We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of NaKorn

NaKorn
Ranked #55 of 298 Restaurants in Evanston
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 45
Description: NaKorn means 'Metropolitan' in Thai. NaKorn started with our belief that authentic Thai food should be found not only in Thailand-but in the U.S., as well. Our menu offers a perfect blend of bold flavors with traditional, old-world recipes in a modern presentation. Using only the finest ingredients, we created unique dishes layered with flavors.
Restaurant details
Description: NaKorn means 'Metropolitan' in Thai. NaKorn started with our belief that authentic Thai food should be found not only in Thailand-but in the U.S., as well. Our menu offers a perfect blend of bold flavors with traditional, old-world recipes in a modern presentation. Using only the finest ingredients, we created unique dishes layered with flavors.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were lucky to choose this place! We enjoyed the crab bites (not much crab, but very flavorful), the kobucha/kale chicken and the crispy skin salmon. Our helpful waiter advised us on how spicy each dish was on a 1 to 10 scale. At 3/4 ours were plenty spicy.

Thank Chris874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaKornKitchen, Owner at NaKorn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you, Chris! We're so glad you came and loved us! Hope to see you again soon! Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Finally Thai Fusion that works , was told this was the place and they were right ... tried 6 items loved them all

Thank gfillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaKornKitchen, Owner at NaKorn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

HI, gfillo! Thanks for coming, and for posting a review. We consider ourselves authentic Thai, because everything is based on what our grandmothers and mothers served us when we were growing up in Bangkok, but we'll take the 4 stars any day! Next time you come, let us know what we can do to move it up to a 5!! Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

First time there for lunch on Saturday when I brought friends to celebrate a bday & we all loved it! I came back from a Thailand trip late November so was really looking forward to this place - Charming decor, fabulous & beautifully presented foods & creative drinks. Pricey though & the portions are definitely small. Bill was $160 for 3 inclduding tip (we had one drink each)...steep for lunch.

Drinks
NaKorn-tini: strong, tasty with St Germain elderflower; 2 of us enjoyed this.
MaiTai: friend liked it & drank it up immediately

Food:
Crab Bites* - Fav!< Excellent > crunchy tasty yummy bite
Chicken Taro - nice & peanut-y, could be more crunchy, needed bit more flavor, Taro was sadly bland
Pomelo salad special (not on menu) - refreshing, good flavors
Crab Curry over noodles - Lovely, Fresh crab, Delish! Nice presentation
White Prawns curry - little too salty, great heat, good overall
Amish Chicken - papaya salad was yummy! the rest of it was very tiny in portion & a bit bland... also not sure how accurate is the Name of the dish
Chocolate Mousse - good & had a bit of pecans & ice cream but it needed a more substantive element to it like a crumble or something
Black Rice Pudding - tasty, maybe could be a tad less cooked down for bit more body & the dyed Lotus root was pretty but no flavor contribution, the salty cream nice, but dish also needed another element with body & flavor to be composed and whole.

Overall - very lovely place, drinks & food but a bit pricey for what you get.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Justsaygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaKornKitchen, Owner at NaKorn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you, justsaygrace! We're very appreciative of your detailed and thoughtful review and hope to see you again soon. When you come back, let us know what we can do to get that 4 to a 5! Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Na Korn was a pleasant surprise. The menu is different (smaller) from the typical Thai restaurant around here, but the food was exceptional. I ordered the New York Strip in green curry and my husband ordered the Crispy Skin Wild Atlantic Salmon. Both dishes were cooked to perfection. One of the co-owners came by to check on how we were doing. You can tell that she really takes pride in these recipes. We will definitely be going there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesli Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaKornKitchen, Owner at NaKorn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you so much, Lesli! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Inventive menu.
Everything is delicious, well prepared, beautifully presented.
You have to be in the mood for creative, upscale Thai and prepared to drop some $$.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Litr8r86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaKornKitchen, Owner at NaKorn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hello, and thanks for coming and posting! The 5-star review is fantastic (short but sweet!), but just for clarification for anyone who might be reading...a while ago we did an analysis, and we're proud that the average price of an appetizer and an entree @ NaKorn for dinner is, @ $32, the lowest of all the 8 or 10 elegant casual restaurants in downtown Evanston. And none of them has a higher average Yelp star rating, either! We work hard to offer very high quality ingredients at a price that's more affordable! Hope to see you again soon!! Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NaKorn also viewed

 

Been to NaKorn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing