We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,667)
Filter reviews
2,667 results
Traveller rating
1,216
890
336
114
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,216
890
336
114
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptiongreat locationmade to order omeletsmanagers receptionbreakfast and happy hourfree breakfastfree happy hourjewel oscococktail hourparking garagestate streetliving roomnavy pierwithin walking distancehot breakfastchicago downtownthe breakfast area
Filter
Updating list...
2,346 - 2,351 of 2,667 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I recently visited this hotel. Wow, I was impressed! The staff were some of the nicest people I've seen in a hotel. From the moment we arrived we were helped and assisted with everything we needed. The continental breakfast in the morning was great, it helped us all get out of bed and get our day started. They had everything you could think of for breakfast, it was a great value. The rooms were also very spacious and well laid-out. With our room package, we also got free parking for our stay, which saved us a great deal of money. We ended up staying 2 extra nights here, and the hotel staff was happy to accommodate us, even putting us in the same room. The pool is fun for kids and was enjoyable for all. Definitely spring for the city view, we had a great view of State Street. The location was great, nearby Michigan Avenue and great restaurants, and a short walk or taxi ride from everything else. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gottatravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

I've been traveling to Chicago for years and always stayed at The Drake. Because they were full, I decided to try the Embassy Suites. Wow, what a great experience!
The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Our kids loved using the pool. The free breakfast was also quite good.
This hotel has a fabulous location and is a very good value. Great Choice.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nbkoritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Really the only downer was finding out about the $75 fee for incidentals when checking into our room. This was news to us and so we paid cash and had it returned when checking out the last day. It would have been nice to have a "heads up" on this in light of planning and not wanting to use our credit cards. Okay on to the good stuff. Traveled with our two boys, ages 8 and 6. 4-day vacation with the City Pass in hand. The hotel and rooms are clean and beautiful. Fantastic breakfast with a big variety. We always arrived 7ish so as to avoid the long lines after 8. Loved the cooked-to-order omelettes! Location was ideal-local grocery chain and Trader Joe's around the corner, red line subway, and close to bus stops. Great restaurants, extremely helpful Concierge, walking distance to Michigan Ave, Lego store, etc. etc. Manager's Reception-snacks and free beverages. Don't plan on making this your meal though. Pool is tiny and got a bit crowded with all the kids in it. Rooms are spacious. We requested a City View room and would do that again. It was the same price as the other rooms in the Park and Stay package. Our suite had a small fridge so we bought sandwich stuff and made lunch every day to take to the museums. That saved us a ton of money, plus it was more healthy. Staff were all very friendly from the bellhops to the valet parking attendants to the front desk. It was so nice to leave our car in the garage and not worry about it. Took CTA everywhere we went. Recommend the CTA pass for ease of use. Also, in Park and Stay they let you park your car before you check in. This allowed us to visit the Willis Tower before our room was ready. The Pizzeria Via Stato which is attached to the hotel is delicious, especially if you don't like Chicago-style pizza.There is no need to stay anywhere else in Chicago, this hotel and its ideal location had all we needed and more. Thanks Embassy Suites for an awesome getaway before school starts!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luv2read68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The hotel is located in downtown Chicago, a walking distances to most attractions. Magnificent Mile (Michigan Avenue) is just 2 blocks away; John Hancock Observatory is about a 15 minute walk; the Loop is about a 20-30 minute walk. However note that in the summer it gets quite hot and humid so walking to places that are more than 4 blocks could be challenging. The hotel has a beautiful lobby. The Manager's daily receptions (free drinks) is great! The staff and people working at the hotel are very professional and helpful. We stayed in a suite with one bedroom. The room was quite roomy. It did not have a kitchenette as in other hotels that have suites, but it had a microwave, sink, and small dining table. The sofa enabled some of us to sleep comfortably in the living room. We had a nice view of Ohio street and State street from our room. Definately ask for a room on the top floors. The breakfast was excellent! The cook to order eggs was excellent. Expect to wait in a long line in the morning to get your breakfast. Lineups were absurd. Seems the breakfast area, which is quite large, is not capable of handling the number of guests staying at the hotel. Too many kids in the breakfast area make things annoying as well. The hotel is close to Rush Street with all the restaurants. The areas that need to be improved, however, include: rooms need new furniture, rooms need to be renovated (new paint and carpet), internet should be free (should not have to pay $10 a day for internet connection in this day and age), parking is too expensive ($44 a day is more than other hotels of this class), cleaning needs to be more supervised (we noticed that our room was not properly cleaned (the dirt under the chair when we got there was never vacuumed); policy needs to be put in place about people going wet from the swimming pool to the elevators (elevators smells like chlorine and dead fish at times). There is also only one washing machine for the entire hotel. So do not expect to get your laundry done while staying at the Embassy Suites. Overall I do recommend the hotel as its in a prime location. Make sure you use the tour buses to see Chicago as its cheaper than driving around and paying for parking. Chicago can be a rip off if you drive. The parking fees are outrageous and the toll fees on the highways are a joke (one toll booth every 10 miles).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfshinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My wife and I recently had to drop off our daughter for a week stay at one of the local Universities. As a result, we decided to spend the night in Downtown Chicago at the Embassy Suites Hotel. We spent the aftenoon walking up and down Michigan Ave and shopping. Later that evening, the concierge suggested a fantastic local Italian restraunt that we could walk too. We loved the food and outdoor atmosphere. The front desk then recommended a fabulous local bar to go for a night cap. Finally, we relaxed in our spectacular room overlooking a fantastic city view. What a FANTASTIC SUNDAY EVENING we spent in Chicago. Thank you Embassy Suites - Chicaga for a worderful memory!

Matt .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmpcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews