We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Private Club”
Review of Union League Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Union League Club
Ranked #126 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is a private club which requires sponrship by a member or a member of a reciprocal club. Prior negative reviews were before to a total room renovation finished in about 2007. I have stayed here many times. The staff is friendly, efficient, and unobtrusive, in a sort of small European hotle or old fashioned private club way. The rooms and the bedding especially are great. You willl have the luck of the draw on bathrooms, as they come in many different sizes. But the showers are all large, with good pressure and good amenities. The rack rates are below $200, especially on the weekends, which can be a real bargain depending on what else is going on in Chicago. The rooms are larges, equppied with king sized beds, and some come in junior suite or suite fashion. A very comfortable place with large and very interesting public places, a world class art collection, and great food, in either a casual or fine dining setting. Dress Code is important to the members, so that is part of the deal. Also, the athletic facilites were completely redone in about 2008.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jock b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Union League Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed at the Union League Club hotel as a guest of our daughter's boyfriend and found it to be a great choice in disturb Chicago. It is located in the business/banking district, but is walking distance to the Chicago Art Institute and Millenium Park, and a longer walk to the shopping district. The rooms are business hotel small, the beds and linens are excellent, bathrooms are marble and updated, and the hotel diningroom and food are wonderful. A great and inexpensive choice in Downtown Chicago at approx $140 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ndlptmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The service we received was average. The room itself was quite large but the bathroom was very small and had very little counter space. We did not care for the downtown location, the expensive parking, the required dress code and that breakfast was not included in the price of the hotel. We did like the comfortable beds and the available of wireless internet in the room. Next time we visit Chicago, we will try another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekscy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The Union League Club is the epitome of old world “Elegance”. Dark wood paneling and thick leather chairs. Artwork hung in every corner. Yes it is a little pretentious. This private club is like a giant mansion. The wide sweeping staircases are polished oak, leading up to the dining area (one of several). The room was decorated for a large dinner party, each place perfectly set. The piano player was already playing and the bar was already serving. (3 bartenders) Servers were bring h'ordeuvres around and they were GOOD. I liked the fried chicken fingers, but my wife loved the fruit pastry.
Excellent bar and food service.

Dinner - wedding rehersal

Get yourself an invitation if you can.

WOW!

This was the best quality dinner I have ever had. The chef had the dinner prepared perfectly. Salad with a homemade dressing was served first. Dinner was Beef or Salmon, I got beef and my wife got the salmon. WOW! again. Maybe the best steak I ever ate, and my wife’s salmon was moist and tender, She loved the sauce.The Manager orchestrated the staff like a finely tuned instrument. For this meal, 70 people, The Union League Club gets an A+.

The only complaint I heard from my crew was that the bartender “carded” my daughter (21). Imagine. Since she did not have her ID, she had to ask mom to verify her age...the indignity...(I was glad, nice job again Union, very professional) On the way out I got my parking ticket validated ($25),

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fishinfreddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I just returned from a weeklong business stay. Great place for a business trip. Clients loved the monumental size and feel of the place. Not suffy or dusty like some city clubs. Art collection is museum quality -- they even have a Monet! Athletic facility looks newly-rennovated.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chadchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
The Buckingham Club
The Buckingham Club
#131 of 191 in Chicago
188 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Central Loop Hotel
Central Loop Hotel
#88 of 191 in Chicago
576 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Club Quarters Hotel, Central Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Centric The Loop Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#34 of 191 in Chicago
1,971 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hampton Majestic Chicago Theatre District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union League Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union League Club

Address: 65 West Jackson Blvd., Chicago, IL 60604
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Chicago
Number of rooms: 182
Also Known As:
Union League Club Hotel Chicago
Union League Hotel
Union League Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing