We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #51 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Perfect location, walking distance of all attractions, next to Eataly, close to original Uno, Giordano's etc. Only thing which makes little sense is that the bathroom is in the bedroom, so your kids have to go through the bedroom ;-) nice corner suites.

Room Tip: Corner suite had great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilaire2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_CHIHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for the great review! We lover hearing about our team, and hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 2,795 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

This hotel is not worth the price you will pay for it.During my trip I came across hotels with similar price and location who offered much more than what I experienced at this hotel. The rooms / hallways were not clean and the complimentary breakfast quality was way below what I would expect from Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juulia_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_CHIHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Oh no! This is certainly not the type of feedback we are accustomed to, and we are very sorry that you feel this way.
As our mission is to be Chicago's cleanest and friendliest hotel, we are saddened to see this.
We trust that you brought these issues to our attention, so that we could address them for you before you checked out, and hope that should your travels bring you back to our area, you'll consider us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We arrived here on the 4th August (Friday) . Our suite was ready at 2pm on the 30th floor. The staff were SO INFORMATIVE as to what was going on and how to get to the venue we wanted isn the quickest time. On Wednesday, 9th August, we came back from a long hard day looking at stuff and we went into the M restaurant area for people having suites. The Managers special - available only on Monday - Thursday 5-7pm, was very good and outstanding value. Wine and beer were free. A delicious range of salads and cooked chicken/burgers were available, plus cooked veg - corn-on-the -cob
etc. People with kids will save a fortune here.
Great location - 2 mins to the magnificent mile.
Tip: Hire the " Go Airport Express" for transport from O'Hare to downtown. Saved a fortune. Cost me $50 as opposed to $100 + to get to hotel. This price was pre 4pm thereafter it increases because of the reverse traffic regime!! Hope this helps

Room Tip: Go for a corner suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Burcottguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_CHIHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

What a great and helpful review, thank you for your posting!
We always love hearing when our staff does a great job, thank you for recognizing them!
We hope that you'll be back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I had to book a hotel that would allow our small dog to be in the room with us and looked at several possibilities. I choose this one because it was renovated in 2016. Normally, we stay at a slightly nicer hotel, but this one surprised us. It would be really nice for families. The breakfast was okay, but what was nicer was the evening meal and snacks Monday through Friday. When we were too tired to get dressed up and go out for the evening dinner, we were delighted the food included in the rate such as huge Chicago hotdogs on a night a game was being played at the stadium. The hotel was fairly clean, but the room a little small for a family of three (one was a teen). The counter space was very little in the bath area, but I find in the big cities there tends to be a little less room in these types of hotels. I give it a 5 for friendly service, except for the one hotel desk clerk that worked the dinner shift. Very snippy answers to questions. Our room was fairly quiet on the 6th floor on the end, and our dog loved it there. All in all it was a good place to stay, and I would recommend it for families. the location was excellent to all that we did. We could walk everywhere, to the Art Institute of Chicago, Magnificent Mile, Cloud Gate, the Private Banks Theatre to see Hamilton, etc. The Grand Avenue station Red line is right across the block. We took the blue line to Washington from the Airport and transferred to the Red line. Really easy, but about an hour on the train.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_CHIHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Wow, thank you for the great, and detailed review!
We are sure that your comments will be useful to our future guests!
We are always happy to welcome our four legged friends, so be sure to come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Definitely the best value in Chicago. Fully renovated, very chic and clean. Great location and views from the higher floors. Price includes breakfast and dinner. (although we ate elsewhere...) We liked the suite - kitchenette, pull out couch in real living room, and bedroom with bathroom. Only issue is the bedroom doors closed in a weird way and therefore the doors didn't really lock. (insert embarrassing story here...) Even a small child could push them open. So make sure to bring a scarf or something to tie the door handles together if you really want, er, privacy. *ahem* Otherwise, a wonderful property and one I would stay at again!

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor facing the Trump Tower - definitely a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_CHIHW, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for the great review!
We are thrilled that you like our recent renovation and that your suite was clean!
The bedroom doors should lock, so if you run into this issue again, please be sure to give us a call, and we'll be happy to fix it before anything else gets going!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 7,130 - ₹ 24,791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing