We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #70 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The location was amazing. The concierge was really great. She pointed out a wonderful breakfast restaurant that was within walking distance. The room was clean and the bed really comfortable. The only complaint was they didn't tell us when booking the pool would be closed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owlyshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We appreciate your feedback, we apologize for the pool being closed during your most recent visit, as we know it is one our best amenities. We have fantastic news, the pool has reopened!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,072
    1,461
    563
    224
    154
See reviews for
908
1,093
225
1,575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I believe it is an old building, its really good located, it is some blocks from the rivers and 6 blocks from the harbor, shops and nice restaurants around, if you want party there are blues bars few blocks in the windy city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff-tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed here for a business conference, and the location is fabulous. We walked everywhere (conference locations were at two business schools in the area). Great shopping and across the street from the Purple Pig (fantastic small plates and wine bar).

The rooms are nice - standard features. WiFi charges are expensive ($18/day) and the pool was closed/under renovation. Apparently the pool is famous for having been in movie scenes but I didn't get to see it.

The fitness room also has a daily charge, so I didn't use it. But a colleague did, and she said it was fine, but it had no windows.

Reception staff was very nice at check-in. It is a very large hotel, but you don't see many people except while walking in and out of the hotel.

Great location, nice for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Michigan Avenue for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amoagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for the 4 Star Review and wonderful feedback. Good news, the pool is now open and better than ever. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My extended family and I spent a birthday celebratory weekend at the Intercontinental and it was wonderful. All members of the staff were eager to help and kind, the rooms were perfect for us, the property is in a great location, and the views from the room windows were entertainment themselves. And the pool - amazing!! No one wanted to leave. It was a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisacromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback and 5 Star Review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Just spent there days there for a meeting. Great location and the front staff is very nice. But the physical structure is a big disappointment. Our room was tiny and felt long over due for a renovation. The bathrooms were old and small and industrial feeling.

We stayed on the side where the elevators go up to the 26th floor. There is another tower which goes higher and that side may be better. I would not stay here again unless I know they have renovated.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinental_CHI, Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We appreciate your feedback and hope for an opportunity to discuss, with you, your most recent visit. Please message us your contact information so we can set up the best time to talk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#32 of 190 in Chicago
3,394 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#9 of 190 in Chicago
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,867 - ₹ 29,023
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 872
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing