We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First trip to Chicago. Excellent location !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Ranked #62 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First trip to Chicago. Excellent location !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our first trip to Chicago. The hotel is located in the perfect downtown location. The view from our room was beautiful. The front desk staff was very friendly and always greeted us with smiles. Would definitely stay here again. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindasatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,240
    1,438
    500
    170
    81
See reviews for
1,027
1,452
173
1,014
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (723)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Hotel 71 countless times and continue to be impressed by the amazing service, attention to detail, and the lengths employees go to here at the hotel to make sure their guests' needs and expectations are being exceeded! The staff here is absolutely amazing - from the front door to the managers, and everyone in between. They all care and it shows in the service they provide. Hotel 71 is a great place to stay when in Chicago! I've stayed at several other hotels in town, and none compare with the personalized approach taken here at Hotel 71 - they really know how to make you feel special and at home. Ask for a River View room - it's worth every penny!!! One of the best, if not the best, views in the city.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Comments like your make my day. Every staff member is committed to providing guests, such as you, with a unique hotel experience. So when I receive a review like yours, I pass it onto my team to remind them of the power of demonstrating personal hospitality and kindness. Although we completed a $20 million renovation at the end of 2011, I believe the team we have in place is what makes the difference between us and other hotels.

Of course, I can't end my response without addressing your opinion of the view from one of our guestrooms. It's amazing, isn't it? It must be the reason so many movies and television shows (filmed in Chicago) highlight this spectacular view.

Again...thank you for your comments. I really appreciate them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel 71 in the very near future!

All the best,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Hotel 71 Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
108 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Paid a good rate directly with hotel. Nice room that seems converted from a small studio apt. Room had a nook for no particular purpose, a nice window couch and decent view of city skyscrapers. Check in was quick and friendly.
Parking for 49.00 is horrible so check out the neighborhood to find a lot yourself. Bagel shop on the corner at Michigan is a good alternative to hotel breakfast. I was here only one night but you cannot beat the location and cost, sans valet parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JES006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
I was delighted to read your comments about Hotel 71. As you experienced, our rooms are some of the largest in the city. What you may not know is that, at one time, our guestrooms had balconies. A decision was made to enclose the balconies and expand the room size. The result was unique nooks and alcoves were created in the rooms.

As you properly noted, Chicago city parking prices are somewhat high. Our overnight parking price of $49 is competitive with neighborhood hotels and includes unlimited in and out privileges.

I'm glad you were able to find the bagel shop on the corner of Michigan Avenue and hope you stop in Hoyt's, our restaurant, for breakfast, the next time you are in Chicago. You can pick up a bagel, cream cream and coffee for $6 (excluding tax and gratuities) without having to leave the building--a great option if you're pressed for time.

Again...thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

All the best,
SteveShern
General Manager
Hotel 71 Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I had a couple of free days in Chicago and we chose the 71 for its unique position on a bend of the river that gives you a fantastic view, as if you were in the middle of a bridge. Suffice it to say that we left the curtains open day and night, and we took many beautiful pictures fro our window.
Apart for the view, the hotel is conveniently positioned between the Loop and the Magnificent Mile, everything is within walking distance.
Our room on the 17th floor was very spacious, almost a suite, and beautifully furnished. We only missed an in-room safe. Wi-Fi access was free of charge. Bathroom also spacious and elegant (shower, no bathtub), with pleasant orange.flavored toiletries.
Breakfast (not included in our package) at Hoyt's was excellent. No buffet, everything was cooked to order. We went for breakfast as they opened (6.30 am), and everything was reasonably fast.
In Chicago you can certainly see beautiful views from the celebrated skyscrapers, but I must admit that the river view from our room was unbeatable. We will certainly chose the 71 again for our next stay in Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChooseyItalians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I want to be fair and accurate about my first few hours at Hotel 71. We booked 5 nights at this hotel for a 5 night get away. It is no secret that Hotels make their money on the business traveler - including me. We booked through booking.com who have been excellent in getting the problems rectified. We paid a very good rate for entire stay - but there is a theme I see happening between hotels and booking agencies. Initially, we were placed on the lowest floor, next to the staff workroom/breakroom. The hall had a strange smell to it. Leaks on the ceiling, bathtub was old and cracking and our view was that of a brick wall. We contacted booking.com and they were excellent in helping getting us a cleaner and better room. To the hotel's credit, they moved us to a higher floor, corner room for $10 more a night. Beds are better, the view is great, but this hotel fails in many respects. Leaks in the ceiling, phone doesn't work in our new room, bathroom needs work and we have to go 10 floors to get ice. If you are a casual traveler who wants a few days off and you use a booking service, beware that the hotels can and will place you in rooms that are not up to par. It happened to us at the Westin on Michigan Ave in Chicago a few years ago. Don't be shy. Speak up and let the hotel know you are not satisfied. We are here until Monday, April 9, 2012. I keep everyone updated on our remaining stay. Peace..

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room on Floor 28 or higher. The manager likes to respond to these posts. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greg2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sshern, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the shortcomings you noticed in your rooms during your visit at Hotel 71. When you changed rooms, our front desk took your first room offline and notified our engineering and housekeeping departments, so corrective action is under way.

My director of housekeeping has reached out to you several times in order to get additional details, but I understand the two of you have been unable to connect. I hope you don't mind our attempts to get additional information. Feedback such as yours fuels our quest for continuous improvement.

Before I close this comment, I wanted to devote a few words to the way we assign rooms. Since we have partnerships with a variety of agencies,we strive to offer the same rates/room types to agencies as we offer on our hotel website. We frequently monitor rate and room type availability through various systems in an effort to achieve this goal.

I realize my apology and response to your comments doesn't make up for the inconveniences you experienced this past weekend; however, I hope you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in Hotel 71. Please don't hesitate to contact me the next time you will be in Chicago.

Again...thank you for your very helpful comments. They are appreciated.

Best regards,
Steve Shern
General Manager
Hotel 71 Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
River Hotel
River Hotel
#64 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#16 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Regency Chicago
Hyatt Regency Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,107 reviews
Streeterville
Sheraton Grand Chicago
Sheraton Grand Chicago
#66 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,798 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue / Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront

Property: Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront
Address: 71 East Upper Wacker Drive, Chicago, IL 60601-3755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#28 Green Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#38 Family Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,406 - ₹ 22,382
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront boasts an unrivaled location in the heart of the city--where the Chicago River and North Michigan Avenue meet. Freshly renovated, the hotel updated guest rooms, 24-hour complimentary fitness and business centers, and Hoyt's Chicago-an in-house restaurant located on the lobby level of the hotel. This all-day dining venue features culinary delights inspired by Midwestern tastes and locally grown produce. Whether you're visiting Chicago for business or leisure purposes, you'll find yourself within minutes of your destination--the Loop, Michigan Avenue, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, the River North District and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Grand Chicago Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
71 Hotel Chicago
Hotel 71 Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing