We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Talbott Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Cass(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 479
US$ 362
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Central Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 737
US$ 564
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 850
US$ 675
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 592
US$ 558
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$ 1,226
US$ 1,091
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 721
US$ 553
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 869
US$ 800
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 727
US$ 692
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 711
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$ 651
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,268)
Filter reviews
3,268 results
Traveller rating
2,578
528
104
37
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,578
528
104
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvtalbot hotelthe gold coastone bedroom suiterush streetthe magnificent mileturn down servicesmall hotelmichigan avenueroom was largethe entire staffwonderful hoteltwo blocksthe location is perfectthe miracle milewater towerhousekeeping staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,666 - 2,671 of 3,268 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Talbott Hotel over Memorial Day weekend. It is a very nice hotel - clean and quiet. I am very picky with hotels, and I'm willing to pay more to guarantee a nice stay. We booked our room on the hotel's website and received vouchers for free breakfast at the hotel restaurant - the food was very good. We didn't have much of a view in our room, but it was modern, clean, and had a lot of nice features. There was a Keurig coffee maker in our room with four cups of coffee (we don't drink coffee, but it was still a nice feature). My boyfriend really liked the Mac Mini computer with free internet, which works with the TV. The room was very quiet - we didn't hear any noise at all. I definitely recommend the Talbott Hotel. One thing to note - if you park in the parking ramp the hotel recommends, which is very close to the hotel, they will provide you with a voucher for parking. The voucher was only $4, so it didn't cover much of the parking cost.

Room Tip: AAA members get a free room upgrade, which is great!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minn_Girl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Delightful small hotel. The staff members are unusually friendly and helpful. The lobby is intimate and comfortable. The location is perfect for seeing and doing in downtown Chicago in that many places are within walking distance. The carpet in our room was a little worn but not soiled. The room was very clean and cozy. Linens are nice and towels are plush. Good bath products. Enjoyed a lunch here which was quite flavorful. No additional charge for internet. Pool, gym and spa are not in the hotel but at an excellent facility nearby. Room rates are very reasonable for this location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mona12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We have stayed at the Talbot several times and have always been rewarded with a wonderful experience. Maintaining a high level of performance is never easy but, based on our recent visit to Chicago, they have "kicked it up" to an even higher plateau. You can feel their pride in the property and the genuine desire to satisfy the guests. Bravo for a job well done.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Just got back from a stay at The Talbott - we were in Chicago along with another couple. We had a great time - the hotel staff couldn't be better! We were greeted upon arrival with smiles and welcomes - everyone, especially our buddy, Darren, made us feel quite at home (Thank you!!)! The hotel location is excellent - easy walking to anywhere and of course, enough transportation options for the longer excursions. The staff did a good job giving directions and information. Plenty of shopping and food options close to the hotel. Our room was very nice - didn't have the problems with the towels or furniture that were mentioned in an earlier review. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The Talbott Hotel itself is a bit worn around the edges. No - not a bit worn - very much so I'm sorry to say. Although the location a block and a half from the best part of Michigan Ave. can't be beat, and the level of service is on par with many Four Seasons, there were quite a few bumps in the road. Number one, the rooms are quite dreary - brown on brown is just so not pleasing. The desk chair was so badly worn that the "lift" button simply swirled down when you sat in it and no we're not grossly obese. The back of the chair leaned so much it was uncomfortable. My husband had to use 2 couch pillows to use it - one to get him up to desk heighth, one up against his back to scoot him up to the desk. The bathroom was oddly arranged so that the door swung up right next to the sink, so if you were using the far sink and someone needed to enter the bathroom you got hit with the door. The towels were very well worn and thin, although bath sized, which was a plus. The restaurant downstairs is practically another posting - suffice to say, it was horrific. We had some appetizers outside on the nice streetside tables, and they (appetizers) were awful and looked as though a child had tossed them together in the kitchen. A room service sandwich ordered later in our visit was totally wet on the side, served on a large white plate, and was one slice of meat and one slice of plastic American cheese on a grocery store-like roll - very very sad. Even the menu, as limited as it was, looked as though someone's child had written it out. The good news is that Chicago is a fairly well-read restaurant town so there are plenty of other places to go. Unfortunately for us, the 3 days we stayed there was a large convention and jazz festival in town so we paid $325/nt for our disappointments.
The good news is that the mini bars' wares were incredibly well-priced - when's the last time you had a $4 beer anywhere in a hotel? (even if it was Bud and Bud lite - lol!~) The front desk and curbside staff could not have been more accommodating. The water out of the shower was hot and plentiful, and the bed comfortable. The A/C was not noisy nor uncomfortable whatsoever, and we had it going the entire time as it was in the 90's our entire stay. Free wi-fi - YES! And it wasn't horribly grindingly slow! No need for the advertised "upgrade" for faster wi-fi.
Talbott - please update your rooms and get a new restaurant concept and you will be ahead of the game. Apparently there are enough folks getting deals on rooms here so they are pleased, but we were sadly not.

Room Tip: We had a corner king which apparently was less dark than others, even though the dark curtains and swags didn't let much light in.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanfrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews