We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little better than average but accomodations somewhat minimal”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #143 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
L.A.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little better than average but accomodations somewhat minimal”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Booked here for the excellent location downtown. You're right in the heart of the hotel district and somewhat near the subway and very close to bus stops. I'll say that we enjoyed our stay but there were some things that took away from the experience of a four night residence.
The biggest issue is the walls are too thin, we could hear our neighbors having loud conversation constantly (luckily they only arrived our last nights stay) and the service employees are quite loud in the morning (we came from the west coast so we needed to sleep in). The rooms are small, I'll call them cozy but we did find that two to a room is quite full with bags and other miscellaneous stuff. The room windows don't open which usually I don't mind but since the A/C-Heater unit is old I would've liked some fresh crisp air from our 20th floor perch. An air vent in the bathroom is good but not when it's loud and covered in dust. Bed was comfortable but lacked support, the mattress probably needs replacing or at least a monthly flipping.
On the positive side the lobby staff are helpful and professional; we got answers and assistance whenever we needed it. The lobby area is a nice hangout and adjoined next door
to a Lavazza cafe which was crucial to getting our day on the go! The elevators work fast and there are three which helps with rush hour. The hotel bar is a pleasant area and we got our drinks fast and strong, with an easygoing bartender. The roof terrace affords nice views but only offers services in the warm months. The A/C-Heater unit while old did work well. Shower was adequate with plenty of hot water for both of us even on such a packed floor.
We got lucky with the weather so the hotel was a great starting point for walks near the river and across downtown. There are some good restaurants located nearby and not too far with a little bit of footwork. If you can get a deal to stay here it's a good bet for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shocktop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear shocktop,
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us. We apologize that you were subjected to loud neighbors on the last night of your stay. We completely sympathize and also regret to learn that our housekeeping staff was apparently noisy during the morning hours. In regards to the mattress and bathroom vent, we will address these items with the appropriate departments and appreciate your honest feedback. We hope to be able to better serve you in the future when you return to Chicago.
Regards,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    626
    499
    219
    179
See reviews for
281
552
165
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Our room was simple, very basic bathroom, bedroom. No fancy bedding or ammenities. But can't complain, it was a good value and we enjoyed our stay.
There was a group of loud guests that woke me in the middle of the night talking outside my room when they were returning for the night, but once they entered their room, I didn't hear them again.
Might want to consider parking at a train station and taking the train into Chicago to stay here. All the parking garages around there are 44 dollars a day, adds up quick! I felt like I rented a hotel room for my car when I paid for parking!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraJane110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The location is excellent. The service was good. The room was clean enough, though small. Parking was expensive, but to be expected for this area. Our family of 4 stayed there for 2 nights in April 2012. We would stay again. The price was excellent, with parking and hotel, still under $100 per night. Unless you're planning on spending a lot of time in your room, why pay more? We did not experience any of the issues reported in some of the negative reviews. The rooms are small, the bathrooms are tiny, the parking is expensive. This is Chicago. My advice? Spend your money on dining, theater, museums, etc., not the hotel room.

Room Tip: For families, be sure to specify 2 beds and a corner room on a higher floor if you can. The rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The staff was very friendly! Every time I went to ask advice they used my name and ask how they could help without me introducing myself again. Staff Darcia and Natalie were super helpful.

All the popular attractions are within walking distance. Hancock is only a few blocks away.

The view from the roof terrace was great even in the rain. Rooms were of average size, yes I agree the bathrooms are very small but why do you need a huge bathroom? Your on vacation not at home. View from my room was amazing too!

I will stay here again! Hopefully next time in the summer!

Room Tip: Ask for an odd number of a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Butterflygrl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Butterflygrl75,
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our personalized service and we are glad you got to experience this firsthand. It will be our pleasure to share your praises with Darcia and Natalie, and they will be grateful to hear them as well. We are thrilled you will be returning to us in the future. Hopefully in the summer you will be able to experience our rooftop on a warm and sunny day. In the interim, we remain at your service.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a really nice hotel. It's in a perfect location for getting around Chicago and seeing all the sights. It was clean and comfy and very nicely designed/decorated. There's free wifi but only in the lobby which is kinda annoying as it made out it was in the room when we booked online, however the lobby is nice with loads of comfy chairs and couches for you to sit. Me and my friends were travelling on a bit of budget and noticed that there was a charge for a lot of the services so we didn't use them, for example, we needed to send a fax as our travel transport had been messed up but they wanted to charge us $5. We didn't have breakfast so i can't comment on that. I can't remember whether it didn't have laundry services or if they wanted to charge for it but either way we had to go elsewhere to do ours. If you've got some pennies spare then this place is great. If you don't, then it's sitll a lovely hotel but just be mindful of extra costs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_11e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#104 of 189 in Chicago
1,611 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
InterContinental Chicago
InterContinental Chicago
#70 of 189 in Chicago
4,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Cambria Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Property: Inn of Chicago
Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,040 - ₹ 20,992
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing