We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel and Rooms, pool not so much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Marriott O'Hare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chicago Marriott O'Hare
Ranked #105 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
grand rapids
1 review
“Nice Hotel and Rooms, pool not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Pros:
really nice newly renovated rooms
nice lobby
room was clean
comfortable beds
great views

Cons:
indoor/outdoor pool needs refurbishment
tile in pool area is very slippery
you cant get into the outdoor pool from the indoor pool without going underwater
there was dirty water all over the pool floor
there was a bunch of kids in the indoor pool yelling and screaming constantly (you had to yell to talk to people because they were so loud)
the outdoor pool was quieter.
there were people smoking on the outdoor pool deck even though there is signs saying that it is not allowed.
Room:
one of the pillows in our room had stains on it.
the air conditioner in the room would barely cool down the room (Set to 70 Fan on high)
only two elevators for the tower so sometimes it can take a couple minutes to get a elevator.
TV is extremely slow when changing channels and sometimes the remote would not respond
there was sticky stuff on the buttons on the side of the TV
walls are thin you can hear other guests TVs
one of the phones in the room would not work.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puppy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    239
    90
    28
    9
See reviews for
83
69
37
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I wound up at this hotel after a weather problem at O'Hare caused me to miss my connection and had no idea what to expect, I arrived to an obviously newly renovated hotel and I was very pleased with my stay. The lobby of the hotel is very welcoming and warm. The bar/restaurant blends in from the check-in area, making for a lively entry area. Rooms are modern, clean and obviously newly renovated. The bathroom is extremely small but functional. Great smallish rain shower head-- one of the best I've had in a while. The bar had a good, albeit streamlined menu for food at the bar-- overall the bar experience was very positive. The shuttle (the hotel is a solid 10-15 minutes drive fromt the airport) is well run-- we had a 5 a.m. rush of easily 25-30 people and the hotel immediately called a second shuttle and everyone got to the airport without delay. I'd disregard the pre-renovation reviews-- this is now a really nice Marriott airport hotel, particularly for the reasonable rate that was charged.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiamiMark5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
279 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

I stayed here about a year ago, before the renovations. This is an excellent hotel with very helpful, friendly staff. The only down sides are that it is somewhat noisy being near the airport and the menu in the restaurant is quite limited. There is a shuttle from the airport and the blue line is within walking distance if you are a good walker. For the price and comfort, you can't beat the hotel. Now, work on the menu and noise!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My company has a regional office next door to the hotel. From 2007 - 2011, I was at the hotel nearly monthly...and it was a Marriott dump. Outdated exterior. Outdated interior. Downright an embarrising Marriott. But, it was convenient for me. I hadn't been back to that office for a year, but when I walked in the lobby...truly, I was speechless. Stunning! Totally gutted entrance way, lobby, bar and restaurant. The bar was nice looking and had lots of seating choices...but only two smaller screened tvs (NBA and NHL finals were on and it was hard to find a seat to watch both). They combined restaurants to one bigger, fresher space - but for breakfast it was only a buffet option (and expensive). I hate buffets, mostly when I'm juggling purse and all I want is oatmeal and toast. The rooms had been totally refreshed. They are still small - the bathrooms are really, really small. But at least they looked great event though the sparse, tiny art works were strange. I only stay in the tower rooms - the 60's style low rise rooms freak me out with the entrance doors to outdoor common walkways. Overall, huge improvement with some more work/thought needed...like just tear down the awful lower area and have menu options for breakfast again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbgvluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I can't say enough about my stay at the hotel. The staff was wonderful. Room was extremely comfortable. Loved the convenience of the walkover to AMA where I had business. Close to subway for touring downtown. The only thing that bugged me was that wifi was not free - I just don't get that these days. I did not eat in the hotel or go to the bar so I can't speak to those.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chicago
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#130 of 187 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott O'Hare

Property: Chicago Marriott O'Hare
Address: 8535 W Higgins Rd, Chicago, IL 60631-2806
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,954 - ₹ 19,804
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott O'Hare 3.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Chicago without the city price tag. Located near the O'Hare International Airport and 15 miles from downtown, this renowned hotel in the Chicago O'Hare airport area combines the distinguished atmosphere of a Marriott Hotel with modern accommodations and innovative amenities. Visitors to downtown Chicago have 'L'-train access located just one block from this Chicago hotel near the airport, and travelers in search of a Donald E. Stephens Convention Center hotel are only two miles from the facility. A departure from ordinary Chicago Airport hotels, the recently renovated Chicago Marriott O'Hare Airport hotel represents a first-class landing offering convenience, an established reputation and state-of-the-art technology. Each of the Chicago Airport hotel's 470 guest rooms and 10 suites feature high-speed Internet and plush bedding for a restful night's sleep. Discover the renowned Marriott Chicago O'Hare Airport hotel that has been setting the standard in sophisticated performance for over 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Chicago Marriott O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Marriott o`Hare Hotel Chicago
Marriott Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing