We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing. Just... Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Ranked #6 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richland Center
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing. Just... Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Bernadine's Stillman Inn is a beautiful and masterfully maintained b&b located close enough to downtown Galena, IL. to be a very convenient walk to wonderful restaurants, shopping and historic sites. At the same time, being located just across from General & President U.S. Grant's Galena residence makes it just far away enough from downtown to be a quiet and cozy retreat from a busy tourist's day. My wife and I were stunned at the beauty of the inn when we arrived, as the mansion has been preserved to reflect it's 1800's roots but is loaded with modern amenities. A good balance. The service was beyond stellar and in fact the very best we have EVER experienced. We have traveled across the U.S. and abroad and I must say that we agreed that we have NEVER been treated so well during any stay at any lodging anywhere in the world. This is going against other b&b's, hotels and motels of all types and star ratings. We have paid MUCH more for a night elsewhere and had 1/8th the service at best. We look forward to returning many times to our new absolute favorite lodging at Bernadine's Stillman Inn.
-Bob & Alison

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobK274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    62
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
475
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I stayed in a b&b for a first time and were so glad we picked the Stillman inn. Dave (the innkeeper) is a delightful person. Made us feel very at home! The rooms are great ! We stayed in the grand romance with a jacuzzi and loved it! Great atmosphere with lots of history. Great experience!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parasrajput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
190 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I enjoyed my recent semi-annual visit to Dave & Bernadine’s Inn. Great and fun innkeepers serving with a sense of joy and sharing. Relished the free cookies, ice cream, popcorn, fruit, and hearty excellent breakfast. The clean, quiet, historic rooms continue to grow more beautiful. Enjoyed walking down the hill from the mansion to downtown Galena. Along with some other guests, I took up the kind invitation of a couple who were also staying at the Stillman and attended their beautiful and moving wedding and reception in the chapel and banquet hall that is on the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streamwood, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just got back from my first trip to Galena. My boyfriend and I had a mediocre experience before with a B &B so I was so hoping this inn would be so much better. I loved the place and the people!!! The room was quiet and clean with a nice view. I felt transported to another era and with Grants House so close it was really cool to learn all the history. This inn also has the nicest innkeepers ever and they will make sure you have a warm, happy experience. i really feel that this is what a B & B should be!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Just returned from another stay at the Stillman. As always, it was absolutely amazing. We have stayed here several times , but this time we also had friends stay there to. They were very impressed with the mansion, the rooms and the great breakfasts. We all came up here for wine lovers weekend and we all decided to make this a yearly tradition. Me and my husband also stay here every year for our anniversary. We have had some of our best memory's here, thanks to Dave and Bernadine. You could not ask for better innkeepers.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaredsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
3.9 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
3.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
2.2 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Aldrich Guest House
Aldrich Guest House
#2 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.8 km away
Farmers Guest House
Farmers Guest House
#3 of 33 in Galena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
7.0 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Property: Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Address: 513 Bouthillier St, Galena, IL 61036-2703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,421 - ₹ 12,489
Hotel Class:4 star — Bernadine's Stillman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing