We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficiency and a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Ranked #132 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Efficiency and a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I stayed at the Travelodge while visiting the city for a convention. The room was simple in the furnishing, and nothing too special overall. However, the staff make this hotel worth staying at if your in downtown Chi and need simple accommodations at a reasonable (comparatively) price. The staff were very friendly and were willing to go out of their way to make the stay a comfortable as possible. I also got breakfast to go from the cafe connected to the hotel several times and it hit the spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SubZeroKelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    550
    673
    275
    169
See reviews for
397
430
208
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel last week and it was a horrible experience. We booked our room through a third-party website and called the hotel to make sure we would be able to fit a cot in the room. We were told that would be fine. When we arrived, we were told that there would be an additional $20 per night charge because we needed to upgrade to a larger room in order to fit a cot. I understand if that is the rule, but the entire staff needs to enforce it if that is the case. We had been told over the phone this would be no problem. We got stuck in the elevator. Sure, they were able to get us out seven minutes later, but they acted like this was a normal occurrence and it was no big deal. The rooms are fairly clean. Not as clean as a nicer hotel, but alright. When calling for extra towels or a hair dryer, the staff was prompt. However, the beds are not that comfortable. When I asked the man at the front desk how to dial out on the room phone (it wasn't working for me) he explained how. I told him this wasn't working. He offered no advice except that they did not have a payphone in the hotel. When i told him that the staff was not helpful, he asked, "What would you like me to do, ma'am...lie to you?" Very rude and inconsiderate staff. I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Hauraki Plains
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

In the heart of Chicago. Good beds and very clean. All you could want.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muffin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel was not at all what I expected. It is within walking distance to the lake and the magnificent mile. After reading some of the awful reviews I was not going to book this hotel but the price fit our budget. The rooms are small but who really spends all there time in the hotel room when there is so much to do in Chicago. The money we saved on the room went a long way at the many eateries and shops in the area. So if you want to save a bit of money and need a place to sleep, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hetal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

stayed here in march 2012. had a fantastic trip to chicago and this hotel was in a perfect location. the rooms are basic but for me its just somewhere to sleep and shower. id deffo stay here again if i return to chicago in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris101Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#120 of 188 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
BEST WESTERN Grant Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Renaissance Blackstone Chicago Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#36 of 188 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Property: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Address: 65 East Harrison Street, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,198 - ₹ 14,431
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing