We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, sub par accounting”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
Ranked #7 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, sub par accounting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I recently booked a night at the Park Hyatt via jetsetter. The hotel was in a great location and the rooms were great. Spacious, clean, and the decor was modern and stylish. The big negative negative was being double charged. Upon checking out, the front desk clerk said I was all set since I booked it on jetsetter, I told her I noticed a pending charge for the room and she said it would drop off and I wouldn't be charged since I had paid ahead of time. That wasn't the case. Now I have to call accounting (during business hours), and work with them to remove the charge. It's a shame, it was definitely one of the nicest hotels, but because of this I will not return or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jestrada13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We do apologize to have failed to exceed your expectations and for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We have reached out to our Accounting Department as well as our Front Desk Team to review this error. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the appropriate associates to avoid a reoccurrence. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,191
    244
    68
    19
    9
See reviews for
272
505
84
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

If I were told i could only stay at one hotel the rest of my life, this would be it.

I have averaged +75 hotel nights per year for the last 15 years. I've stayed in everything from a Hampton inn to the Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, Penninsula and everything in between. I've seen awful and experienced flawless. THIS is flawless. I've stayed at this Park Hyatt over 10 different times. I've never had so much as an unpleasant moment at this property. Everything is decorated and/or performed at an outstanding yet unprententious level. Quiet dignity. Even the housekeepers are quiet: no noisy carts...
Rooms are suuuuupperr comfortable. Fluffy down duvets, modern bathrooms with tubs that can be entered directly from the bedroom or bathroom. This property is quiet, which I really appreciate in a noisy city. Higher floors are even more quiet, but I've never had a bad room anywhere. Try to get a lake view if possible. Room service is expensive and worth it, though there are many great eateries right outside your door. (including GHIRADELLI ice cream!) this property is convenient to several top tier stores in the area including Polo, and American Girl...
Work out facility is great w excellent locker rooms and spa services... I could go on and on.., this is an amazing place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you have repeatedly stayed with us and enjoyed our amenities and services. We take pride in delivering the best customer service to our guests and your satisfaction is our reward. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Truly exceptional experience! Hotel facilities and amenities, and room furnishings are outstanding, staff knowledgeable, helpful, most elegant in manner... All-around a most wonderful experience!!!

As a long-time world traveler, the Chicago Park Hyatt is a gem - I will not stay anywhere else when in Chicago, anymore... My girlfriend was equally impressed!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our amenities and services. We take pride in delivering the best customer service to our guests and your satisfaction is our reward. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The hotel is quite nice, furnished beautifully. Very comfortable and soothing. Fantastic views facing the lake and the city. Very good service. Food excellent. Very nice Fitness Center, too. No complaints!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our amenities and services. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Its like walking into a different era. The hotel was spectacular in very sense of the word. The staff were excellent, the rooms were nice size and very comfortable, the food was excellent too. The entire experience was memorable and as a Diamond member I was treated like a King. These hotel experiences are what makes my often business travel so comfortable and relaxed and not feel like I am traveling for business.

If you like Michigan Avenue shopping this hotel property is located right at the beginning of the "Miracle Mile" - so you are right in the middle of all the action.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globbiztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our amenities and services. We take pride in delivering the best customer service to our guests and your satisfaction is our reward. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Streeterville
The Ritz-Carlton, Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Property: Park Hyatt Chicago
Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611-2105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,547 - ₹ 43,791
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing