We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #51 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed 3 nights with my wife at hotel during our trip to US.

Hotel is quite nice apartment styled, we had double room with kitchen with OK view to Trump Tower at 17th floor. Hotel is located at excellent location at Near North: within a walk's distance to Loop, Millennium Park, Navy Pier and North Avenue Beach, next to Magnificent Mile and restaurant blocks.

Cozy rooms are rather spacious, "living room" is located together with nice kitchenette. Bathroom is clean and large, bath & shower has own room and sink & makeup room it's own space. Bed was also very comfortable.

Breakfast was basic American, quite generous and nice, at reception floor on 6th floor. Hotel was surprisingly quiet eventhough building is located at such central location. Staff was friendly and nice at reception and clerks on ground level were helpful as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 76-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

76-76,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites Downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your spacious suite and that the hotel was in a convenient location for you. It also seems like you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer. I look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,899 - 1,903 of 2,821 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stay at this hotel every time we visit Chicago. The staff is exceedingly kind and helpful. We especially like the always smiling Connie in the breakfast room. What a way to start the day! She is so sweet.
The rooms are very nice. We like the suite layouts with a real door between the bedroom and sitting area. The beds are comfortable. The kitchens are a nice size, too. Though, we usually end up only using the fridge and freezer, because we never have to cook anything for ourselves while we stay at this hotel. The breakfasts are wonderful; lots of variety of hot and cold items. And during most weekdays they serve dinner, too! What a deal!
When we go to Chicago, we drive into the city and use the hotel's valet service to park. The valet staff doubles as the doorman crew, and we have found all of these employees to be wonderfully helpful. They even helped me with a problem with my radiator once!
After we park, we never use the car again until we leave. The Red Line of the "L" is a block away from the hotel. It is quite convenient for getting around the city.
Overall, this is a very good hotel for a stay in Chicago. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

S K,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites Downtown Chicago. I would also like to thank you for mentioning the helpful and friendly staff; we take great pride in that. I was pleased to see that you were able to enjoy the amenities we offer and that the hotel was in a convenient location for you in Downtown Chicago. I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I took my Mom and daughters to Chicago for the weekend and had a Wonderful experience! The hotel was a perfect location being close to the train, Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, etc. The rate was more reasonable than numerous other hotels in the area. However, it was the people at Homewood Suites that made the greatest impression on all of us. The kindness, service, and overall hospitality was amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngoralsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Ngoralsky,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites Downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you, your mother, and your daughter had a wonderful experience. I will share your positive comments about that staff with the entire team.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just got back from a one night stay at the Homewood Suites. A few helpful tips: Parking is EXPENSIVE, the lobby is on the 6th floor, the elevators are fast so there is not a long wait, PF Changs is next door and a great place for food and drinks!, the room was choppy, felt crowded and small for the price. Nothing extremely cool to mention, and I would probably not stay there again.

Room Tip: request a high room for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budrow02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Budrow02,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed the view of the city from the hotel. We hope you consider staying at our hotel again the next time you stay in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just returned from a few days at the Homewood Suites in Chicago. My wife and and I were both in Chicago on business, but we brought the kids and extended it a day to make it a mini-vacation. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this hotel. Location and value are great, but the staff are what really impressed me. The physical plant itself had a few flaws, but nothing major. Some details:

Location: The hotel is north of "The Loop," in the North Bridge/North Michigan Avenue. It's hard to find a better location for tourism or for business (at least if business is in the downtown area). It's within easy walking distance -- i.e., less than a few blocks -- of some of the city's best shops and restaurants. The Navy Pier and lakefront is a slightly longer walk. A subway stop is down the street -- you can take it all over the City and (sometimes with bus) to the big museums (Field, Aquarium, Science/Industry).

Value: The North Bridge/North Michigan Avenue area has a ton of hotels. We found this one hit the sweet spot of offering a lot (free breakfast and manager reception in the evening, suite-style rooms, nice quality) and affordability.

Staff: I was really impressed with the quality of the staff. We had a problem with our room when we arrived: When we tried to open the sleeper couch, it couldn't unfold all the way because a piece of permanent furniture was in the way. (I guess nobody had tried to use it before.) We called the front desk and, within 2 minutes, a maintenance worker was at our door. He quickly rearranged the room so that it fit fine. The doormen/valet were beyond friendly -- they remembered my kids' names and were extremely helpful with directions, etc.

Downside? The room itself had what seemed like a less than optimal design: Lots of room around the kitchen, a small living area (and the aforementioned issues with the sleeper couch). The pool looked *really* old and dingy, although I understand they're about to renovate that.

Internet speed was adequate but not lightning fast -- so if you're going to be streaming, etc., you might have some issues.

Other information: The breakfast buffet was standard-issue for this kind of hotel: Eggs, waffle maker, fresh fruit, cereal, etc... Parking is expensive in Chicago, so you're advised to buy a room package with parking if you're bringing a car. (It'll be cheaper.)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BSRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

BSRS,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites Downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you decided to extend your stay with us and enjoyed your time at our hotel. Thank you for making it a point to mention the staff at Homewood Suites; we take great pride in being helpful and friendly. I look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Chicago: for business or pleasure.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 6,601 - ₹ 22,238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing