quite a bit. It was never an issue during past stays. The hotel itself was very clean and the housekeeping staff did an excellent jobs with the room. The hotel is worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view and stay away from the bar/ lobby for more quiet... 4th floor preferably
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eagledemps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews