We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We recenty had 5 nights here, what a wonderful hotel it is if you don't want to stay in one of the big chains, and enjoy personal service. The location is unbeatable, a quick walk to very good shopping and restrauants and bars. The staff could not be more helpful, guiding 2 Australians around the city and even getting us tickets to the Cubs game.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,119
    424
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
524
1,153
116
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Talbott Hotel over Memorial Day weekend. It is a very nice hotel - clean and quiet. I am very picky with hotels, and I'm willing to pay more to guarantee a nice stay. We booked our room on the hotel's website and received vouchers for free breakfast at the hotel restaurant - the food was very good. We didn't have much of a view in our room, but it was modern, clean, and had a lot of nice features. There was a Keurig coffee maker in our room with four cups of coffee (we don't drink coffee, but it was still a nice feature). My boyfriend really liked the Mac Mini computer with free internet, which works with the TV. The room was very quiet - we didn't hear any noise at all. I definitely recommend the Talbott Hotel. One thing to note - if you park in the parking ramp the hotel recommends, which is very close to the hotel, they will provide you with a voucher for parking. The voucher was only $4, so it didn't cover much of the parking cost.

Room Tip: AAA members get a free room upgrade, which is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minn_Girl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Delightful small hotel. The staff members are unusually friendly and helpful. The lobby is intimate and comfortable. The location is perfect for seeing and doing in downtown Chicago in that many places are within walking distance. The carpet in our room was a little worn but not soiled. The room was very clean and cozy. Linens are nice and towels are plush. Good bath products. Enjoyed a lunch here which was quite flavorful. No additional charge for internet. Pool, gym and spa are not in the hotel but at an excellent facility nearby. Room rates are very reasonable for this location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mona12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewlett, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have stayed at the Talbot several times and have always been rewarded with a wonderful experience. Maintaining a high level of performance is never easy but, based on our recent visit to Chicago, they have "kicked it up" to an even higher plateau. You can feel their pride in the property and the genuine desire to satisfy the guests. Bravo for a job well done.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just got back from a stay at The Talbott - we were in Chicago along with another couple. We had a great time - the hotel staff couldn't be better! We were greeted upon arrival with smiles and welcomes - everyone, especially our buddy, Darren, made us feel quite at home (Thank you!!)! The hotel location is excellent - easy walking to anywhere and of course, enough transportation options for the longer excursions. The staff did a good job giving directions and information. Plenty of shopping and food options close to the hotel. Our room was very nice - didn't have the problems with the towels or furniture that were mentioned in an earlier review. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Property: The Talbott Hotel
Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,447 - ₹ 30,179
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're excited to welcome you to the new Talbott, re-opening May 2017. We're currently closed for a full renovation, but will accept reservations starting May 1. Imagine yourself in the heart of downtown Chicago’s effervescent Gold Coast and steps away from the iconic Magnificent Mile on Michigan Avenue. Envision a boutique hotel near the Chicago Loop that blends the charms of a gracious bygone era with opulent hotel accommodations, impeccable service, and unexpected delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing