We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Hotel in Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #59 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
1,576 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel in Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

My first stay at the Renaissance was a very good one. Usually I am closer to the lake or downtown on Michigan Avenue, but my conference was scheduled here. Nicely appointed rooms and common areas provide the backdrop for a comfortable stay. Excellent service by an enthusiastic staff with attention to your needs and questions. Good food for breakfast and lunch during the conference. Lively bar just off the lobby with a full array of wines by the glass. Ask for a room that overlooks the river on the north side and you will feel right at home in Chicago.(Use you imagination and you will see Steve McQueen driving out of one of the circular garages just across the river!) Good accessibility to the Loop and Michigan Avenue makes this a hotel to revisit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffl499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    567
    154
    46
    24
See reviews for
306
368
78
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my Dad for a weekend trip to Chicago. The hotel is conveniently located next to the "L" train stop of State & Lake. It is literally a 100 foot walk from the train station to the hotel doors. We utilized the train system extensively: he caught the blue line to O'Hare, I caught the Orange line to Midway, we did the Red Line Shuffle - taking it northbound to the Cubs game (Addison stop for Wrigley Field) and southbound to the White Sox game (Sox-35th for US Cellular).
The hotel has a nice coffee shop on the lobby level but also has a Starbucks located inside the "Shops" area. On the south side of the building just down the stairs there are several shops including an Asian noodle/bun place, Starbucks, a Chase bank, a salon, and several smaller retailers. If you progress westward through the shops area there is a 7-11 located just outside the building on the other side of the street (very convenient for bottled waters, toiletries, etc.) Bottled waters in the room cost $4 and there is no mini-fridge in the room we stayed in (21st floor).
We had a very nice room with two queen beds, a large bathroom, and ample closet space. The rooms are nicely appointed and are about what you would expect from this hotel class. Beds were comfy and there were lots of pillows. The view was very nice: We could see the Chicago River and Trump Tower to the north of us and the Chicago Theater to the south of us. This was a perfect hotel for our trip.

Note: If you are taking the double decker bus tour the hotel is conveniently located next to stop #14. We used the double decker buses throughout our trip just to get around the city to major landmarks. They run frequently but not all day. The "Signature tour" ends around 5pm during the summer months.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I have stayed at this location twice during the past month. We are Marriott platinum members and rarely do we get as nice as upgrade as we did at this location. Each time we were upgraded to a king suite on the river. My family enjoyed watching the traffic going up and down the river. The location is at Wacker and State Street. To reach the Water Tower Place it is 1 mile away or a 20 minute walk but consider heading out the back door to State Street. You are 2-3 blocks to the old Marshall Field (now Macy's) Nordstrom Rack, Anthopologie, Puma and other stores that you would find on Michigan Avenue. If you head out the front doors go across the street and head down the stairs for a scenic walk along the lower river. This location is also close to the art museum and millennium park which is about a 10-20 minute walk.

Pro's: great restaurants within 3-4 blocks, comfortable beds, helpful staff, nice warm pool for the kids, workout room, stretching room, awaiting cabs, close to bus route, subway and the "L"

Con's: some rooms away from the river are over the "L" which are noisy

You might want to consider paying for the concierge floor. They have 3 meal presentations. Breakfast with eggs, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, bakery goods, juice, coffee. Hors d'oeuvres included bacon wrapped scallops, spring rolls, veggies, cheese and crackers, fresh salad with heirloom tomatoes. Pastries & desserts offer pies, cakes and cookies.

The facility is updated, hip and trendy.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the 'L"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mastercraft7122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Don't bother renting a car if you're going to stay at this hotel. You can walk to all the main attractions including Lake, art institute Michigan Ave etc. it's also short walk or short taxi ride to literally dozens of good restaurants around and Chicago is a foodies delight.

The hotel is well run and the staff are very helpful. The building itself is a beautiful old facility that has been carefully upgraded and tastefully finished. Breakfast buffet is a treat in a well lit glass ensconced second floor restaurant with a great selection and lovely views overlooking the Chicago River

The executive club lounge is a little disappointingly small and the breakfast and unhelpful service there is the only flaw in the hotel. We went to the main breakfast restaurant after this instead This area needs an urgent management review in an otherwise well run and well located property

Room Tip: Get a high floor room overlooking the river, not city view if you can Quieter and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

My first stay while here on business was a good one. I got a large suite overlooking the river. The lobby was nice and although I didn't try the bar it looked pretty cool. Great location with lots of nearby restaurants.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Francesjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,294 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
JW Marriott Chicago
JW Marriott Chicago
#40 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#15 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
LondonHouse Chicago, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,976 - ₹ 35,903
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing