We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Chicago.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Ranked #107 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Chicago.”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is an excellent place to stay in Chicago, on the magnificent mile, which has lots of shopping and attractions around it. Very easy to get to transport around the city.
It is a few blocks walk to Navy Pier so a taxi may be handy, lovely place to spend a few nights or days, as it has lots of places to eat, great mini golf! :)
Hotel was nice, and very clean, breakfast was great.
Would definatly recommend to families!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nati18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    1,078
    537
    188
    118
See reviews for
855
605
148
712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We booked the Doubletree for three nights while meeting up with friends in Chicago. The hotel location is excellent and very close to restaurants, shopping, and the CTA. Our room contained two doubles, had the normal amount of space and a good flat screen TV. The condition of the room was generally good although the shower fixtures were a bit wobbly and the tub a tad worn. Overall the condition was above average and perfectly good for a place to rest your head. It was also generally quiet in terms of traffic and other rooms, although it had the typical noisy AC unit. We did not try the restaurant, but the Einstein Bagel shop on the ground floor was very handy, as is the nearby West Egg Cafe. The front desk was very helpful, and getting help with a cab was no problem. We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: If you can get an upper floor room facing the lake, it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upfrontguitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

As many people have mentioned here, this hotel is in a great location - walking distance to so much. However, so many of the Chicago hotels are in great locations and walking distance to things. Therefore, don't let location be the deciding factor on this for you.

The rooms were fine but nothing special. Beds were comfortable. I thought the rooms needed some sprucing up - in particular the gauzy blinds on the window were kind of yellowed and old looking. The windowed closet looks like it walked out of the 80s. But again, it was nothing that was a deal breaker. Given how much time we spent in our room (hardly any!) it didn't bother me.

Fitness center was nice and large. The front desk staff was nice but the wait took awhile - they were training someone and I think that slowed things up. They also put my husband and I in a room with two double beds instead of a king. When we asked to change they said they were out of kings. Our room was booked for us on hotels.com - make sure when booking on there to book your specific room type. The elevators could also randomly be slow. Housekeeping staff was very friendly.

My experience here was definitely average in every sense of the word - nothing was awful, but nothing blew me away. Book if you find a good deal, otherwise I think there are other hotels in equally good locations that might be better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear PhillyCali,
Thank you for your review. It disappoints us to hear that our hotel did not offer anything special or unique in terms of accommodations during your stay. Despite this fact, we will be sure to bring your comments to the attention of our Executive Team regarding the discolored window blinds and windowed closets. We would welcome the chance to improve your opinion of the DoubleTree hotel Chicago and provide you with an exceptional experience when your travels bring you back to Chicago.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel won't knock your socks off. But it was clean; not too far from Michigan Avenue (although not, as advertised, on the Magnificent Mile,) and was a good value for the money. I got it through Priceline for $110 a night. I was there for six nights and after the third night, through some computer snafu, I was shown as checked out and my bed didn't get made and I didn't get fresh towels. A phone call got that straightened out the next day. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nothing really to complain about. Nothing really to make me say "Wow!"

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amishlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear amishlaw,
Thank you for your review. It seems we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. On the other hand, we are glad you found our service and accommodations us to be worth the value. Again, our sincere apologies for the computer mishap you experienced and thankfully we were able to rectify the problem immediately. We hope to invite you back to exceed your expectations in the future if given the opportunity.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a basic business/conference hotel. It is 2 blocks off Michigan Ave, close to Navy Pier in a neighborhood with tons of great little restaurants. One caveat is: wi-fi is charged per device. So, if you have a laptop, smartphone and iPad that you want to sync it will cost you $30 a day for wi-fi service--NOT $9.95. There is free wi-fi in the lobby, so if you don't mind going downstairs to sync all your tech gadgets you will be fine. Gino's East is just 3 blocks away and the West Egg diner across the street is also great. Room size was good, bathroom was clean, public spaces were well maintained. Elevators were slow during busy times of the day (but this is often the case in large hotels). Bell staff/concierge staff was not real helpful or friendly, but if you know the city and are self-sufficient this should not be a problem. Go Express (airport shuttle) stops at the hotel every 30 minutes, so you can generally get on the shuttle even if you don't have a reservation. However, if you are staying here for a conference, make a reservation on the shuttle the day before you are leaving or you could end up without a seat.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a lake view and enjoyed being able to look out on the lake and Northwestern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaveSuitcaseWillTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#87 Family Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,171 - ₹ 24,590
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing