We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Top rate hotel - right in the middle of everything downtown.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #79 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
471 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Top rate hotel - right in the middle of everything downtown.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed 4 days for a conference - nice hotel picturesque main lobby large lower level conference center. Don't prefer valet parking which they told us only thing available- there close by self park - but changed my mind when the chaos of leaving at 4 on Saturday happened. We were checking out and the clerk asked if she could have them bring our car out front. She told us it would be 15 minutes and it was on the second. Also it was backed in right next to the door aimed out the drive and several colleagues were waiting extended times which we avoided. top shelf check out. Our TV did not work first night and one cal 5 minutes later a delightful gent named Angel came up and figured it out fixed in 5 minutes. We had room 2122 which has a spectacular East view down the river over the locks and part of Navy pier which was super. Only thing striking was the very slow service in the 151 bar but the Irish pub Daddyo's was great. Food in both venues very good.

Room Tip: rooms in West tower ending in 22 upper floors great river to lake view of sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeJennyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago for your business trip. We are so pleased to read this review on TripAdvisor, thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I have passed your comments along about Angel for much internal praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for another business trip downtown Chicago. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,066
    2,304
    904
    332
    185
See reviews for
886
1,260
305
2,336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I recently stayed at the Hyatt with my wife and 3 year old daughter for 1 night.

We arrived at the hotel at around 12:30 pm. The front desk staff was very warm and welcoming. They were able to check us into a room in the "West" tower without any wait or hastle. (I booked the room using a Priceline bid and scored a fabulous deal)

The room was very very clean and tastefully decorated. The Beds were extra comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and all furniture was in great shape. We had a very nice view of the River.

I also really liked the location of the hotel. You're close enough to Michigan Ave., without having to deal with all of the hustle and bustle of the crowds around the hotel. We grabbed fruit and goodies from Dominick's Market which was very close.

Ask for a room away from the elevator if you are placed in the "West" Tower. I had a room that shared a wall with the elevator last time I stayed here....and it sounded like a freight train was chugging through your room every time the elevator zoomed by! (They were gracious enough to move me last time without any incident)

I would absolutely stay at this hotel on my next trip to Chicago!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator if you are staying in the West Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fan-tastic-media
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
It's wonderful to see how satisfied you were with your family stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago. We are so thankful that you choose to stay with us and that you took the time to write this review. Looking forward to welcoming you back upon your return to downtown Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls,SD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a fabulous experience at the Hyatt Regency for St. Patrick's day! The location is amazing as it is next to the river, only blocks from the parade and Irish pubs are within walking distance. The Big Bar was swirling with people yet was very well staffed for the event and there was no waiting for a green beer!
As we flew in from Ohare, we were also able to take the train and only a 8 block walk led us directly to the hotel. The bellmen were fantastic for storing our luggage and the concierge pointed us to busses that led us to the Sears Tower and Macy's.
I would say that the Hyatt was perfect in every aspect of a St. Patrick's weekend-exceptional location, friendly service and a fair price for a big event.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel for Chicago St. Patrick's Day. We are so pleased that you found Hyatt Regency Chicago to be near the parade and Irish pubs downtown Chicago. We hope to welcome you back for many more festivities in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Huge hotel, but our car was quickly valet parked and we were quickly checked in on a busy weekend. The champagne we requested was delivered on time as were additional towels we requested. We loved the Ipod Dock radios in the room. Downside was the mini fridge that was really a mini bar we couldn't take anything out of for our own leftovers. Thanks to the tip we got from other TripAdvisor reviews, we got the "password" on their Facebook page to get $15 off nightly parking rate of $50 and Free wi-fi for 24 hours.

We walked to Millennium Park, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, as well as to Brunch at LuxBar, Dinner at Mercadito, many stores and bars.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Happy to hear that you stopped by our Facebook page for the Word of the Week! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you and your friends had such a lovely time walking to Millennium Park, Navy Pier, and Magnificent Mile. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Hyatt Chicago was a great stay. I was here for a conference and stayed four nights. The lobby, though often very busy and noisy, was cool spot to hang out with a 24 hour coffee bar. The location of the hotel is pretty good-- a little bit of a walk to restaurants etc, but nearby Millenuim park and a great walking/running trail near the water. Rooms were nice size, clean and updated. Even on the 24th floor, the views are often still of the inside of other buildings but something that can't be helped in a large city center. Rooms and corridors were surprisingly quiet. Check in was quick and easy. Service was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellogoodbye_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing to stay at our Chicago hotel. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago. Glad that the service was such a compliment to your trip. We look forward to hosting you downtown Chicago again in the future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#63 of 189 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,664 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#65 of 189 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,635 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,691 - ₹ 27,022
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing