We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, reasonable rates.”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
528 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Good hotel, reasonable rates.”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Hotel is well maintained, the pool is great and everything works fine. There is a little highway noise but not objectionable. It is across the Interstate from most of the nearby restaurants so you can't park your car and walk as you can from the hotels on the other side of the highway. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    67
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
51
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Vernon, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

My biggest issue: For a hotel that is supposedly non-smoking, the side foyer entrances were always a cloud of smoke and made me gag when I walked in. What happened to the 15' rule?

I felt crowded as soon as I walked in the door. The main desk and eating area are crammed into a tiny spot by the front door. Next to that is the pool. Didn't go in the pool because I didn't want people to be sitting there watching TV or eating while I am swimming. Actually, in the 4 days I was there, I never saw anyone go in the pool.

The morning person always seemed busy - checking people in while refilling the milk and cereal in the breakfast nook. The breakfast was okay, just don't come hungry. I won't even talk about the dried out breads and pasteries or mushy bananas.

My bed was bigger then my bathroom though. I either hit my knees or elbows on the door when I was going to shower or use the john. The carpet was worn down so badly, I didn't know there was a pattern to it. I could hear the ceiling creak as the people above me were walking around. Was worried they would drop in.

The night deck person at the front desk was always nice. As for the room, I had lots of space. The internet connection was stable and pretty fast. Which is good because I watched streaming movies. TV was good quality. I was happy to see a fridge show up in my room suddenly on the last day. The bed was nice and comfortable. The AC/Heater worked good. Plenty of drawers to put stuff. The cleaning staff was very thorough and punctual.

For a meager $65/night....I got what I paid for.

Room Tip: South side rooms were away from the interstate. Walls seemed to be pretty thick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs Village, AR
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here as a stopover on our way to Chicago. What a mistake. The toilet would not flush in our room, so the guy at the front desk got his trusty plunger and got it to flush. We left for dinner, came back, and it would not flush again. This time his trusty plunger did not get the job done. He left, saying he was going to call his manager and would be right back. It was time to go to bed and we were tired. After about 30 minutes I went to the front desk to see what was goiing on. Our friend was sitting in front of his computer, playing games and had obviously forgotten about us. When I spoke to him, he was totally flustered and started saying how he had called his manager and could not get him. And said that he had NOT told us he would be back and that he DID get the toilet to flush. I went back to our room just to check....no flush, had not flushed and I don't think would flush without some professional help!! He then offered to move us to another room, which we did without any help from him. Manager the next morning was basically inept, too. Breakfast was terrible, most things gone and it was fairly early. Manager did not make any attempt to replenish, but upon checking out saw that he did eventually replenish now that most folks were leaving. Maybe he gets to take home the leftovers??? We did get money off our room after asking. But I would never stay here again and would advise anyone else who wants good service to stay away, too!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

For the price, this place is fantastic! Its not fancy, but its clean, feels safe and was a welcome break from 12 hours on the road. The pool is fantastic. Sadly the hot tub was inoperable, BUT they had a sauna so my boys could still warm up after swimming. Breakfast was good and included waffles (BOTH regular and a strawberry mix, which I had never seen before), the requisite biscuits and gravy, cold pastries and so on. It certainly wasn't a fancy hotel, but for goodness sakes, I don't think you could do better for the price. I would definitely book here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alethalsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I would stay again. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was great. Best was the staff both at checkin and breakfast. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
0.8 km away
Super 8 Effingham
Super 8 Effingham
#5 of 19 in Effingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
1.6 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#10 of 19 in Effingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1304 W Evergreen Ave, Effingham, IL 62401-1631 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Effingham
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,783 - ₹ 6,723
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Effingham
Effingham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing