We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Umteenth Return”
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Having stayed at the DeSoto House many times before, I looked forward to our early Spring return. We stayed in the General Grant Room, with a view of both Main and Green Streets. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed with a nice King bed, which could probably use an updated mattress. The stay is always pleasant, and I tend to favor the local restaurants outside the hotel for a wider selection of menu choices, and generally more attentive service. All in all, it's always a pleasant stay at the Desoto House, and I'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

484 - 488 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location, especially if you want to explore all of the stores and bars/restaurants downtown Galena, without being too far from your room. Parking is right off Main Street, which is easy and convenient. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. We did not eat in any of the restaurants (there are 2 - the 3rd is closed for renovation), but we did have a drink in the Green Street Grill, and the service there was very good. Our room was near the elevator, which meant a little extra noise Sunday morning when people were on their way to and from breakfast or to check out. The room was an interior room, which looked over the Courtyard Restaurant. We did not notice extra noise from that, though. The room was large, clean and comfortable, but dated. I think they are trying to go for a "vintage" look with the decor, which is fine, but the carpet still needs replaced and the wallpaper was peeling. The hotel clerk told us that renovations have recently begun, so there will be some updating. We would definitely return to this hotel. If you want to be close to the action downtown, this is a great place to be. But, if you are looking for a luxury hotel with a spa or skiing/golf, etc., this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peoriakmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Staying in a historic hotel built in 1855 could have some surprises. They have kept the nostalgia and romance alive in this wonderful old hotel located in the middle of old Galena. The free parking garage is adjoining the hotel and is very convenient.
The room was clean, roomy and quiet. It had great water pressure and was hot when we wanted hot. The thermostat was easily adjusted to suit our preferences. The front desk staff was very friendly. We ate breakfast in the Courtyard. The servers were efficient and friendly. The food was made to order.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My husband and I have been to Galena numerous times, and truely view it as our little get away haven. We've tried several types of housing, and enjoyed them all....but, there is something special about the DeSoto. This was our return visit to them. The whole atmosphere transports you back in time. Love how everything is maintained well and still keep the history alive. The convenience of the parking garage is a big plus. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The Courtyard breakfast is fantastic and service was wonderful. Also ate a late dinner at Green Street and it was great, as well. Keep up the good work....we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bagelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominiqueCross, General Manager at DeSoto House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm glad that you enjoy the Hotel, and Green Street Tavern, too. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My sister and I meet here almost every year to celebrate a birthday and just wander through the unique stores and restaurants. The breakfast is beyond description that comes with your room ... a great price Sunday-Thursday. The rooms are very clean and comfortable beds too. You can walk around on every floor of the hotel and let the walls reveal the history of years ago.

Room Tip: very quiet wherever you stay - we have been in several rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DominiqueCross, General Manager at DeSoto House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Great to see that you enjoyed your visit so much! Everything from your breakfast, the beds, the town and of course, the History! We hope that you continue to make it an annual event.
Thanks so much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
1.4 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#1 of 11 in Galena
878 reviews
3.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
3.2 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
10.5 km away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#11 of 11 in Galena
23 reviews
7.6 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036-2227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range: ₹ 4,906 - ₹ 9,158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing