We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toilet Paper not included!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pittsfield Hotel
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This place suck. I arried to find no toilet paper (guess when that happened). I left two messages on two different answering machines and never heard a word. That was two days ago. I have one night left and can't wait to leave and never return. SP suites should get bankers business, that all they diserve.

Room Tip: Not with SP suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

From the moment we contacted SP Suites, we couldn't have asked for more. We we very pleased with the all aspects of the experience. We loved the apartment. We were especially pleased at the way SP Suites immediately responded to any concerns we had. We absolutely recommend booking through them.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alice032142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We booked several rooms through SPSuites for guests who were coming to Chicago for our wedding. They gave us a great rate, and the central location was perfect. Unfortunately, one week before the event our guests received emails and phone calls telling them that their reservations had been canceled (this was after they had paid in full by credit card!). When we called on behalf of our guests the staff told us that our original reservations for a central location were canceled because they were doing work on the building (which turned out to be untrue-- they had just overbooked), but that they had rooms available in their Ukrainian Village property, not downtown. (It was the old bait and switch-- you book for a central location, which at the last minute isn't available, and they swap it for a location several miles away.)

When our guests themselves called they felt bamboozled by the SPSuites staff, some of whom were impolite and very aggressive (this was after having a hard time even getting them on the phone). Because they had paid upfront, it took several more phone calls to get their funds reimbursed. Every time we called we were given a different tale. This, unfortunately, was the first taste of Chicago many of our guests had. Luckily, we were able to find last-minute rooms elsewhere, but our friends were absolutely shocked by the lack of professionalism and integrity of this establishment. Reserve at your own risk!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank am_travelerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We checked in for 4 nights in a 1BR apartment of the SPSuites management company in this property. They manage several apartments in this complex (studio to 2BR) and have several other properties with short term rentals available in town (see http://www.spsuites.com/) While location of their "Superior" Building (which was recommended to us by the staff) is right in the heart of the busy shopping/restaurants area, we chose to go with this "Southwater" Building -- and had all the reasons later to appreciate our decision.

The building is located steps from the Millennium park and minutes walk from the downtown and the major museum, Art Institute of Chicago. Google areal images show unfinished constructions in the area but the photo is outdated and all the constructions in the area are 99% done. It is a beautiful, quite, and very green new residential area of the town.

The building has a very nice European style coffee shop with plenty of healthy sandwich choices located at the ground floor which was a great breakfast solution for us (see photo). Navigating around can be facilitated by the cycling rental station located 5 min walk, right at the gates of the Millennium park. Cabs are always on waiting right at the entrance to the building with $5-6 ride to a metro station if you mind 10-15 min walking or $7-8 to the busy shopping area. Taxi may be an advisable option to return home if late at night, although we walked home couple times after dark and the area seemed quite safe.

Building itself has all the amenities you may want: pool, gym, business center, etc. The room has a flat screen and a no frills high speed internet. We had all necessary appliances and dishes at the kitchen.

The last part is particularly pleasant, as for the price less than a hotel you get a space much more than of a hotel with all the home like conveniences. All towels and bath appliance were provided. Bad sheets were clean and they had an extra blanket.

We found apartment quite nice (see photos): clean, minimalistic contemporary design, and leather furniture in very good conditions; a lot of space; floor to ceiling windows. Odd numbers offer a great view of the river and the downtown (which we preferred), while even numbers face the new residential area with cool high rises, small park, and some view of the Millennium Park.

Finally, we found the staff quite pleasant and cooperative. They allowed us check out quite late without extra charge, and seemed always available on call (during the weekend they always have someone respond emergency calls).

Important: call and check for rates when you book. They offer discounts.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TraveLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

The spsuites condo we stayed in at 400 E South Water st. as great. The location was fantastic (right across from milennium park, near the loop and just off the lake). The building is nice and clean with a great gym, hot tub, a small pool on the roof, game room, business center, etc. The apartment itself was also nice but pretty thin on the accessories - no hair dryer, an old duvet with no duvet cover, no dish towels, etc. On the positive side, the apt. had a big flat screen TV and a washer and dryer.

The door staff were great. The Sp suites people were Ok to deal with but not overly helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#96 of 192 in Chicago
590 reviews
Streeterville
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
Dewitt Hotel & Suites
#122 of 192 in Chicago
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Cambria Hotel & Suites Chicago Loop - Theatre District
Downtown / The Loop
Chicago's Essex Inn
Chicago's Essex Inn
#144 of 192 in Chicago
2,061 reviews
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
#123 of 192 in Chicago
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pittsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pittsfield Hotel

Address: 55 E Washington St, Chicago, IL 60602-2103 (Formerly SP Suites Millenium Park Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Chicago
Price Range: ₹ 4,903 - ₹ 17,806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pittsfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Pittsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sp Suites Millenium Park Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing