We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Shikara

Shikara
Reserve with OpenTable
Shikara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 188 Restaurants in Downers Grove
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Great Indian taste. Tandoori platters are amazing. Buffet and banquets are equally good. An indian jewel in the suburbs.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Sam3069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017

excellent buffet with lots of choices. Food had good spicy flavor without being over powering. Service is great with them grabbing your plate while you are still chewing. Empty plates on table are gone instantly.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank cleve608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This place has good Indian food. Only place around really. We like to go their for the lunch buffet. That way you can try a bunch of different dishes and find one that you like, rather than getting stuck with something that you can't eat. The tandoori chicken and the bread is very good. We usually go about once a month here for a work lunch with an Indian vendor of ours.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Buffet with wide selection of dishes. Take your time "Try it all" guarantee you'll find a reason you must return for.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Connector806595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We found this place with a search for nearby Indian restaurants and this was a great find. the staff was very friendly, attentive and accommodating. We had the buffet and the vegetarian dishes were outstanding. The butter chicken was even better. My wife elected to pass on desert and it was her loss. I had an assortment but the mango kulfi was KILLER. My first encounter with this vert tasty ice cream treat but it will not be my last. Indeed, I know I will ave more at this super place

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shikara also viewed

Downers Grove, DuPage County
 
Downers Grove, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 

Been to Shikara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing