We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian food in Old Town”

Topo Gigio Ristorante
Ranked #67 of 10,828 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Near North Side
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We had a group of seven before going to Second City on a Saturday night. The restaurant was packed with an energetic and friendly atmosphere. All of the pasta dishes were delicious, fresh and huge portions. Very old style homemade Italian food. The fusilli alla topo giglio and the garganelli with porcini mushrooms and sausage were hits. We were sorry we had to leave before dessert for the show. Friendly service too.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017

We had dinner here on a Friday night based on the 20 year old raving recommendation of my parents and it did not disappoint! Wonderful service, delicious wine, and food that we talked about the next day. We had made a reservation inside but the outside patio seemed like a great atmosphere & the bar was busy. Highly recommend!!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant last evening. It’s an old favorite of ours. The service was excellent, with each phase of the meal being well timed (no long gaps). The mozzarella and tomato appetizer was great. We had a vareiety of pasta dishes that were all delicious.

The restaurant has valet parking for $12.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank johnsjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Delicious classic Italian food. My friend who used to live in Chicago took us here because she used to love the place so much and I can see why. The vibe is fun (albeit very crowded) and lively and you get the sense that the food is made by an Italian grandparent. It was very warm and cozy on a cold Chicago night and smelled delightfully of garlic and fresh bread. We had a table of 6 ladies (two pre-teen girls) and the service was outstanding. Food was delicious - definitely comfort food. Everything was very fresh and nicely prepared. We had reservations and had to wait 20 minutes past our reservation time, but it was worth it. Glad I was able to experience it!!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AandCNatoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

My family has been coming to Topo since before I was born. It is a great family spot - amazing atmosphere and great food. You honestly can't go wrong with anything on the menu and the service is always top notch. If you are in the Old Town area and looking for great Italian food and a vibrant atmosphere, this is the place for you. I would high suggest calling and making a reservation. Walk ins are always welcome, but you will more than likely have a bit of a wait on your hands. These are some of my favorites: Grilled Calamari, Tortellini alla Panna, Conchiglie alla Sarda, Spaghetti Risotto and any of the specials!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Topo Gigio Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Topo Gigio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing