We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, luxury and long-standing service at the Talbott”
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #9 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The fabulous location and top notch service of staff like valet Perry, concierge Gene and bellman Charles remain the heart of the Talbott, which after a multi-million dollar renovation, has a chic, modern feel with more open space and inviting areas for conversation and connection. The rooms feel chic and and somewhat spare comparatively to the gilt of yore, but are equipped with comforts like magnifying makeup mirrors, timed heaters in the bathroom and comfortable beds. The room we stayed in would not have been as comfortable as past iterations of the Talbott for business -- no desk, coffee maker, second chair for an impromptu meeting. But we were in town for fun, so that wasn't much of a concern. Again, simply can't say enough about the committed staff--many of whom who have been there many years, and their passion for the city, hotel and their guests. Great value, and now check out the fun events held in their wonderful new restaurant, 20 E.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariaaV5857IJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTalbott, Chef Concierge at The Talbott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear maria V5857IJ, this review is awesome! I see you mentioned several TEAM members, and we're so fortunate to have them. This review will be shared with their managers. We went through a major renovation earlier this year, and we're excited about the changes. The hotel is now chic, and sophisticated, with a quiet elegance that suits this vibrant Gold Coast neighborhood. We would be happy to send up a desk or coffee maker upon availability. The restaurant 20 East has been getting great reviews from our guests, and locals as well. Thanks again for taking the time to write this review.

G. Murray
Chef Concierge
gmurray@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 3,005 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently spent 4 nights at the Talbott Hotel in Chicago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The staff were personable, knowledgeable and most accommodating. Our room on the 14th floor met our expectations for space and amenities. We would most definitely stay at the Talbott when we return to Chicago.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTalbott, Chef Concierge at The Talbott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Robert R, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We're also happy the room on the 14th floor meet all your needs, with the space and nice amenities. So happy the TEAM was able to accommodate all of your requests in a timely manner. Thanks for staying at the Talbott Hotel.

G. Murray
Chef Concierge
gmurray@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Talbott is a charming Chicago boutique hotel located near some of the city’s best shopping, dining, and scenic attractions. It has all the features most travelers will need without the anonymity and bustle of Chicago’s large hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N987ARwilliamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTalbott, Chef Concierge at The Talbott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello N987ARwilliamc, Thanks for writing this kind review. Our location is one of the best in the city. We're just 2 blocks from the Magnificent Mile, and close to Chicago's most popular restaurants. We would love for you to visit in the near future.

G. Murray
Chef Concierge
gmurray@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a room block (15 rooms) for my wedding weekend at The Talbott and myself and all my family/friends had a great stay! While the rooms are new, modern and comfortable, what made our stay truly special was the kindness of the staff. Everyone we interacted with was friendly and helpful. From the bellhop to concierge to restaurant staff, we had a great experience with each person.

I would also recommend the Talbott because of its great location! While it's close to Michigan Ave and all the great tourist spots in Chicago, it is tucked away on a quiet street. You still feel like you're staying downtown but it isn't as hectic and chaotic as other hotels. There's plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby, including a great restaurant in the hotel.

Thanks to all at the Talbott for making our wedding weekend special!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Megan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTalbott, Chef Concierge at The Talbott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Megan Z, Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We're so happy you allowed us to be part of your special occasion. We strive to give the best customer service possible. We're happy that each encounter with our TEAM was a pleasant one. The Concierge, Front desk agents, and bell/door TEAM wanted your family, and friends to have a memorable stay. Our Location was great for the family members that wanted to enjoy Chicago. Close to the Magnificent Mile, shopping, restaurants, and most of the city's attractions. We appreciate this fabulous review, and allowing us to make your wedding weekend special.

G. Murray
Chef Concierge
gmurray@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had stayed at the Talbott several years ago. Coming back was smashingly agreable. The renovations are a little surprising initially but quite successful. Good sized neat room, comfy beds, but noise a little intrusive.Impeccable staff. Location allows to explore the richness and variety of the Miracle Mile.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torontonian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTalbott, Chef Concierge at The Talbott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Torontonian54, Welcome back! We appreciate you for being such a loyal guest. We are pleased that you think our renovations was done successfully. Our TEAM is always willing to assist. One of our company's core value is feel "Free to Go Beyond". Our TEAM is dedicated to service. Our location is one of the best in the city, close to shopping restaurants and most of the city's attractions. Your feedback is always welcomed, thanks again.

G. Murray
Chef Concierge
gmurray@jdvhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
2,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#28 of 192 in Chicago
4,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611-4938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 8,784 - ₹ 25,255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chicago’s historic Gold Coast district, the newly renovated Talbott Hotel, ranked “best of” by many travel sites, is for those who appreciate the impeccable, the refined, and the clever, all delivered with an elegant wit. Steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue, our hospitality is for guests who savor the finer things but are not interested in formality: Timeless modern architecture, well-appointed but comfortable decor, and exceptional personalized customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing