We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic location, service, and accommodations.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental Chicago
Ranked #71 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, service, and accommodations.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We reserved this room on Hotwire for $140. Quite a bargain for a great room with a fantastic location. Room was well appointed and comfortable. Starbucks in the lobby was convenient. Room service was delicious, but super expensive(to be expected though). We were very happy with our experience.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank fleamarketfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,852
    1,333
    534
    206
    136
See reviews for
820
1,018
209
1,386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Incredible location right on Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, just a couple of blocks north of the river. Shopping, eateries, and attractions all closeby.

Our room in the new tower was clean and decent size for Chicago (where the average hotel room is tiny) with a small but adequate bathroom. An in-room kiosk with internet service is nice for viewing information about the hotel and area attractions, etc. A guest has the ability to check out using the kiosk, but we did not since we had bags for the bell stand to hold.

Navigating between the historic and new towers was confusing (the pool and fitness area are located in the historic tower), as the stairs and elevators don't service all floors of both towers (I take the stairs whenever possible). Looked exhaustively for an ice machine but had to call the front desk to ask nearest location (wasn't listed on map or in hotel binder in room); nearest location was 7th floor—we were on the 17th! This was very inconvenient.

We got a very good (internet) rate (and on top of that got a AAA discount) on a busy weekend (spring break/Easter) and we not charged for anything we didn't receive—but be careful since you'll pay hidden fees if you use the minibar, WiFi, etc. Used valet parking due to arriving late and not being able to arrive via commuter train. It was expensive ($57—but normal for the area) but the service was AWESOME and quick and I was confident my car was safe as it was in an enclosed, underground garage. When we were ready to leave and collect our vehicle, it took mere minutes and we were downstairs in the parking garage and checking out our car was seamless. Very nice and convenient.

The staff was pleasant and accommodating, both during check-in and check-out, and the concierge was very helpful when we inquired about good local cuisine that's not well-known to tourists. We had a great experience at dinner on the advice of the nice gentleman helping us!

ONLY NEGATIVE: While the pool facility is beautiful (very large, Grecian-inspired with lots of seating and cool, elevated viewing area—see pic on website), my kids encountered COCKROACHES in and around the pool area. I didn't swim, but noticed the insects were very large and alive when pointed out to me. This ruined the experience for my kids and it's the one thing they remember and tell everyone when asked how their spring break stay was in Chicago. :-(

Room Tip: Requested an upper floor room for noise reduction; we were on the 17th floor and it was quiet PLUS w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Goldlocks,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. We hope you enjoyed your vacation and are glad to hear you were happy with the hotel location, accommodations and amenities. Whilst I am pleased with the really good comments, I truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We are very sorry for the condition of the pool area during your stay. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27709473
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here for a few nights while attending a conference at the hotel. First off the location of the hotel is awesome. It is right on Michigan Ave "Miracle Mile", just north of the Chicago river and about 4 blocks from Navy Pier.

Check in was quick and easy. The hotel is alittle confusing because half of the hotel is the orignal historic section, the other half a newer tower.

I had a king bed in the newer tower on the 21st floor. Had a nice view of the city and the lake. The room was small, but clean and fresh.

As part of the conference I received a free starbucks coffee from the location in the lobby as well as free wifi.

The hotel has Michael Jordans restaurant in the lobby. We had lunch there one afternoon and the cheeseburgers were incredible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perryfamilyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel is right on Michigan Ave. so you can enjoy all the shopping, restaurants, by just stepping out the door and walking. The staff is very pleasant - definitely well trained! Michael Jordan's steakhouse is right downstairs, plus there is a Starbucks downstairs as well. The pillows were quite comfortable too! Chicago is just such a lovely city and the Intercontinental made it even better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funkydread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

It finally happened. After years of booking with Hotwire I finally got a hotel that I hated. I booked a 4.5-star hotel in Chicago and was given the Intercontinental Hotel on North Michigan Avenue. Tired, shabby, dreary, and needlessly expensive. There were no vending machines on premises according to the front desk, which was delighted to tel us that room service was available 24 hours (a can of soda would have been $11 after room service fees, gratuities, and taxes. The room furnishing were scuffed, scratched, and in poor working order. The bed linens were tattered. We had bath towels with holes big enough to put my thumb through. All-in-all, a sad excuse for a hotel with the star rating this one has.

I know not to expect the best room in the house when I book on Hotwire. But this place was ridiculous. I was expecting something at least as nice as The Wit, the Chicago Hyatt, or even the Hilton Suites Chicago, all of which I have booked on Hotwire and also which have lower star-value ratings.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarComTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Chicago, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear MarComTraveler,

Thank you for your review of your stay. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#29 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Chicago

Property: InterContinental Chicago
Address: 505 North Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60611-3827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Chicago
#44 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,056 - ₹ 35,570
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 844
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Chicago is a lot like the city itself: historic but hip, refined but relaxed, cultured but comfortable. A member of Michigan Avenue s architectural elite since 1929, our hotel is within easy reach of Chicago s incomparable museums, stores, theatres and restaurants. Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium and Oak Street Beach are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing