We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay for my family in Chicago!”
Review of Inn of Chicago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn of Chicago
Ranked #145 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We liked being downtown close to walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The bathroom was small and no place to put toiletries and such, but the mattress and pillows provided awesome sleep. We enjoyed our one night stay here.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank Itraveldou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,140 of 1,891 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed with a friend for 2 nights so we booked 2 queen beds. The room was called 'contemporary', not sure why. The good: the location, there are lots of restaurants in the area and you are just off Michigan Ave., if that's why you're there. Quick walk or cab ride to most of Chicago's attractions. The beds were really comfortable and each bed had 4 pillows that were also nice. The hotel staff was nice and efficient, no problems checking in or out, and the doormen were helpful.

The bad - the bathroom is miniature and there is no vanity in the bathroom or outside. Quite a challenge for 2 ladies with makeup, hair dryers, etc. The bathroom also had no fan and got totally steamed up while showering making for damp clothes and a challenge to dry your hair. The room was showing it's age with slightly askew toilet paper holders, rust on the fixtures, stains on the carpet and ancient lamps. (Maybe they were the contemporary part?) The room and bathroom really felt like it could use a good scrubbing from top to bottom, not just a change of sheets and a quick wipe down. Not enough plugs for the modern age of gadgets. We had to unplug the clock and lamps to charge our phone and ipads and use our hair straighteners, etc. The in room a/c was noisy and drove me crazy when trying to sleep.

If it's the only place left for your price point (that's what happened with us), then it will do. But if you have a few choices, I'd pick someplace else.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimkam26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Kimkam26,
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us. We can agree that our bathrooms are on the small side, but we are looking to find ways to improve the allotted space in the future. On the other hand, the Inn of Chicago is a historic building dating back to 1927. As such, the bathrooms are unique as we are a historic hotel and have a different style and layout compared to what many would expect from a traditional hotel. Some of our guest rooms have not been renovated yet, so you may have had a non-contemporary guest room during your stay. We apologize if any inconvenience with the amount of electrical outlets available in your room. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future so we can another chance to exceed your expectations.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A friend and I stayed in one of the Inn's contemporary rooms with two beds for 4 nights.

EasyToBook was incredible simple to use, and they offered a significantly discounted rate, so that's great to start!

The rooms are clean, the bathrooms rather small with no counter space (not good for us ladies), but the beds were ridiculously comfortable. Best of all the staff, no matter where we encountered them, we're incredibly friendly. On the night of St Patty's, the bar tender allowed us to borrow their bottle opener, and on our way back to our room, we realized we forgot our key (and mistook it for another card). Again, the staff was really nice. Housekeeping gave us new towels even though we placed them on the hook instead of on the floor to replace. So, it was nice not having to ask for more towels ever (a first for me).

The location in Downtown Chicago is perfect. The walk to Grand and State to reach the train is less than a 5 minute walk; the trek to Navy Pier is less than 10. We even walked from the Field Museum (South Loop),through the loop, and back to the hotel (just make sure you realize you're walking a couple miles, and wear comfy shoes).

My only complaint is that there is no mini fridge or microwave. We managed without it, but we were on a budget...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank N E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear N E,
We are so glad you chose to stay at the Inn of Chicago and appreciate your gracious remarks about the service and location. It pleases us to hear that we exceeded your expectations and we will share your praises with our Housekeeping team and Bartender. We do offer a mini fridge for a nominal daily fee, but do not have microwaves available for our guests. We apologize if this caused any minor inconvenience. Next time you come back to Chicago, it would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Best,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed two nights - Monday March 11 & Tuesday March 12, 2012. Came to Chicago to attend the Home & Housewares Show at McCormick with my partner for work and also enjoyed this trip as a little getaway for the two of us. I thought it was a very good hotel. Had a king room on the 17th floor facing Michigan Ave. in the corner - was really nice. After walking the show all day it was nice to return here and then walk around the city a bit - great restaurants in the area. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly, and the room was great. I loved it and hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: My partner and I loved the King room facing Michigan Avenue on the 17th floor - at the end of the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Inn of Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Dear Bill463,
We hope you enjoyed the Home & Housewares Show at McCormick Place during your trip to Chicago. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Inn of Chicago. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on your return trip to Chicago.
Be Well,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed March 2-4, 2012. I had gotten a fantastic rate of $85/night through Travelzoo, and was not expecting much. I must say I was pleasantly surprised. While the rooms are on the small size, this is a pretty well kept property. Friendly, accommodating staff made it even more pleasant. The location, around the corner from North Michigan Avenue, puts you squarely in the middle of tons of upscale shopping and restaurants. Cross over Michigan Ave, head west a few blocks, and you're in the hip River North area, also with great restaurants and boutiques.
The big selling point about this hotel is the value, and location.

Room Tip: Try and get a corner room as they are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moprep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
Warwick Allerton-Chicago
#107 of 192 in Chicago
1,793 reviews
Streeterville
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,062 reviews
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#124 of 192 in Chicago
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of Chicago? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of Chicago

Address: 162 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611-3105 (Formerly Inn of Chicago Magnificent Mile, an Ascend Collection hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 4,114 - ₹ 13,369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn of Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the Windy City, without the high price, at the Inn of Chicago. Just a half-block from the famed Magnificent Mile - where the city's best shopping, dining, and nightlife can be found. We offer a reasonably affordable alternative to the more expensive Chicago boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn of Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of Chicago Magnificent Mile, An Ascend Collection Hotel Hotel Chicago
Hotel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Inn Chicago Magnificent Mile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing