We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #84 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Happy with our stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We were happy with our stay & would definitely come back! The hotel is a good location right off of Michigan Ave, along Riverwalk, with views of Navy Pier from some rooms. We stayed for 3 nights & all staff we encountered were friendly & helpful, which is amazing for such a big hotel. People at front desk accommodated all of our needs, were friendly & patient. The concierge was knowledgeable & very helpful in directions, reservations, and advice. Valet parking was quick & less stressful than other Chicago hotels because of being off Michigan Ave and because there is a small parking area in front of hotel. The rooms are average but two of the three rooms that our group had had great views of the river and/or Navy Pier. We really enjoyed visiting BIG Bar & O'S Pub- both which are right in the hotel. One downside is the daily charge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIdwestMom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
It's great to hear that our downtown Chicago location right off of Michigan Ave, along the Chicago River suited your stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. Upon your return join us on Facebook to save on Wi-Fi. Ask us about our Word of the Week. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,398
    2,484
    992
    375
    207
See reviews for
979
1,364
317
2,751
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was my 3rd visit to the hotel for business. I used priceline to get a great deal most recently.
Self-parked which left a maze to get back to hotel. Felt I needed to leave some bread crumbs to find my way back!
Used the convenient self-serve kiosk near the check-in counters to check-in and get key.
Pros: comfortable bed. last trip gave me a great view of the river/wrigley building.
Cons: felt compelled to write a review this time due to my less-than clean room. I found several stray hairs in the bathroom and on bed linens. The toilet, sadly, was not fully cleaned either.

Overall: prefer to stay somewhere else during next visit.

Room Tip: loved my view of the wrigley building and river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_p_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashotah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt for a week on business and it was such a great experience. From the moment you pull up you are greeted by friendly doormen and walk into an open lobby/restaurant area with water and plant-life. What really makes this place great is the staff. Nataly was my friendly front desk person and she was so helpful and explained everything thoroughly and without getting impatient or annoyed, which I've experienced before. I had a corner room on the 20-something floor and what a great view of the city!

Being there for a week on business, all I wanted to do was come home and crash, but the energy in this hotel makes you want to go stop at the "Big" bar for a evening drink. The prices are a bit high, but that's expected staying downtown Chicago at a big name hotel. They do have reasonable dry-cleaning as I only paid $10 for a winter jacket and another $10 for a few boxers and socks.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. A quick walk to several great restaurants, bars and shops!

Room Tip: Top floors are always my choice. The corner room was very spacious with a great view! I was in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago. We are so happy to read that you found the service to be so complimentary of your stay. I passed along your lovely comments regarding Nataly. Her supervisor was very pleased to see your mention of her. Thanks for your recommend for both business and pleasure trips to downtown Chicago. We really look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel is in a good location right on the river, near all of Chicago's main attractions. The hotel is gigantic and a little confusing at first because there are two separate buildings. They were able to accommodate an early check-in without a fee which was very nice. The room is nicely renovated, but the ceilings are not very tall. We could hear our neighbors next door; walls are thin.The gym is nice; excellent machines, and very large for a hotel gym. The restaurant had an excellent breakfast buffet not included in the room fee, it had everything you could ever want (eggs, omelets, pancakes, fresh fruit, muffins, pastries, and healthy options). The staff was friendly and accommodating but you must pay for internet, even in the lobby (such a bummer). the only negative experience was during a call to the hotel operator for some information and items requests. she was not friendly and very short. the items did arrive quickly though. and personally, i think the shampoo and other bathroom supplies smell cheap, but that is nitpicking. The hotel is really nice, and we would come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brown Deer, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I don't want to reiterate too much of what others have said, but just touch briefly on some pros and cons to this location.

Pros:
- Great location, right by Michigan Ave/Magnificent Mile, Millenium Park, and just a few miles from Shedd Aquarium/Adler Planetarium/Field Museum
- Nice views from higher floors
- Spacious lobbies with multiple bars, food joints, and a small mall within a short indoor walking distance
- Bathroom showers are nice and spacious
- 24-hour fitness location
- Friendly and helpful staff

Cons:
- Internet is $10/night (I have to take off a star for this alone, even the cheapest of cheap hotels tend to have free wi-fi or hard-line ethernet!)
- Elevators can be woefully inadequate and cause 5-10 minute wait times, though in fairness I was here during a huge conference
- Layout is a bit confusing and the maps provided aren't the most helpful
- No room amenities, at least not in my room, which I paid over $250/night for after taxes (especially compared to the Comfort Inn & Suites around the corner, which had much better rooms for much lower prices)
- No pool or spa, though there are some expensive spas in the Illinois Center mall area
- Rooms are small and cramped for just two people

My parents had to stay around the corner and told me what price they paid and the amenities they had in-room. I would much rather have stayed there and walked for my conference needs, as it takes no more than 3-5 minutes to get from one hotel to the other.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hend6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#20 of 189 in Chicago
4,522 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#59 of 189 in Chicago
3,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#67 of 189 in Chicago
4,914 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,666 - ₹ 30,125
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing