We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique place to stay”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

galena is a very nice small town with lots of charm. The DeSoto house is an historic hotel where US Grant had his campaign headquarters and Abe Lincoln and other famous folks came to stay. The hotel is very well preserved. Rooms are large and well decorated. Staff is very friendly. The free breakfast was outstanding with a large menu and waitress service. A really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaZ515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

491 - 495 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We try to get to Galena once a year (from southeastern WI). Each time, we've stayed at the De Soto House. It's always a great time! We LOVE the food - always excellent. We have eaten at The Green Street Tavern, The Generals Restaurant, and The Atrium - all have been excellent.
The hotel is comfortable, clean, and just plain fun!

Room Tip: We've stayed each time in the "Mark Twain" room - "parlor suite with fireplace. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at the Desoto House Hotel with 2 of my best friends for a long overdue Girl's night away. Location is absolutely perfect in relation to shopping, restaurants, and bars. We stayed in Room 315 - Tom Thumb Room. Very large corner room with 3 large windows. Plenty of room for 3 women and all their luggage and shopping bags, etc...to still be comfortable to move around the room with ease. The hotel is very charming and the history behind the hotel is incredible. Beds were very comfortable. We did have an odd experience in our room during the early morning. Heard very loud footsteps pacing around the room coming from inside our room. ??? We would definitely come back and stay at the Desoto House Hotel again the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tpfeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Having stayed at the DeSoto House many times before, I looked forward to our early Spring return. We stayed in the General Grant Room, with a view of both Main and Green Streets. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed with a nice King bed, which could probably use an updated mattress. The stay is always pleasant, and I tend to favor the local restaurants outside the hotel for a wider selection of menu choices, and generally more attentive service. All in all, it's always a pleasant stay at the Desoto House, and I'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location, especially if you want to explore all of the stores and bars/restaurants downtown Galena, without being too far from your room. Parking is right off Main Street, which is easy and convenient. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. We did not eat in any of the restaurants (there are 2 - the 3rd is closed for renovation), but we did have a drink in the Green Street Grill, and the service there was very good. Our room was near the elevator, which meant a little extra noise Sunday morning when people were on their way to and from breakfast or to check out. The room was an interior room, which looked over the Courtyard Restaurant. We did not notice extra noise from that, though. The room was large, clean and comfortable, but dated. I think they are trying to go for a "vintage" look with the decor, which is fine, but the carpet still needs replaced and the wallpaper was peeling. The hotel clerk told us that renovations have recently begun, so there will be some updating. We would definitely return to this hotel. If you want to be close to the action downtown, this is a great place to be. But, if you are looking for a luxury hotel with a spa or skiing/golf, etc., this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peoriakmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.4 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
881 reviews
3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
3.2 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
10.5 km away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
7.6 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: ₹ 4,750 - ₹ 8,866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing