We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Price, and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Ranked #48 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I traveled to Chicago for the first time this last week. We had a great experience staying at the Homewood Suites. The hotel is in a great location close to shops and restaurants. We had a free breakfast every morning and a room with tons of space. This was more of a working trip for both me and my wife and we were in the business center quite a bit. We took full advantage of the complimentary printing, internet, and coffee. The staff was extremely friendly, courteous, and accommodating. I am definitely going to stay at this hotel the next time I am in Chicago.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harout S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Harout,

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. I am happy that you were comfortable while working in the business center. We try to accommodate our business travelers with the larger rooms and business center.
Thank you so much for your referral. We hope to see you and your wife back at the hotel either for business or pleasure.
Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,745)
There are newer reviews for Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,869 - 1,873 of 2,745 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

We loved this hotel...Homewood Suites in Chicago is really a grand place to stay on Grand Avenue!! The hotel staff is helpful and friendly, especially the bell hops on the 1st floor!! Jonah was so friendly and enjoyed talking with him. Starr the front desk attendant was very helpful since we had never been to Chicago and told us which buses to ride to the attraction! We really enjoyed the full breakfast and Manager's dinner they include with the nightly rate! Can't say enough about the cleanliness and comfort of the suites...loved the kitchen and the comfy beds and pillows!! The view was great and enjoyed being so close to shopping and a bus ride away from the museums and attractions!! We will be back to stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Close to lots of restaurants and Loew's theater just a block away...loved the full breakfast and...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Laurie,

We are thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Thank you so much for your kind words about our valet team, housekeeping, Jonah, and Star. These employees are an asset to our hotel and it is so kind of you to point their helpful and friendly attitudes out.

Thank you so much for your kinds words regarding both our breakfast and dinners. Over the past several months the food service team has been revamping out menus and it is always wonderful to hear positive feedback regarding them.

We hope that you had a wonderful time visiting Chicago. We hope to see you and your family again.


Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Homewood for 5 nights this past week. We were able to check in a bit early since we arrived in Chicago before the 4pm check-in time. The staff was very friendly and gave us a map with points of interest and the hotel circled on it. The doormen always open the door for you and ask if you need a cab. Breakfast is free and always has a good variety. Usually it some variation of eggs and sausage as the main entrees, but there are waffle makers, cereal, oatmeal, pastries, fruit, yogurt, and many other things to round out the selection. Dinner was pretty good too and it's free Monday-Thursday complete with beer/wine. The hotel is close to pretty much everything including the red line subway which is about 300 ft away from the front door.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor away from the elevators. We had a corner suite (room 1718) and it was quiet with...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Jennifer,

I am happy that you and your husband had a wonderful time at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. I hope that you enjoyed all the local Chicago attractions that the hotel is close to. Thank you so much for the detailed description of our breakfast and dinner services. This review will aid others in the selection process and captures our menu perfectly.

I hope you had a wonderful time in Chicago and that we will see you and your husband again.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

As a business traveler every week, I appreciate all Homewood has to offer. The suites, make me feel like I am in an apartment, not a hotel room. Great variety of breakfast food. Dinner Mon-Thursday is a real dinner, with good food (nothing breaded and fried) good choices and rarely a repeat in 4-6 weeks. But the best is the way the staff learns your name and is friendly. Home away from home. Thank you Homewood

Room Tip: I only had one room that was too small and that was a corner room. All others are spacious
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckimmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

We are always thrilled to welcome back our frequent guests to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. It is wonderful to be able to interact with you at breakfast, dinner, and at the reception desk. I want to thank you for your kind words regarding our friendly staff. We hope to see you and your team for months to come!

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had a wonderful time in Chicago. We stayed here for a week and loved everything about it. The rooms are huge, having the kitchen area was wonderful for such a long trip. I love the meal calendar in the room :) All the meals we had at the hotel were GREAT...some even better then when we ate out! The staff at this hotel has a lot of pride in their work and should definitely be rewarded for it. They answered all our questions and were always available to help us out. We did use the laundry facility, it was small two washers and two dryers. Unfortunately one washer was not working but it was ok because we were the only one's using them at the time.
It's a great location to be at, within walking distance to all the local attractions. We will definitely be going back and staying at this same hotel. I noticed some people complained about the elevators taking too long we never had that problem :)
The one bad thing was that our room was directly under the gym...so in the evening all we heard were the weights being dropped on the floor. Not sure why some people need to do that when they are working out.

Room Tip: Ask not to be below the gym. But the higher the better view!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Indira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Indira,

I am so happy that you had a wonderful time visiting Chicago and staying at the Homewood Suites. We feel the meal calendar in the rooms is a great resource because you always know what to expect. If it is an item that you are not interested in you can always check out one of Chicago’s amazing restaurants.

Thank you for letting me know that one of the washer’s was not working. I have forwarded this information onto the engineering department so no other guests experience the same issues. We do try to limit the hours of our fitness center so that individuals will not be disturbed by the machines and weights. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced.

I am so happy that you received wonderful customer service at the hotel. This hotel has a culture of cultivating customer service and we are happy you had a suite time at our place.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Vanessa Kosloski

Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#53 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 8,315 - ₹ 28,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points -receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. Check us out online for discounts and packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing