We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city hotel -- excellent views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Ranked #82 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
MidWest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good city hotel -- excellent views”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Having to park a car, we found this to be a good option for us. We paid $10 more for a "room with a view" -- and that is totally worth it! The view is beautiful -- we even slept with the curtains open. Since we were on the 22nd floor, the street noise was hardly noticeable.

You could tell the hotel spent money renovating the bathrooms -- it was clean and chic. The room looked quite ordinary though. We were disappointed that there wasn't a mini-fridge, which is very helpful when traveling with small children.

Walking to Michigan Ave takes about 30 minutes, so the cab ride is worth it and not expensive -- about $8 or less.

It was interesting that the service elevator from the below-ground parking is not easily seen from the lot. I'm not even sure I know it's there, but there's quite a number of stairs to climb with suitcases -- we saw other families in the same situation as we were packing up our car.

Another odd thing about this hotel is that there are always dirty glasses/plates in the hallway. When we entered our room, it almost looked like the guests before us were still in the room; to the immediate left of our door was a pizza box and trash, along with dirty glasses/ plates. There were also other dirty glasses/plates by other doors. After settling in our room, we headed out -- while the glasses and plates were picked up, the trash was still there --- very odd. When we returned to our room and even when we checked out, there were ALWAYS dirty glasses and plates in the hallway, some of them were the exact ones we saw previously too.

Overall, you're not sleeping in the hallway, and the room should suit just fine!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine_MidWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you so much for the review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit to Chicago. We will use your constructive comments to re-focus our staff in the areas mentioned. And again, look forward to your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    837
    306
    96
    71
See reviews for
505
444
102
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I just got back from a conference in Chicago. Although I have been to the Windy City several times, this was a series of firsts for me. Landing at Midway Airport on Southwest Airlines is much simpler than arriving at O'Hare. The Chicago Transit Authority (CTA) has a train stop right at the airport, the Orange line. Since it is the end of the line, you can only go one way; Downtown! An easy change at Van Buren to the Brown Line avoids any crowds at the Loop. Head towards Kimball. In a few stops, you are at the Merchandise Mart which is an indoor mall. Walk through the mall and over the enclosed walk bridge to the Chicago Sun Times building, the Holiday Inn lobby is on the 3rd floor. Total cost? $2.25 one way. Just as easy to reverse course at the end of the trip and head back to Midway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river with the money you save in transportation cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Halfman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you for your visit and for your comments about the ease of getting to our convenient location. We agree, Midway is a great and easy Airport. Hope to see you again on your next visit to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We selected this property for the positive reviews found here and the excellent base rate for our Saturday night stay (March 31) of $154 (AAA rate).

The hotel sits atop the Chicago Sun Times building where the Chicago River branches to the north. It is very easy to get to for an urban hotel. Guests ascend a bank of elevators to the 15th floor hotel lobby.

We had a 10-minute wait to check in behind a queue of people ahead of us. (slightly frustrating) The hotel then occupies floors 16-23. The lobby is exapansive and nice. A bar looks out south and east to the cityscape on the 15th floor. A nice pool is on the 16th with a glass ceiling. It's large and goes to a depth of 7 feet.

Pros: The room we had was nice and clean with an excellent view straight north. Cab fares to restaurants in the North State to Ohio Av area was less than $10 for our family of four. Significantly better than reparking.

The value of the hotel was also a huge pro. Considering the location and the date, I felt you could not beat the quality in downtown Chicago.

Cons: Slight inconvenience of descending to street level through two different banks of elevators.

The room was nice, although the heating unit kicked on suddenly with fairly significant noise at night. You would think that this could be upgraded (unit appeared to be more than 20 years old). The shower drain was pulled out onto the surface of the tub...not sure why. This didn't impact us.

Finally, the tiny coffee maker only had decaf. Not a problem, really. I'm sure I could have gotten regular if I had taken the time to hunt some down.

Altogether, this is a place we would return to in the future. The staff was pleasant and helpful but not overbearing like at some places where it seems they are fishing for tips constantly (a reason we typically avoid urban properties)

Room Tip: Ask for a view. It seems to be the same price anyways, but a view is truly a nice feature at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowdog14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Recent Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent visit with us and for the comments on Trip Advisor. We value all of our guests and the comments. We look forward to your next visit to Chicago. We also would like to get more details on your accommodations so that we can double check some procedures, if you have time you can email us with your guest room number and date of visit at info@martplaza.com. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The lobby was impressive but thats about it. It is hard to believe this hotel was recently renovated. I stayed in a double queen room. The carpet looked filthy and the furniture was trashed. The bed was so uncomfortable. The staff at the front desk and in the City Bar were extremely rude and snarky. The location is inconvenient and out of the way, I was nervous walking back after a night out. The only perk is the cost of parking at 39.00/night with in and out privileges. It's hard to believe this is a 3 star hotel, I have stayed in much nicer 2 1/2 star hotels in downtown Chicago. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments. We have spent over $30 Million dollars on the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza in the last two years and have more coming in the next two. We apologize that you felt that way, but do hope that you give us another opportunity. We pride ourselves on our customer service and would like to hear more about your experience in the Cityscape Bar, our Food and Beverage Director can be reached at jdexter@martplaza.com or (312) 529-1133.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I would give this a 4>5 if I could. Clean, modern and close to the action

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oasistrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martplaza, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate you and hope you visit us again soon! Please go to our Facebook page for updates and specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#117 of 189 in Chicago
667 reviews
Near North Side
Best Western River North Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North
Address: 350 West Mart Center Drive, Chicago, IL 60654
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,110 - ₹ 25,578
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enhance your family vacation, corporate travel, or romantic getaway by staying at the Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North. Located atop the Chicago Sun-Times building presenting the best views of the Windy City from a unique 15th floor atrium lobby, our full-service hotel welcomes you with 521 newly redesigned guestrooms and suites, stellar service, and premium amenities that are most comforting to both leisure and business travelers. Amenities includes complimentary Wi-Fi throughout guestrooms and lobby, LCD flat-screen TVs with cable, premium channel access, and Pay Per View movies, over sized work desk, heated indoor atrium pool, 24-hour fitness facility, complimentary business center, and Concierge services. Guests of the contemporary Mart Plaza will find themselves in the middle of downtown Chicago's bustling River North area offering the top restaurant and nightlife options, within walking distance of the Loop, the main business district, and Michigan Avenue, aka the "Magnificent Mile" where chic shops and restaurants abound. Walk across the fully enclosed pedway into the Merchandise Mart where you can ride a train to just about anywhere in the city, including attractions like Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Plan a visit to Chicago and let the Mart Plaza and our award-winning staff provide you with a memorable experience and lasting impression. The Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North is located 3 miles from Chicago's McCormick Convention Center, 12 miles from Midway International Airport, and 18 miles from O'Hare International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Mart Plaza River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago - Mart Plaza Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Mart Plaza
Chicago Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing