We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, location, experience, service quality all amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Chicago B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Evansville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Value, location, experience, service quality all amazing!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

No question the best place my husband and could have chosen.

After racking my brain to come up with something to put on the comment card to "improve the b&b" the best I can say is toilet paper. The toilet paper isn't charmin.

Everything feels so quality, retro, artsy, having plain t.p. Is all I can say that isn't amazing.

I wish Rays bucktown was a 'chain' and I could book in every city.

Parking free ($30-60 value)
Breakfast free -$15 or more per person for us easily ($30 value)

Per day savings $90 easily!

Everything you see on Rays website is 100% accurate.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malija81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    32
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
66
103
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Really enjoyed the place and loved the food and ambiance. Room was small - the bed was huge - about 1/2 the size of the room and the AC was loud and not that great but I was there during the July 2011 heat wave so it was hard to keep much cool. The place is so sweet and groovy with great art pieces and pottery and photographs that give it a lovely ambiance. The staff is very efficient and warm. The breakfasts were divine. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is such a usual place to find in the states. It is like a sofisticated hostal for adults. Housed in the owner's previous photography studio, it feels like being in a loft in Europe but with American hospitality. It is one of the most pleasantly designed places I have ever stayed. Our room was wonderful without being fancy, every detail considered for well being.
Ray is obviously a seasoned traveler and has set his own B & B up to well accommodate the curious and artistic globe trotter. The breakfast is unmatched by even the hippest of diners and cafes. One could stay at this place for days without ever wandering out into the greater Chicago, such is the abundance of detail and intrigue, not to leave out friendliness of Ray and his staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo,ny
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Exceptional service, accomadations, breakfast and neighborhood. And a great value.
Highly Recomended!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bunny134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My sister and I stayed at Ray's because it is close to my daughter's new apartment. We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was amazing! The free bottled water was a nice perk and much appreciated on warm days. We walked everywhere and the Bucktown neighborhood felt very safe. Ray's is close to many restaurants and to public transportation; the subway was an easy walk and there are bus stops nearby as well.
I will stay at Ray's whenever I visit Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitzo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#62 of 190 in Chicago
240 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,824 reviews
West Town
Urban Holiday Lofts
Urban Holiday Lofts
#4 of 58 in Chicago
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park
Villa D'Citta
Villa D'Citta
#2 of 22 in Chicago
358 reviews
Northwest Side
Holiday Jones
Holiday Jones
#2 of 58 in Chicago
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2144 N Leavitt St, Chicago, IL 60647-3274
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Northwest Side , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Chicago
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,252 - ₹ 15,484
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B in Chicago's Bucktown neighborhood, Ray's welcomes groups and individuals in town for work or play. Modeled after small European hotels and spas, the B&B has eleven bedrooms with private baths, high speed internet (WIFI and in each room as well as community areas including a steam room, sauna, HDTV and a kitchen, and free unrestricted street parking. Breakfast is cooked-to-order when you want it. This is not your parents' bed & breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ray's Bucktown Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ray`s Bucktown Hotel Chicago
Ray`s Bucktown b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing