We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter dinner”
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #143 of 10,825 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 18 - US$ 40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Lincoln Park
Cross street: Fullerton
Transit: CTA 22 bus or 36 bus to Belden/Clark CTA 151 bus Inner Drive
Description: Mon Ami Gabi is a classic French bistro that embraces a passion for food, wine and culture. Whether you come for the Onion Soup Au Gratin, Steak Frites or decadent Profiteroles, Mon Ami Gabi offers something to satisfy all tastes. For those looking to indulge in a unique dish, the Escargots de Bourgogne with garlic-herb butter is literally a sizzling experience. To complement the menu, an extensive selection of more than 80 boutique French wine varietals, handpicked by renowned chef and owner Gabino Sotelino, are served by the glass or bottle from our signature rolling wine cart. While the favorites are here in abundance, there’s always something new when you’re ready to fall in love all over again.
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Wow! We have been coming to Mon Ami for 10 years, but our last couple of dinners were a bit disappointing. We actually took the time and spoke with the manager, I believe last year. This week we tried again since we had guests and wanted to go see the zoo lights! What a wonderful meal. Oysters and mussels were excellent! Mussels were so tasty! We also had of course steak and Frits and Dover Sole! Excellent! Round table which is much easier to talk, service was great, the restaurant was busy since it was a Friday night !!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank MoandMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018

I was surprised that this old favorite not recently visited was packed at 6:00 PM on New Year's Eve. But given great corner table in back room and a cheerful, attentive waitress. While the menu isn't overly long, it does offer a range of Bistro dishes. I had the Filet Mignon, Au Poivre (there were four other ways to go with this steak) and my wife took one of her favorites. Both great! So was the Profiteroles which hit a triple +(great crust, great ice cream and super chocolate) for me. Wife loved the special Xmas log. Fast valet taxi service home on a -5 night.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Visited Chicago for holiday light tours and shopping, had dinner at this establishment. Onion soup was likely best ever tasted, steaks served with Bernaise and Roquefort sauces were amazing, very tender and flavorful and cooked to perfection as ordered. Also served with excellent French fries. The I'm We will definitely return to this establishment on next trip to Chicago.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Made an 11:30 reservation for Sunday brunch. Location easy to find on Lincoln Park Drive, the restaurant is within the historic Belden-Stratford Hotel building. Valet parking is available for $14. We enjoyed the special Eggs scramble with crabmeat & spinach, the bacon quiche & Croque Madame. Also enjoyed mimosas, fresh juice & coffee. Excellent service & flavorful food. Total bill $91. Will return here to dine in the future.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank gasjoliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

The French onion soup was sweeter than I am used to. They probably did it correctly and carmelized the onions appropriately. A great local gin (CH), excellent wine with a list that, for the most part, stays well under $100. The mussels were superb. Even the appetizer order was perfect for out party of 3. The skate was amazing!!!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichaelK605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing