We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice....but it was paid for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I tagged along to Chicago with my wife while she attended a conference at the Westin. I was prepared to be in un-impressed after reading the reviews of the hotel. Our stay turned out nice. The room was not large, but clean. It was a quiet respite from the busy streets of Chicago. We joined the rewards program upon check in and received free wifi and complimentary water in our room. The elevators were readily available and quick. Leonard, our desk host, was a smooth cat who really knows his business. He was professional beyond measure, helpful, and patient. He is an assets to the Westin Michigan Ave experience.

My wife's company paid for the lodging and I do not know the rate....perhaps my review would be different if I personally paid a premium room rate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taboodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Dear Taboodle,
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you decided to join your wife and stay with us while she was here on business. We hope you will come back and visit us again when you can both relax and enjoy the city. I would especially like to thank you for acknowledging Leonard at the Front Desk; we agree he is an absolute asset to our team.
Be well,
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,913 of 2,640 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

Here's the good... The location is GREAT, right on the Magnificent Mile. I find the staff to be very professional and have no complaints whatsoever. The concierge who was going off duty stayed to assist me. The hotel is hopping, it feels fully booked to me. When I mentioned disappointment of my room, one of the managers sent a bottle of wine with treats and a hand written note. i am in a deluxe king room with a lake view, but because the hotel is booked, there's not much more they could do. Now here's the bad... This property has noted that its been recently renovated. If so, it's window treatment, the carpets, wallpaper, and flat panel TVs. The toilets, shower heads, light switches, lamps, some furniture, etc. have to be upgraded. The reason why the rooms require more work is because the rooms are SMALL. I was told the Heavenly rooms are even smaller. I can't imagine. Not quite the usual Westin room... and I have to say the hallways are pretty bad too. More renovation is needed there. More lighting and ambience? For what it's worth.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
4  Thank rambler0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear rambler0311,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your great experience with our staff. Our recent renovation was a complete overhaul of all our public meeting space, but we value the feedback you shared about your guestroom and are taking your comments to heart. Thank you again and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.
Be well,
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

As soon as you step through the doors you feel welcomed. We arrived 2hrs before check-in (and there was no wait, they had our room ready). The room were very nice and clean. This hotel has a bar located inside.(great place to have a drink and a bite to eat) The hotel is in the middle of the gold coast. There is plenty to do around the hotel, from shopping to dining to just enjoying what the city has to offer. I would stay in again.

Room Tip: We did not stay in our room alot. Just for showers and sleeping, so the room was perfect for what we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dojahkush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed at the Westin for a second visit in May and had a great time. Room was okay with a good view but nothing special. The best part of this hotel next to their location is their Concierge Rhoda..she was amazing. She went over and above to recommend some great spots to visit and eat. She even took the time when we were leaving to write US a thank you card? Very impresses with her service
Ordered room service for breakfast and food was delivered hot and quite yummy. I recommend this hotel for a visit to Chicago because of the impeccable service and great location.

Room Tip: Get a water view if possible on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruceygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Dear bruceygirl,
We are so grateful that you returned for a second visit with us and that you had such a wonderful time. We could not agree with you more about Rhoda, she is amazing! Thank you for letting us know about your experience, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Warm regards,
Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Good, clean room. Excellent location in downtown Chicago. Right next to the Hancock Center and the Water Tower. Booked the room through Hotwire.com and was provided an excellent rate (about $100/night) which is exceptional for downtown Chicago. Lots to see and do in Chicago. The concierge was top notice.

Room Tip: Request a room facing Michigan Avenue if you can. Great location and close enough to walk to most a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMALS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#36 of 192 in Chicago
3,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 909 N Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-1935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Chicago
#17 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 7,370 - ₹ 20,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago is on the Magnificent Mile across from Bloomingdale's and the upscale shops of Water Tower Place. The exhilarating excitement of Chicago is at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago Hotel Chicago
Westin Michigan Ave Hotel Chicago
Westin Chicago
Chicago Westin
Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing