We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Clean!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elizabeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marcotte's Family Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Glenview, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and Clean!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were in town for just one night for a family wedding, and our stay at Marcotte's was so pleasant from start to finish! Donna Marcotte was so friendly, our apartment was very clean and had lots of space and amenities for 3 adults and 3 kids, and what a treat to wake up to hot coffee and delicious, warm muffins for all of us in the morning! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    10
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
23
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Wing, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I was greeted by a very friendly hostess, and allowed to check in early, as I had a wedding to get to. The room was clean, comfortable, with updated fixtures/flooring etc, in the bath and unique, attractive furnishings and decor in the main room. I had a great night's sleep, and hot coffee and fresh muffins appeared - as promised - just outside my door at 7:30. I would have loved to stay for several days and take in the surrounding countryside - the motel itself is in a very attractive location, on a ridge just outside town - but had to hit the road to return home.

Wish I could find a place like this EVERY time I travel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed for three nights on our motorcycle getaway, Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The owners are very friendly and great hosts. It was a nice location just away from the quaint lil towns of Jo Daviss County. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night and found it clean, very comfortable, and affordable. Each room has some unique decorating. I would stay anytime.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elwhaswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

More of a B&B than a motel,for a quick get away to Galena you can not beat this little place. We were very pleased with everything and can't wait to come back. Donna and Art are so welcoming. The room was so sweet, decorated with 1920's antiques, yet modern (all re-modeled) and cozy-comfortable. I wish we could have spent all summer based out of room #10. The beautiful rolling scenery in the back yard just adds to the peacefulness. We had a delicious steak dinner less in the town of Elizabeth than 5 minutes away at The Welcome Inn . We also had a few cocktails in town before heading back. Art had stoked up a warm campfilre for us to enjoy on the cool evening. What a wonderful wake up to have a tray of fresh brewed coffee and home made muffins delivered and silently left in the hall outside of our door. Stay here, avoid the crowds and commercial hotels, and drive to Galena about 10 scenic minutes away. You will feel like you are on a romantic get away to the countrside, exactly what we were hoping to find. Thanks Donna & Art we will see you agan soon!

Room Tip: Toured the kitchen unit very roomy with a great private deck off the back, would be good if you had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
15.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
26.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
21.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
24.9 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
839 reviews
17.8 km away
Chestnut Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcotte's Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcotte's Family Motel

Property: Marcotte's Family Motel
Address: 2156 East Route 20, Elizabeth, IL 61028
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run motel dedicated to our guests' having the best motel experience ever! Whether you're staying in the Galena/JoDaviess County area for a few days or just passing through, we want you to enjoy your stay and recommend us to your friends and family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marcottes Family Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing