We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, coastal decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Ranked #122 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Queensbury, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location, coastal decor”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hotel Indigo is located within walking distance to great shopping, dining and cultural activities. The rooms are clean and decorated in seacoast fashion. We loved the hardwood floors and gas fireplace, it was perfect to get warmed by after an afternoon of sight seeing. Lincoln Park and the zoo are within 15 walking minutes, as is shopping on Michigan Ave and great food on Rush. You can walk to Navy Pier and Millenium Park but it is a bit of a hike. No worries though as taxis are everywhere. Even the subway to Wrigley Field is right around the corner. Unlike other hotels in town, the bar at the Indigo is small and really designed to serve guests rather than the public We did not try the restaurant as there were too many great places to eat close by. If you are visiting family in the area they do offer a neighborhood rate. Definitely not a large scale hotel like the Marriot or Sheridan, but a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scout11258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and reviewing our property, it was our pleasure serving you while you were in town. We couldn't agree more with your assessment of our location, our guests find that we are conveniently located to all the best restaurants, nightlife, shopping, and leisure hotspots that Chicago has to offer, as well as being a short commute to local offices downtown!

Great tip for future guests as well mentioning our neighborhood rate, feel free to contact us anytime and we'd be happy to provide it to you for future dates. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    485
    199
    89
    61
See reviews for
267
369
100
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very charming and cozy hotel! Love the decor, good value, good location. The only downside is there is no dresser or drawers to put your clothes in. For a week-long stay, I want to unpack my bags and settle in, but there's not one drawer in the whole room. There is a bureau with a shelf, but small, dark and awkward to get to. They seemed to go with function follows form with the decor...cute, but not very functional. I would stay here again though if the price was right!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and providing your feedback, we appreciate our guests comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. As you mention, some of our rooms are more on the petite side with limited storage, however we do also offer much larger rooms that can accommodate those that are staying with us longer. Although these double-queen and corner king rooms are the most demanded room types, our staff is always happy to assist in providing them upon request if available. And, if you happen to be a Platinum Priority Club member, these are available as a complimentary upgrade if available at check-in!

Again, thank you for your comments, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My mother and I wanted to take a quick mini vacation in Chicago on a tight budget. We booked this hotel at a GREAT price. Hotel Staff is Super friendly. Hotel is very trendy and hip and well decorated w a beach theme. It has a small restaurant w a great selection and great prices for a hotel. The also have a nice mid size bar right down in the lobby. Our room had a great view, Comfy bed, clean room. I liked that the hotel had plenty of reading material of attractions in the area, if you ask the staff as to where to go and eat, they will be more than happy to direct you and they also have some coupons for restaurants in the area. They also offer Free Wifi which many hotels in Chicago do not and right next to the hotel there is a parking garage where you can pay to leave your car overnight. It is within walking distance to Many places to eat and several pharmacies, supermarket. Super convenient location and there is a train stop about 1-2 blocks from hotel. Will def stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If facing the hotel. Get a room on the left (opposite side of elevator) so that you can get a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonSantiago85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. We were delighted to see that you had a great stay and will be sharing your feedback with our staff here. As a multiple year recipient of IHG's Torchbearer Award for customer satisfaction, we pride ourselves in taking care of our visitors. We love it when our guests can easily experience the wonderful Gold Coast neighborhood and it sounds like you did just that!

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown

P.S. Very nice tip as well for the rooms, we like the views of the city also!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I visit Chicago often, and rarely find a hotel I really like, but I recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo, and had one of the best hotel experiences. I had two single rooms reserved, and as we went to check in (early mind you) the gentleman, Mr. Hilton, at the front desk upgraded both my rooms and got us in early! As we got up to the room I was shocked at how clean and nicely put together the rooms were, not to mention the beautiful decor and view. The location was great, just a couple blocks north of Magnificent Mile, and tons of bars and restaurants within a block, including the restaurant/bar in the hotel. The outgoing and friendly staff plus a wonderful location makes this hotel a definite do-over.

I stay at many hotels, especially IHG hotels, and I can definitely say this was one of the best! I am hoping to stay when I visit again in May and June.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittneyLane12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! We definitely have a great location, we are always glad when our guests take advantage of this to enjoy the city as much as possible. Our staff takes pride in exceeding guest expectations, and we are very fortunate to have individuals such as Tom that take excellent care of them.

Thanks for staying with us, as well as other IHG properties, we would love to see you again soon and look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2012

The decor is charming - downstairs restaurant in particular quaint and lovely. However, their "studio" rooms are not very comfortable. So small there is no place literally to put the suitcase other than the one small desk. I came in to find a large tray on my bed with the ice bucket, remote, etc on it. While taking it off the bed I noticed there just isn't any place to put it-so against the wall it went. Cold hardwood floors with no curtains-just horizontal wood blinds that when closed do not keep out the light. No tub-shower only. Very little if any counter space in the bathroom. Good location and I must give extremely high marks to the staff - in particular Tom at the front desk who went out of his way to make up for things that really weren't his fault at all. The day I was there it was unusually cold and he took a special interest in helping me find a meal (their restaurant has what I would call more "fancy" fare - I was looking for something simpler) close by. He also offered to change my room to a larger one (which by that time I passed on). Also had to call for coffee in the morning - only decaf an tea packets in the room. The staff came up immediately with it. I'd give this one another try mainly because of the great staff,-but would try and avoid the studio room if possible.

Room Tip: Avoid studio rooms if you need space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelIndigoChicago, Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for leaving feedback for us, we appreciate your comments. We are happy to hear that our staff took great care of you while you were here, we are very fortunate to have a wonderful staff that takes great pride in exceeding our guests expectations. We'd love to have you back with us and will gladly make every attempt to provide one of our larger rooms for you as those typically go first due to higher demand. Although we do have some smaller rooms that are more typical of boutique hotel rooms in the city, we find that most guests still enjoy the comforting decor as well!

Thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you soon.

-Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
PUBLIC Chicago
PUBLIC Chicago
#96 of 190 in Chicago
1,614 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#75 of 190 in Chicago
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,807 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Property: Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610-5197 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#99 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,997 - ₹ 19,026
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing