We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Ranked #138 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

Yes its true the hotel is a little old and outdated. But great staff, good price, and awesome awesome location. Just minutes from millinum park and the red line train. Deff reccomend!!!!!!

Thank lclements08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,118)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,668 - 1,672 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

My title really states it all, but I can't emphasize enough how rude the front desk was. For that reason alone, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshBaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here for a 2 nights. This was not a very pleasant hotel to stay at. Got a room with a double bed that was very dirty at the end of the hall by the fire exit. Elevators had a bad smell and were very slow, and one of them always seemed to be out of service. I also found the staff to be rude and inattentive.


In my opinion, the only thing it has going for it is the location. I would not stay here again, and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldtraveller3654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here with may aunt when we went to visit my brother in Cincinnati (cheaper to fly to Chicago and bus down to Cincy...go fig) in Sept of '10. Anyway we were visiting Chicago and picked this place for it's location to things and price. We got a good deal on a three night stay and I think I know why. This is an older building which seems to not have been updated for quite a while. The front desk was helpful in terms of addressing our concerns. Our first room was basic however it wreaked of cigarette smoke. Though the rooms are non-smoking it seems all the years of smoking are now embedded in the walls, ceiling, and carpet. We asked for another room which they did find for us. We got a slightly larger room with a kitchenette. The bathroom was nice and large since we got a handicap accessible room (this was good for my aunt). Though basic it was a nice step up from the first room.

The room contained 2 full sized beds which were OK, nothing special about them. Though the room was large it was facing the street so it was noisy at night till about 1am or so. after that it was OK. The AC was old and noisy so it did help drown out some of the noise but of you don't want any noise this may not be the place for you. I wold say around a 2 star hotel and that incudes the location as a plus. It is situated between the happenings of Magnificent Mile and the large number of museums towards the southern end of town. There is also a Red Line stop a couple of blocks away for getting around.

There are other hotels in the area which may be nicer and perhaps only slightly more so do our homework and compare for your intended travel dates and you could be in for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get room away from street.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We usually make the Travelodge our first stay whenever we want to be in The City. It's inexpensive and located across the street from Grant Park, and within walking distance of The Chicago Museum of Art, The Field Museum and Shedd Aquarium. The Red Line Harrison Station is only two blocks away. Our first room was small and dusty. We were happily upgraded to a larger double kitchenette at no extra cost! It's not fancy, yet you do get just a bit more for your buck. The free WiFi , location just off Michigan Avenue, access to food stores, and public transportation, are major bonuses. If push comes to shove there are better hotels right across the street!

Room Tip: Book well in advance online and negotiate an upgrade if not happy with your reservation. Have a back...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StvnWllms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#140 of 191 in Chicago
2,014 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Best Western Grant Park Hotel
Downtown / The Loop
The Congress Plaza Hotel and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#89 of 191 in Chicago
577 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 191 in Chicago
1,972 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Blackstone, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Address: 65 E Harrison St, Wabash St & Harrison St, Chicago, IL 60605-1614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 6,246 - ₹ 15,582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Chicago Travelodge
Chicago Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing