We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great views and staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Ranked #55 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Halstead, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great views and staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. It was very clean, the staff were extremely friendly and the queen beds were great. The view of the river was incredible. The only drawback that we had to this hotel was there was not a refrigerator / microwave.

Room Tip: Pick the River view rooms. It is worth the extra price. Lots of people complained about the ambula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSFamily361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    553
    152
    45
    22
See reviews for
296
356
78
558
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, MO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We arrived 4 hours before check in time. The front desk staff accommodated us quickly and managed to find a room for us. We used the concierge service for our dinner choice and directions. The restaurant suggested was perfect for our family - 16 year old girl and 7 year old boy! Excellent service from everyone at the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katdodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
199 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I had thought the Renaissance in Chicago would be another run of the mill Marriott group down town hotels with a modernisation requirement and reactive service - but - I was wrong. All the open areas of the hotel have been decorated in a modern style and the bar + restaurant is all in good condition, modern decor serving good food and drinks. Service is friendly and professional (could be moved up a notch in some areas, especially around the reception but in general its fine).

The rooms are pretty spacious, nicely decorated in a modern style and the bathrooms are larger than average. My bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed the room during my stay (it was on the back end of an international trip so I was getting pretty picky about things - so that's a positive).

Location is great, just on the river.

Executive club is larger than normal, with good service and great views over the river.

Gym is well equipped, has pool and sauna.

All in all a good hotel in a good location. If you are looking for a relaxing and good stay in downtown chicago at a solid 4 star hotel then this is a good pick.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed for two nights in July on business. Everything was pretty much as expected. Check-in was very smooth - efficient but not overly friendly. The room was what I requested, and quite large - room for a sofa in the bay window. There's nothing extraordinary about the decor, but that's not a bad thing, especially when traveling for business. The only complaint I have is that there were no outlets close to the bed where I could charge my phone, which I also use as an alarm clock. To me, that's should be standard.

The bathroom was large too, with a nice layout. They weren't terribly generous with the amenities (no shower cap, no q-tips). We asked the concierge for a recommendation for a quick, but decent lunch, and she didn't have too much to offer. That is an area that could be improved. Free internet access is in the lobby only. I did not have time to use any facilities, but got a quick look - gym seemed okay w/decent equipment. The coffee shop in the lobby wasn't great - small, not very well stocked, but the staff was nice.

The bed was comfortable, and the air conditioning worked very well. I could hear the occasional door slam in the hall, but nothing from the adjacent rooms. I could hear the El trains early in the morning, but that's big city living.

My only real complaint was about housekeeping. There was what looked like a melted piece of candy in the carpet in several spots, with what looked like only a half-hearted attempt to clean it up. It was kind of nasty and I had to go out of my way to avoid the spots for fear of stepping in it. Also, it was clear that they did not clean the shower/bath properly - stray hairs were clinging to the wall of the shower/bath the entire stay, and it was definitely not mine. Yuck.

Other than the housekeeping glitches, this is a good option for downtown Chicago

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank just up and go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

Was recently there on business. I know Chicago very well from many past visits. This was my forst time at Renaissance, however. Good location in theater district, Art Institute, river and Michigan Ave shops. Very attentive staff, accomodated a couple of special requests. Nice, quiet roooms, nice bar.

My only compaint is the wi-fi service. Incredibly cumbersome, substandard. Multiple calls to Help Desk, etc. Not what one would expect in an otherwise upscale hotel...

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
theWit - A DoubleTree by Hilton
Near North Side
The Westin Chicago River North
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#11 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,073 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
Kimpton Burnham Hotel
#21 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel
Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#22 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,500 - ₹ 33,820
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merging the business of the Loop with the pleasure of State Street and Chicago’s Theater District, the newly renovated Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel invites discovery at every turn. Winner of a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence, the Renaissance Chicago enthralls from the moment you enter the lobby – featuring a VIP Club Lounge, Artist Studio, Coffee Bar and Library. Unwind and revitalize in one of the 520 guestrooms and 40 suites featuring unique amenities with marble accents complimented by skyline views of the city's architecture. Wind down inside this luxury hotel in Chicago’s Rejuvenation Center boasting a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience this downtown Chicago hotel’s distinctive and hip scene with local flair, delectable dishes and creative cocktails. This premier Chicago theater hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining, the theater district, and famed Millennium Park. Your own Windy City experience awaits at this downtown Chicago boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance
Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing