We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Elk Grove Village
Certificate of Excellence
WA State
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Decidedly not 5-star, and not advertised as such. Definitely a preferred choice at this price point.

Staff especially attentive, friendly, and efficient, 24 hours. Elevator was fast and always available.

Meeting room was convenient and well-suited to our 3-day needs. Attentive staff re snacks, coffee, meals, etc. Always kept clean and fresh. Did not meet national code requirement for two distinct routes of emergency escape - e.g., there was but one door.

Conveniently close to O'Hare. Hotel's airport shuttle was great, but departure required a cab because the shuttle didn't start in time for my early departure. Most places I stay offer 24-hour service dependent upon 15 minutes' notice or night-before arrangement for oddball departure times. Some places provide none at all. "If you're gonna do it, then do it."

The attached restaurant was a high point and pleasant surprise - service and food quality were both outstanding, and with convenient hours. Breakfast served in attached atrium - bright and cheerful but overpriced for an average meal.

Personal room decor - especially carpet - was dark and seemed dirty, whether or not it was actually so. Bath was sparkling clean, so assumed remainder was OK. The carpet is repulsive. Room maintenance was always timely and complete, so I think I'm probably complaining more about the decorator's taste than about the actual condition of the property. I do NOT like to sit on cloth-upholstered desk chairs, no matter how usefully designed, for the simple reason that there's no legislating past users' personal habits. This chair seemed to have mild but detectable and unpleasant organic odor.

The bed was OK. I personally prefer a more standard high-quality bed. This thing was of the new fad models with so much bedding that it tended to bunch up into lumps beneath the sheet, making for morning pain in back muscles (as is unavoidable when too much bedding is present beneath a sheet pulled properly taut - the sheet stays tight, but the overly generous bedding shifts and bunches beneath it.) Typically, the duvet - another accursed modernity - was either too hot when in place or too cold when thrown back. No summer blanket in place. Pillows fresh and plump, decent choice between soft and firm. Sheets were suitably fine percale. The mattress was comfortable and of nice quality, while the assembly of nice-quality under-linens was a well-meaning but ineffectual - and uncomfortable - attempt at faddish modernity.

Room air conditioner was typically accurate but noisy and breezy, even on low settings.

In retrospect, it would seem that this hotel's excellent high points are so good as to over-emphasize its average or lesser points. I would assuredly return, even if I had to partially strip the bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for the descriptive review! We are happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and look forwared to having you back as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    92
    56
    18
    14
See reviews for
56
35
16
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

A branch office of my company is across the street, so it's extremely convinient for me to stay there...the staff were friendly, almost everything was OK... But my room was horrible. The beds wer nice and comfy as ever, but everything else was outdated. Massive black stains on the ceiling, the desk chair from the 1980's, small bathroom...just generally not a good room. Oh, of course I also had my room the furthest away possible.
I was on the ground floor and many co-workers who were all either on 2nd or 3rd mentioned their rooms were fine. Maybe it's just the ground floor that needs some serious refurbishment.
I will for sure remember to ask for an upstairs room next time...so yes, I would actually return ...

Room Tip: Not on Ground Floor!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpang37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your thoughts and review of our hotel. We are one of the original hotels in the Chicago area, and are proud to be rated one of the cleanest and friendliest around within our Holiday Inn family of hotels. We're glad you'll be back, please feel free to contact me personally should you have any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Holiday Inn - they do what they do quite well. It's not upscale at all, but it meets all of your needs. The rooms are standard, with comfortable beds & all is in good repair. There is a fairly large restaurant/bar downstairs that is open late - dinner stops at 10 PM, drinks at midnight (at least during the week). There are several restaurants that will delive to the hotel. The indoor pool was set at 84 degrees when I was there - very comfy, especially as the hot tub was under repair. Staff are friendly & accommodating, parking is sufficient, and the area seems safe enough. There is a convenient store right next to the hotel, which is nice when you have to fill up a rental on the way back to the airport. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport, so it's great for business travelers. It's a decent drive to the city, so take a cab if you're going out to have fun. They have two computers available near the lobby area. Breakfast is available in the morning, and consists of very standard fare. There are snacks available 24x7 in the lobby. Overall, this is a place I would stay again on business or family travel, but not for special occasions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your thoughts on our hotel, we appreciate your recap and notes. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I actually drove a few extra miles to stay at this property as I heard fantastic things from my co-workers. I am glad that I did. Great service and the rooms to match. I will be sure to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertO724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you very much for making the trip to stay with us, we appreciate your loyalty to not only us, but our brand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My company has reserved both sleeping and presentation rooms for many of our employees at this hotel over the past 5 years. I've stayed at the Holiday Inn at Elk Grove Village on 5 occasions. Each time, the desk and banquet staff provided great service and personal attention. The sleeping rooms were comfortable, providing adequate space for work, room service meals, and sleep. I've slept in rooms facing the outside of the building as well as the inner courtyard. At no time have I been bothered by the sound of planes landing at neighboring O'Hare Airport! The banquet staff has always organized the presentation rooms to our specifications and provided refills of muffins and beverages throughout the morning. At lunchtime, staff tidied up the room, replacing water pitchers and cleaning up any scrap materials left by seminar participants. I would highly recommend this hotel to pleasure as well as business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Speak2Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
We live and die by our repeat and loyal customers, thank you! Please never hesitate to let us know if you ever receive anything less than what you've experienced thus far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Grove Village
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Chicago O'Hare Rosemont
8.8 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Chicago O'Hare Airport
8.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Residence Inn Chicago O'Hare
1.6 km away
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village/O'Hare
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village...
#1 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
8.0 km away
Courtyard Chicago O'Hare
Courtyard Chicago O'Hare
#3 of 9 in Des Plaines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove
Address: 1000 Busse Road, Elk Grove Village, IL 60007
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Elk Grove Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Elk Grove Village
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,568 - ₹ 9,629
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village, Illinois. We are minutes away from O'Hare International Airport (ORD) in the heart of the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago. Our award winning associates are ready to ensure your stay with us is a success. We offer shuttle service to and from O Hare (6:00am to 10:30pm) for only $5.00 per person/per trip, as well as complimentary transportation within a 5 mile radius of the hotel (including Woodfield Shopping Center). We also within walking distance to easy public transportation to Downtown Chicago. Our friendly staff and clean rooms offer efficient work space complimented by free ultra fast high-speed wireless Internet. Our dining options include a visit to Shelby Campbell's restaurant attached to the hotel featuring our new full menu. Known for local favorites like our chili, pizza, and newly added lobster mac N cheese, Shelby Campbell's still offers the famous Shelby Steak and pork chop, and is also available for room service. We look forward to you checking in with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Elk Grove Hotel Elk Grove Village
Holiday Inn Elk Grove Village
Elk Grove Village Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing