We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Won't stay here again...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Chicago Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Chicago Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and two young kids stayed in room 2A for 3 nights in November 2011. We were not impressed. The innkeeper was quite pleasant, however had awful body odor. My husband and I both remarked on this. When he showed us to our room, I asked if he would mind turning the heat up, as it was quite cold in the room. When we returned to our room later that night, we found a space heater outside our room. I could not believe that this place did not have heat while we stayed here. We had to rely on our space heater! The room was so noisy from the street that I thought the window must be open, but it was not.

There are two shared bathrooms. Both of which were bare and in great need of updating. No soap or towels. I was reluctant to even place my towel anywhere in this room. Breakfast and coffee were not impressive. Not worth the money and definitely will not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaydaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    35
    10
    10
    11
See reviews for
19
44
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

A very creepy aspect of my room was that there were very sheer curtains on my window; and the adjoining room's window was 10 feet away and directly facing mine;. If the other occupants were so inclined, they could have watched every move I made, including taking a shower. So I went out and bought a newspaper and tape to cover the window. Besides that issue, the room was like a dungeon. It was drab and had very poor lighting. There was nowhere to put unpacked clothing. Cheap motels put out a better breakfast; everything was prepackaged. Worst Chicago lodging experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chicago hotels

Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Old Chicago Inn is a very well located B&B. The decor is nice and the service is very good. While the rooms facing the street are spacious if staying in warm weather stay in an interior room as there can be alot of street noise from late bar and restaurant customers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crivitz, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Old Chicago Inn. It's literally just behind Wrigley Field with lots of restaurants to walk to and is very fairly priced. We had a room that was rather small -- fireplace was great, queen bed set kind of in a cutout alcove - but very comfortable. Right on the street but it was quiet as we left the windows closed. The breakfast was great and the service awesome! This is a great place to make your headquarters as you explore Chicago, we'll definitely be back!

Glenn+Paula

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

My wife and I enjoyed one helluva good time in "Wrigleyville" made possible in a significant way by our delightful stay at the Old Chicago Inn. We found the property to be exactly as described and will definitely be returning. Our weekend getaway was specifically designed around a Cubs-Reds game at Wrigley Field and the Inn's location planted us smack-dab where we needed to be... not only within an easy stroll to the ballpark, but within walking distance of dozens of great bars and restaurants. Throw in a nearby Walgreen's for incidentals (not to mention ideal Spring weather), and we had just what the proverbial doctor ordered.

From the moment we arrived, Dave, the innkeeper, made us feel right at home. We booked room 3A and absolutely loved it... we were very comfortable and the bed provided two very restful and satisfying night's sleep. Breakfast at this place is no big deal... but, certainly good enough to get your day started. If you're looking for something a bit more substantial, take the short walk over to Clarke's... a hip diner that served up a couple tremendous omelettes for my wife and me. Parking in the area is at a premium but, who cares? We used the residential parking pass, found ourselves a space on one of the safe neighborhood streets, and said good-bye to our car until we re-loaded our stuff for the drive home.

All in all, the Old Chicago Inn provided us a nostalgic glimpse of the past... so, if you're looking for glitz and glitter, keep looking. But, especially if your focus is Wrigley Field... do yourself a favor and give this place a try!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyandShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#44 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#112 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#61 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#80 of 185 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,522 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Chicago Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Chicago Inn

Property: Old Chicago Inn
Address: 3222 N Sheffield Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-2211
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Lakeview
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,922 - ₹ 11,300
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Chicago Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Chicago Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Chicago Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing