We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent apartment/suite, with all ammenities for an extended or short stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Scene Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chicago
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Scene Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Jaen, Spain
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment/suite, with all ammenities for an extended or short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

I enjoyed an extended-stay at this lovely place, which is a private suite with one bedroom close to DePaul University’s central campus. Actually, it’s bigger than some of the apartments where I have lived! First off, everything was really clean. It is nicely decorated, with all amenities I could need for my trip. Apart from the bedroom, it has a sitting room (with a fireplace—I loved it!), and bath (with a steam shower, but I cannot say anything about this, as I did not try it). It was really nice having a kitchen where to cook, and I found my fridge full of milk, sodas and other stuff to enjoy breakfast. It also has its own phone, and answering machine. I stayed at the one in the ground floor apartment, and must say darkness was not a problem, but it was winter time, so there was no option to get light anyway. Being so close to the DePaul University’s central campus was really a plus to me! The metro stops (red and brown lines) are not too close but to a walking distance (5 minutes). The innkeeper, Mary, lives upstairs, so you have full privacy. She is a really nice person who is there when I needed her, always tried to accommodate me, but let me be at my own pace. Excellent value for such a suite, in a nice and safe area. I would definitively stay there when coming back to Chicago!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luisJaen_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

Mary, the owner, was very helpful in providing us what we needed. This two bedroom private apartment was very quaint and perfect for what my boyfriend and sister needed in our recent visit to Chicago. The location is great and convienent for train//bus/taxi.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel03291978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

Great location, easily manageable, great steam shower! On-street parking usually available--just get parking permits from host. Access to washer and dryer--take quarters!! Full kitchen with plenty of amenities to cook meals, but know there is no served breakfast. (Some pastries, cereal, milk, OJ, coffee/tea, jam, butter are all supplied.) No desk/work table (the kitchen table has swing-out round benches on the corners), so that's a slight disadvantage if planning to work. Super value for three or four people.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drussellbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2007

Wonderful neighborhood; nicely furnished, stayed in the ground floor apartment that is prehaps a little dark, but stil very nice, perfect bathroom, great kitchen, with a breafkast ready to make when you come.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — ground floor location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas23s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#80 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#44 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#63 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#4 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#2 of 22 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Scene Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Scene Bed and Breakfast

Property: City Scene Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2101 North Clifton Avenue, Chicago, IL 60614
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lincoln Park , DePaul
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,231 - ₹ 18,757
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Scene offers a comfortable, private suite with one or two bedrooms, sitting room, kitchen and bath on the garden level of a Victorian four-flat. Located on a quiet, residential street in an historic, Lincoln Park neighborhood, close to transportation and all the exciting attractions of Chicago. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing