We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a bad hotel, but the little things can get you.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #106 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel, but the little things can get you.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Ok. As with most Doubletree hotels, this one is clean, well appointed, and the staff were very friendly and very helpful. And I found the location ideal for my needs. There is ample shopping within a few blocks, many choices for a feed, and about 15 minutes walk to Millenium/Grants Park. Navy Pier was also close by.

On the downside, parking at the hotel was very expensive. So, for that matter, was the Wi-FI internet, and it didn't work very well. The bar in the lobby closed way too early. I should also mention that one day after the housekeep went though I found the bathroom plug, which is a mechanical one, not rubber, and should have been attached to the drain pipe, had been completely pulled out and left sitting in the tub.

I probably would stay here again. I just would park somewhere else and arrange my own Internet.

Room Tip: Park your car elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Big Jeffery,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us, I am sorry that we fell short on some of your expectations. I can assure you that we have heard you and the corrective measures have occurred. The feedback you have provided will help us to maintain a level of guest service that our guest are accustomed to and deserve. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that you will return to the hotel should your travel plans bring you back to our area. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    1,007
    495
    168
    104
See reviews for
768
563
138
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Was here for a week at a conference and enjoyed our stay. Room was clean, large, and well-maintained. Staff was helpful and attentive, which made the conference even better. There is a nice Einstein Bagel shop in the lobby area which make breakfast cheap, good, and inexpensive. Not too far to walk to Michigan Avenue or to the Navy Pier in the opposite direction. Another couple of blocks and you're at an El stop.

Between the hotel and the Magnificent Mile are several decent and inexpensive restaurants. Seemed to be in a good part of town and never felt threatened at any time during the stay. Would consider staying here again if looking for something downtown.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillbilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Hello Hillbilly1,
Thank you for staying with us during the conference and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the area. Our location is near everything and we are in a great part of the downtown area, not to far from museums, venues and all sorts of fun things to see and do. We hope that you will be back for business or a get away. Thank you again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I think the point of this review is for travelers to downtown for a weekend stay, who want to be close to the magnificent mile 3 blocks west only, but want a good budget friendly hotel, this is a good choice. We stayed just one evening because of schedule, no issues at all, everything worked great, the 25th floor had nice views and bedding was comfortable, hotel was clean and staff were friendly. I would stay here again, have stayed directly on Michigan avenue for roughly twice the price.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsl82899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

As expected hotel, with usual amenities. Staff are friendly and helpful, close to shops and sites. Parking is expensive, however parking across the street is $12 less a night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear LostSojourner,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here at the hotel. I am glad that the staff was very helpful and accommodating. We hope that you will be back to have another great stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Firstly it's not on the Magnificent Mile, though the location is fine with plenty of nice places to eat and many places within a short walk. It's a big, busy, bustling place - not really what we like but as we were just having a brief stopover that was ok.

Maybe it's me being not used to the US hotels but I found paper cups for coffee in the room a bit incongruous. You have all this 'flash' glassware and bottled water but the cups seem out of place.

Our problems were as follows:

Internet access in rooms - yes, no problem - except it costs and we had to ask how much. Then we have two iPhones and two iPads and that meant according to the concierge a x4 charge.... Almost $40 a day...... Hmmm, ok sits in lobby and it's free- provided you - you guessed it - asked for a code.

Ok, coffee in a double room - 3 coffee sachets..... You guessed it, asked and we were given some more, and some milk as well.

Ok, toilet tissue, no spare..... Ok let's go and ask for some......

Ok no facial tissues, had to go and.......

It's the little details that make life a hassle or not.... Being on a trans USA trip it would have been nice to just 'have things' to hand.

Ok let hope the next Doubletree is not on an economy drive.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Roger N,
Thank you for your honest feedback. We apologize if the paper cups appeared out of place in your guest room. Also, it is disappointing to hear that you had to request multiple times for different amenities during your stay with us. It seems we fell short of expectations on a few instances, and would be happy to invite you back for a much improved experience.
Safe Travels,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,393 - ₹ 27,783
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing