We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Chicago River North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin Chicago River North
Ranked #53 of 186 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
springfield, illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Usually we stay up around Water Tower but this part of Chicago has really come into its own with shops and restaurants. And it's not difficult to walk north on Michigan Ave to go to Water Tower etc. The hotel was very nice and the women at the concierge desk was very helpful and patient as was all of the staff. One warning. I parked in a garage close to the hotel thinking it would be cheaper than valet parking ($55). It wasn't. For one day on the weekend I paid $65. Better to park south of the river and take a short walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brukar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    578
    143
    54
    40
See reviews for
250
424
114
767
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was an excellent two night stay. Their staff was intent on pleasing. The workout club is staffed by Sam who is not only personable but keeps the place immaculate. The equipment is brand new and I would rather go there than my home gym which is a comparative mess (LA fitness just bought my Bally's). My business was in the Mart and it was two blocks from there. There is a hotel attached to the Mart and its rate was lower but the Westin is so much better that there was no question of where I was going to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerrenaissance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I prefer staying at Westin hotels when I travel since they offer the most comfortable beds of any hotel chain. Westin's offer consistent high quality service and accommodations. One of the nicest features of this particular Westin is the location and the gym. The gym is not huge, but very clean, well organized, and offers training services by Sam - this is a welcome and great service for those trying to stay (or get) in shape while traveling.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here in January, 2012 and loved the location and comfort of the hotel. The hotel is located directly across the street from the House of Blues and Bin 36. There is a shuttle to and from the convention center which runs every 20 minutes. The bus stop is just down the road. There are plenty of shops and restaurants (Starbucks, too) within walking distance from the hotel. There is a large open bar right in the lobby called the Hana Lounge. The service was a bit slow here and the prices are pretty expensive; but, it's convenient with comfortable seating and televisions screens above the bar. Their restaurant, also off the lobby, called the Ember Grille, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We only had breakfast here on the last day, and it also was quite pricey, with just average service. I would suggest getting up early enough to walk to Starbucks for a more affordable option.
The hotel's gym was quite impressive compared to other hotels. The room was spacious, with a very friendly greeter at the desk, plenty of modern cardio machines, weights and room for stretching.
The best feature of the hotel was the rooms. The view from our room, on the 17th floor, was beautiful and boasted views of the river. Our room was very quiet. There was a king sized bed with a feather bed and it couldn't have been more comfortable. The bathroom was clean and over-sized with plenty of small sized toiletries (including mouthwash) for guest use. The living area of the room had a dresser with TV, a sitting area, and a desk, complete with iPad, for hotel information and directions to local establishments. The hotel offers a "green" choice to decline maid service for a $5 gift certificate or Starwood Points. I thought this was a nice touch.
I would stay in this hotel again, without question. I would have given it five stars if it had better service in the Hana Lounge and Ember Grille.

Room Tip: Room 1720 was very quiet and had beautiful views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is a typical Westin but the people that work there are super friendly and elevate your stay a level. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean and the price was reasonable. I stayed on one of the club levels and definitely recommend it. The rooms are a little nicer, you get free wi-fi, and you don't have to pay for breakfast. The club lounge needs to be a little larger and there could be a larger selection of food but it was adequate. The health club is well laid out with the equipment in working order. The hotel is centrally located making it easy to get to appointments downtown. There is nothing special about this property except the service, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keldes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#18 of 186 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Chicago River North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Chicago River North

Property: The Westin Chicago River North
Address: 320 N. Dearborn Ave., Chicago, IL 60610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,611 - ₹ 34,344
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Chicago River North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Chicago River North allows guests a chance to experience relaxation and renewal while maintaining access to all of their favorite Chicago activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your The Westin Chicago River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Chicago River North Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago River North
Chicago Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing