We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Farmers Guest House
Ranked #3 of 32 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hospitality & Location”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I recently enjoyed a sisters' weekend in Galena & chose the Farmer's Guest House B&B. Susan & Don did an exceptional job making us feel right at home. Wonderful breakfasts & afternoon wine/cheese & cookies. We were looking for the comforts of a B&B, but very few B&B offer accommodations for anyone but couples. We were so glad to find the Farmer's Guest House did. The location was within walking distance to downtown. After searching through many, many options in Galena, we found the Farmer's Guest House to be quite affordable in comparison. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnywhereWithU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,228
    48
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
107
895
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Annies cottage and it was great. The only thing I would say this cottage needs is a mini fridge, other than that no complaints. The layout has the Fireplace and whirlpool tub with 1/2 bath downstairs and the bed and full bath upstairs. Loved the porch at night to view the stars. The new owners Don and Susan realize they are trying to fill some big shoes left by the much loved old owners and they seem to be off to a great start. Great breakfast and very friendly service.

Room Tip: The cottage is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drumdan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This quaint B&B is the perfect place for a getaway. Attentive hosts, Don and Susan. So close to shopping and all that Galena has to offer. Yummy cookies too. Rooms are cozy. I would love better pillows. Nothing says B & B like nice linens and pillows. The back outdoor patio is wonderful but needs citronella candles to fight bugs as it sits hillside with lots of trees. All in all a great place to stay.@

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilly1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My sister and I enjoyed catching up during our visit to Galena and stayed at this cute B&B for two nights. The owners were helpful and friendly and we enjoyed talking to the other guests as well. The bottomless cookie jar and the wine and cheese time were a hit with us. Rooms were very clean and charming too.

We had a great time!

Debra & Kelly

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpuce611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed here for two nights in May. It was a very nice B&B and very well maintained. The owners were excellent as they had suggestions of where to go and what to do, they helped us get reservations at some of the best places to eat in town. They also went out of their way to make you feel at home and the breakfast was the best in town! Also the wine and cheese hour was very nice to socialize with the other guests. Overall this is the best B&B I have ever been to and will return to this place the next time I visit Galena.

Room Tip: Book Early, they are full most of the time! Also the Suites are very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowatraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.4 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
840 reviews
3.3 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
3.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
0.5 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 32 in Galena
480 reviews
0.8 km away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farmers Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers Guest House

Property: Farmers Guest House
Address: 334 Spring St, Galena, IL 61036-2128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,468 - ₹ 13,889
Hotel Class:3 star — Farmers Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as one of the TOP TEN B&Bs in the U.S. of 2015 and with a Food Network winning chef, Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 150 years. Located downtown, one block from historic Main Street, and including many amenities such as daily WineTime, award winning champagne breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home, your exceptional experience begins at Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Farmers Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing