We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bongo Breakfast Safari” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bongo Room

Bongo Room
Ranked #351 of 9,340 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Wicker Park / Bucktown
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bongo Breakfast Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Bongo Room attracts flocks of hungry diners... and for good reason. The food is great! Our band of four tried a variety of menu items ranging from the BLT Benedict to Pancakes with Bananas and Bacon. Everything was right on target. Saturday morning breakfast service was crowded and we had to wait for a half hour or so, but when we got in the waiters were quick with the coffee and our food arrived promptly. Smiles all around. Are the seats in the booths covered with ostrich leather? ...Exotic!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evergreenrancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    75
    29
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Truly the most delicious, creative breakfast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I never thought I would be saying this at my age, but today I ate the best breakfast I have ever had, and I've eaten lots of delicious breakfasts. This food is beyond creative, using the freshest ingredients, fabulous teas, coffees, mimosas also. Terrific service. Can't wait to go back! Also, a great value!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilydickinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stopped in to the Bongo Room for brunch with friends. There was an hour and half wait, but my friends (locals) knew that would be the case [apparently this joint is always hoppin'), so we'd planned ahead and had a snack at home. We spent the wait wandering around the neighborhood shopping, which was tons of fun. Then we got to have the most delicious meal I had while in Chicago. I had a tasty omelet, and we split (as dessert) the most amazing pancakes with caramel and cream sauce on them. I'm pretty sure there were also pretzels crumbled up in the pancakes. It was like heaven!

Even with the wait, I'd recommend this place to anyone. Just plan ahead and know you'll have some time to kill.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fresh and flavorful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Huge omelets that are fresh and flavorful. i had one with chorizo, avocado, potato, and cheese...very tasty and twice as much as i could finish. Freh squeezed blood orange juice was in season. Good value for what you get.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast Find in YEARS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

After using my TripAdvisor app for a great Breakfast,...we had to try The Bongo Room and man oh man were we HAPPY that we did!

There were five of us dining and we had eggs with a side of one pancake. The kids had full orders of what can only be described as DESSERT pancakes,...my daughter had teh white chocolate, caramel pretzel pancakes and my son had the Red Velvet pancakes. He actually said the icing was too sweet to eat them all (this is my sugar addict talking here, color me surprised!) Our friend had the avocado, bacon tomato omelet and she is convinced there was an entire avocado in there, it was delicious. A side of bacon was a bit pricey; but it turned out you could easily share it with three people. This restaurant was kitschy, cool and perfect in every way! Go for the food, enjoy the experience!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaraKCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bongo Room also viewed

 

Been to Bongo Room? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing