We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,856)
Filter reviews
5,858 results
Traveller rating
2,196
1,826
1,077
487
272
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,196
1,826
1,077
487
272
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grant park irish pub executive floor grand ballroom full bathrooms field museum historic hotel renovated room shedd aquarium michigan ave lake view huge hotel buckingham fountain two double beds fitness center art institute an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 5,858 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay at the historic Hilton Chicago. The price point made it feasible to bring the entire family. Fantastic location made sightseeing simple and it’s close to excellent restaurants. The interior of the hotel itself is something to see and the stories and displays of people who had visited just enhanced the experience. Steven (from Iowa) was especially helpful as we finished our vacation. He recommended additional Hilton stays that were available from the concierge and other offers available to Hilton Honors members. We look forward to our next trip to the Hilton Chicago!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank smickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your positive scores in our overall service and accommodations. It is always great to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests have come to expect and deserve. We will continue to strive for excellence in service as we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience.

I am especially delighted to hear that Steven made such a good impression on you and that his quality of service was greatly appreciated. Please be certain that he will be recognized for his efforts.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you the next time you visit Chicago so we can show you the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Kathy Heneghan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

I'm a Hilton Diamond member and have stayed at many of their brands and properties across the world, and I have to say that the Hilton Chicago is one of the worst I've stayed at.

The first thing that greeted us outside were loud union protesters (they were there from early to late everyday banging drums and blowing whistles). I think it would have been appropriate for the hotel to have pre-warned us this would be the case, rather than leaving it as a nasty surprise.

The hotel is huge and has a lot of history, but it seemed a little run down and drab to me - especially the room. It just felt dowdy. Its hugeness means there's constantly long lines at check in/out - and getting through to reception from the room is basically impossible during peak times.

Diamonds are limited to complimentary continental breakfast only at this property, and that was pretty terrible and not really worth bothering for (except the home made granola which was tasty). No mention of my status was made at check-in, not that I particularly care.

On our final day we left the room with the plan to leave our luggage post check out and come back a few hours later to go to the airport. We were amazed to find that the hotel charges $3 dollar per bag for that. I have never come across a hotel which purports to be luxury that would charge for such a basic service. Even an Holiday Inn Express wouldn't have the gall to do so.

To summarize, this is a hotel you'd stay at only if you were made to - i.e. if there's a conference or an event at the property. After staying here once, I would never stay here again by choice. Chicago has way to many other good options.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Hilton Chicago. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. We have tried our best to cope with this stressful circumstances keeping in mind that our guest’s comfort and satisfaction remains our top priority. This is not the normal high level of service we provide given the circumstances. Please know that your experience does not reflect the overall performance of our hotel when it comes to service and product.

We are 100% compliant with the Hilton Honors program, especially with providing the benefits afforded to our members. We truly value each and every one of our guests and would want nothing but the best experience for them. I have taken your comments to my team for review and consideration.

We genuinely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the luggage storage fee. We offer complimentary luggage storage for arrival, however for departures we have opted for paid service for the security and proper management of the guest's luggage due to the volume and size of the property.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and improve your impression of the Hilton Chicago!

Sincerely,
Kathy Heneghan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Nice staff! Tom on the front desk checked us in quickly and professionally. This huge property is attractive, historic and has lots to offer. It’s beautiful within well kept antique architecture. No in room USB ports but plenty of standard plugs. It’s remodled just enough to not look old! My room only had two of each towel but the hotel workers were striking so maybe laundry wasn’t running full fledged. Breakfast was awesome and valet accommodated our motorcycles. My room had a fridge too! It’s close to everything downtown too!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the detailed review of your past stay with us. It was a pleasure to receive your positive scores in our overall service and accommodations. It is always great to hear we are meeting the expectations our guests have come to expect and deserve. We will continue to strive for excellence in service as we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you the next time you visit Chicago so we can show you the true spirit of hospitality for which Hilton hotels are known.

Sincerely,
Kathy Heneghan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Sirens, drums, bull horns, Strikers tried to disrupt guests.. It worked. $400+ a night due to the IMTS 2018 trade show. I really wanted a good night sleep. Bed was clean and soft. Room was average, but clean.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank chipworkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. We are regretful that we were not able to provide full service due to the current situation in our hotel. We have tried our best to cope with this stressful circumstances keeping in mind that our guest’s comfort and satisfaction remains our top priority. This is not the normal high level of service we provide given the circumstances. Please know that your experience does not reflect the overall performance of our hotel when it comes to service and product. We truly value each and every one of our guests and would want nothing but the best experience for them.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Chicago to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hiltons are known.

Sincerely,
Kathy Heneghan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

The entire experience was bad. Really bad. No room service. Limited other services because of the strike. They should had advised us when we booked. We travelled for 20 hours to get to Chicago and find out that the hotel staff was on strike and service will be limited. To make matters worse the lock on my door broke and it took 2 hours until they opened my room. Eventually I had to change room. Also be aware that check out is at 11.00 am. No check out later than 12.00 which is the standard time every where else in the world. Although I am a Hilton Honours member, I will not come back again. The staff was friendly and full of apologies but that does not make up for the poor service.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank matthewjamurtas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Manager at Hilton Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. We are regretful that we were not able to provide full service due to the current situation in our hotel. We have tried our best to cope with this stressful circumstances keeping in mind that our guest’s comfort and satisfaction remains our top priority. This is not the normal high level of service we provide given the circumstances. Please know that your experience does not reflect the overall performance of our hotel when it comes to service and product. We truly value each and every one of our guests and would want nothing but the best experience for them.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Chicago to serve you in the true spirit of hospitality for which Hiltons are known.

Sincerely,
Kathy Heneghan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews