We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, comfortable, and quiet. I will definitely go back.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elizabeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marcotte's Family Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Reviewed 8 October 2010

GREAT PRICE! This is a small, very well run family motel. If you are only interested in fancy, state of the art, decorator trimmings look elsewhere. Our room had a nice updated functional clean bathroom. If you need a place to sleep, clean up, and relax for a bit, I would definitely recommend this motel. I actually liked the out of date furniture, and feel comfortable bringing my young son here. Area feels safe too.
My only complaint is our fridge was a little too warm to store our restaurant leftovers. I was just too lazy to mention it to the owners.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avonjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

Traveled with a group of 12 motorcyclists to the Galena area just for fun. Donna and Art are fantastic, friendly proprieters who went out of their way to accomodate us and our bikes. Donna's homemade muffins and coffee served on a vintage tray at your door every morning is the BOMB!! The rooms are clean, quaint and quiet. Handstitched quilts are on the very comfortable beds. Bon Fire each night with offers of marshmallows. We would definitely recommend to others and stay here again as an alternative to the standard commercial motels. We had a blast!

Suzy & Andy

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyDeerParkWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We were a group of six couples on Harley motorcycles and found this motel. The owners are friendly and even cleaned their garage out so we could park the motorcycles inside because of storms threatening. Rooms are charming and furnished with homey antiques; beds were comfy. Every morning at 7:30 a tray with coffee and warm muffins was left outside our door. At night we sat around the campfire that was started by the owners.

Our destination was Galena, and this motel was less costly than staying in Galena.

We would highly recommend this motel to any traveler!

John and Diane

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdflowerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed at Marcotte's Family Motel for a one-night stay on our way through to Wisconsin. The motel is fine. As other's have described, it is a bit of a throwback in decor, and has a "gramma's house" feel to it. You will either find this charming, or outdated. The rooms were quite clean. We did however see a few small ants roaming around on the floor in the bathroom. This didn't freak me out to much, because anyone can get a few ants, and a one-time spray or ant trap application will solve this problem. Our room also had a full kitchen, which was a nice surprise. We stayed in room 6. They provide a nice coffee service in the morning, which is left outside the room on a milk pail. It included hot coffee and muffins. The owner's were very nice. The motel is located on a stretch of Route 20 that is fairly isolated and is on a hill. The entrance will creep up on you, so be careful, because people tend to drive fast through this stretch of road. I think the room rates are a little high. This is a $50.00 a night motel, but the place is not bad compared to the ridiculously high priced places in the area that gouge the Galena shopping crowd.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Although it's about 15 miles or so from Galena, this is a great place to stay. With 7 people in our party, we rented the "apartment"--it was perfect. We had our own little kitchen, two baths and enough beds to sleep 8. The owners loaned us their grill, started a campfire for us and let us use their hot tub and even provided robes. The country view is great and has some nice side roads for walking or running. I'd highly recommend this place and would certainly come back again. The morning coffee and muffins were fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonjo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
26.4 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
22.4 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
26.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
21.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
24.9 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcotte's Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcotte's Family Motel

Address: 2156 East Route 20, Elizabeth, IL 61028
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run motel dedicated to our guests' having the best motel experience ever! Whether you're staying in the Galena/JoDaviess County area for a few days or just passing through, we want you to enjoy your stay and recommend us to your friends and family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marcottes Family Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing