We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great windy city pick!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Ranked #87 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A great windy city pick!”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Hyatt Chicago was a great stay. I was here for a conference and stayed four nights. The lobby, though often very busy and noisy, was cool spot to hang out with a 24 hour coffee bar. The location of the hotel is pretty good-- a little bit of a walk to restaurants etc, but nearby Millenuim park and a great walking/running trail near the water. Rooms were nice size, clean and updated. Even on the 24th floor, the views are often still of the inside of other buildings but something that can't be helped in a large city center. Rooms and corridors were surprisingly quiet. Check in was quick and easy. Service was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellogoodbye_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing to stay at our Chicago hotel. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Regency Chicago. Glad that the service was such a compliment to your trip. We look forward to hosting you downtown Chicago again in the future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,458
    2,526
    1,018
    383
    208
See reviews for
1,009
1,383
319
2,819
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
1,695 reviews
272 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I've stayed at this hotel before, but not in a few years.

Excellent location right off Michigan on the river. Quieter area in downtown.

Hotel is just OK looking from the outside.

Rooms are of good size, in good order with everything working well. Bathroom is nice size and very modern. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

I was on the 25th floor and had a view of another building to the south.

I stayed for 3 night during conference. The facilities were good and the food was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at Hyatt Regency Chicago and for giving your feedback on TripAdvisor. It's lovely to read that you found our location right off Michigan Avenue on the Chicago River to be such a compliment to your trip. Downtown Chicago proximity is key! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

It's a Hyatt so it starts off ahead of many hotel chains, but this particular location is showing its age. Let's start with the pros: There are several places to eat including a "grab and go" location with bagels and pastries and Starbuck's Coffee. There is a gift shop with necessities if you forgot to pack something or had it confiscated at the airport security line. There is a really nice fitness center (although you have to search for it!) It is decently located near some very nice locations for entertainment and dining outside of the Hyatt. Cons: the beds are lumpy. The decor is worn and the carpets are moving towards threadbare. The lighting in the rooms is awful (how about a bulb higher than 40 watts please?) the bathroom layout does not utilize the space well. there is a small sink with limited surface area, no other area to put toiletries and hair care appliances, the pipes rattle in the wall when the shower is turned on and the most annoying thing of all...you have to pay for wifi! not only that, but you have to pay a rediculous amount of money for wifi if you want to do anything more than "light e-mails". That is directly from the Hyatt wifi web page. It's $9.99 for the basic package which only gives you wifi in your room, and only suggested for light e-mail and web surfing use. then there is the $14.99 package for wifi that will handle VPN access (for work) and then it is only available in the room and in restaurants (and a few other random places). If you want wifi in the meeting rooms they really bang you hard for $39.95. Obscene! Shame on you Hyatt!

I have been staying at the La Quinta in Chicago for business and I have to say the beds are more comfortable there, the decor is updated (although it reminds me of IKEA) the rooms are VERY clean and THERE IS FREE WIFI WHEREVER YOU GO IN THE HOTEL!!!! No, there are no restaurants or bars in the hotel. and it is a bit noisier than the Hyatt. but I'll be staying at the La Quinta in the future. I'd rather have a comfortable bed and free wifi than restaurants and a bar. I can walk right outside of the La Quinta for that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwindh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed here this week for Corporate meetings. Hotel has an older, dated look from the outside, but the rooms were clean, up to date and the overall service was very good. Good view of the river. Very good beds and modern bathroom fixtures. Good wireless signal in the rooms.

Great location on Wacker downtown--very close to most everything. The bars and restaurants aren't truly 'destination' quality, but the service was very good while I was on-property. Decent walk-up coffee bar on the street level.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b_radley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your business trip and taking the time to write this review. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed our newly renovated guestrooms at Hyatt Regency Chicago. Hopefully we can welcome you back for a personal trip upon your return to downtown Chicago. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This is in a prime spot in the middle of the city, with nice views of the river and close access to a river walk. Plenty of restaurants and nightlife within walking distance of the hotel. I stayed in king bed room and it was set up nicely, with an area to work, comfortable bed, flatscreen, etc. Hotel decor has a boutique feel to it. The hotel overall is pretty massive and a bit of a maze to find your way around, particularly if you are attending a conference here. There's a coffee kiosk set up on the 1st floor to grab a quick Starbucks and muffin in the AM. The gym is set up well, with newer machines. Across from the fitness center is the Spa Di La Fronza, where I wandered in and asked to schedule a massage. Lillian took care of me and did a great job working out the kinks from a long sales conference. Its a full service spa, including barber services as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferKedinger, Manager at Hyatt Regency Chicago, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
It's great to read about your experience with Lillian at Spa Di La Fronza. I will be sure to pass it along to the manager at the spa. Glad that you had a nice experience with us. Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Chicago and for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,602 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Swissotel Chicago
Swissotel Chicago
#63 of 190 in Chicago
4,066 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#73 of 190 in Chicago
4,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Fairmont Chicago Millennium Park
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 190 in Chicago
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chicago

Property: Hyatt Regency Chicago
Address: 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Business Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,180 - ₹ 25,707
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 2019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the difference between a hotel and a Hyatt when you stay at our incomparable downtown hotel. Set within the epicenter of the city, our AAA Four Diamond Hyatt Regency Chicago is conveniently located in the heart of the city, connected to the Illinois Center and within minutes of the Magnificent Mile. We are excited to announce the completion of our $168 Million renovation! We are eager to show you our new welcoming lobby, engaging check-in pods and check out our three restaurant concepts and menus. Come see the completely transformed Hyatt Regency Chicago! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing