We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time and it has improved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #59 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second time and it has improved”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed last weekend for a visit to see my daughter. Looked around on trvel sites and noticed that almost all hotels were booked or very expensive in downtown Chicago. I called the Sheraton hotline and was offered a promotion that I could'nt refuse. I drove from Minneapolis and parked my car at my daughters apartment. We took the Red Line to the hotel. It is a 4 block walk. Not bad. The hotel was sleek and clean in the lobby. There were alot of young couples, as there were a couple of weddings planned for that weekend. Lots of activity and fun people watching. Our room was #809. It was very very nice. It was big for some Chicago hotels. The bed looked inviting (I was tired from the 7 hour drive). We left and went to dinner. After dinner we crashed. The bed was so comfortable. The bathroon was updated with Marble. We used the lobby bar a couple of times and the bartenders were very nice. The front desk was very nice too. It was a perfect time to be in Chicago. This hotel was in a nice location. I have always preferred the Northern side of Michign Avenue (900 block) but I found that there were many many restaurants and bars that were lively and fun. I would recommend going back. Only complaints are: Palying for the use of computer in the lobby (5.00) I tried it and it didnt even let me use sites because of security. Didnt like paying for nothing. I also think that 29.00 is too much for parking. I am glad I didnt have to. The price for drinks and coffee is expensive, but most are at a nice hotels like the Westin.

Room Tip: We had a wonderful room that overlooked the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdenPraireMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    601
    150
    60
    42
See reviews for
270
445
116
796
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at rhe Westin for our first trip to Chicago. The hotel is beautiful, well situated and the people are wonderful. The fitness centre was an especially nice surprise with trainers providingvpersonalized fitness programs at no additional charge. We would definitely chose this hotel for any subsequent trips to The Windy City.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterdownforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I stayed for 5 days. Liked the hotel and the location. however, i felt that something is lacking overall. staff was very helpful. room could have been imporved. Hotel was situlated just beside the river and the view from my river view room was superb. find an exellent pizzeria and indian food restaurant just 5 min walk from the hotel. overall a nice place to stay, however, there are number of alternatives available in the downtown.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms has the best view of the river and bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear DrRaaj,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your visit at The Westin Chicago River North. I am glad to see you were able to take advantage of one of our nice river view rooms. Our location is excellent in terms of views as well as things to do in the River North area. I was happy to hear you took advantage of a couple of the fabulous restaurants in the vicinity. We thank you for you visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Be Well,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed at the Westin River North from July 23-26 2012. I really enjoy the hotel and it's staff. Everyone is so friendly, willing to help, and overall just nice people. I was in room 702 and I think it was one that could use some renovation. The bed was lovely (as expected from a Westin) however, my AC unit was very old. There was a digital thermostat on the wall; however, it did not work and I had to use two dials that were built into the wall. I couldn't regulate the temperature at all, so I asked for the engineering department to come take a look. Turns out, he couldn't do anything either, so they brought up a fan to my room. The customer service was great! But the engineer that came to my room mentioned that my AC unit was original to the building and only some rooms have the digital thermostat working.

Also, there are a few housekeeping issues too. My shower head (again the two heavenly showerheads) were dirty. They looked as if it had never been cleaned.

Other than those two things, I would say the property itself is fine. Just minor renovations needed. I would stay at the property again.

~Melissa

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meliss1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Westin Chicago River North, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Meliss1056,

We thank you for your visit to The Westin Chicago River North. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I can assure you your concerns will be addressed. I was happy to hear your overall stay was fine and that you would stay with us again. We value repeat business. I will be sure to share the nice comments with the team.

Be Well,

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foxboro, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Westin provided a convenient and comfortable stay for myself and my business travelers.
We enjoyed great rooms and service.

Sam, the Personal Trainer in the gym, was very helpful and friendly... attentive and knowledgeable.

The concierge and front desk were also extremely patient and helpful regarding all requests

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmcm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 189 in Chicago
2,481 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Property: The Westin Chicago River North
Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60654-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,880 - ₹ 40,629
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing